We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel in Palm Springs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Del Marcos Hotel
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“My favorite hotel in Palm Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you are a fan of mid-century modern architecture, and looking for a serene place to stay while you are in Palm Springs, look no further than the Del Marcos Hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The heated saltwater pool is a great place to kick back and enjoy a frosty beverage along with the beautiful scenery that surrounds the hotel. The location is ideal - one block of the main drag, so once you park your car you can walk everywhere. They also provide free bikes to use during your stay! This is the hotel I return to time and time again.

Room Tip: The Oceans 11 suite is great if you have a group of friends going. 2 queen beds, plus a futon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    125
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
62
492
48
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Very convenient to the main drag action and yet quiet enough to get a good sleep. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lots of freebies (parking, wifi, breakfast, bikes) unlike big chains.Lots of places to sit around the pool or in the lobby if too hot to be outside (it was). And the decor was way cool!
We had a very small room (by choice) so spent all our time out and about. If we were staying longer would consider the larger suites but really there were enough places within the facility to use that we didn't mind the small room. A second suitcase rack would have been handy, I didn't want to put ours on the lovely furniture or white bed linens.

Room Tip: It is very bright in the morning so close all the shades when you retire. The upper floor is nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank encyclopediabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at the Del Marcos for 4 nights to attend a conference at the Convention Center. The atmosphere is so relaxing, accomodations very clean and comfortable, and the staff very accomodating and available.

This hotel is only a block away from the busy streets filled with shopping, food and drink. The grounds are spotless and the continental breakfast was enjoyable around the pool.

Definitely will be a place I will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgiants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed with my son 5 nights in the Ocean Eleven room. Our stay was very comfortable, and the room was excellent, as it is actually two rooms, one a smaller, very cozy one, and one a bigger one with ample space for hanging out, amidst the theme of the "rat pack", which is a nice touch. The room also has a kitchen. There is a nice view of a mountain side on the balcony. Hotel staff was friendly and efficient, and the continental breakfast was very good. The hotel was built in 1947, and the architecture is lovely (as is that of many buildings in Palm Springs!). I would not hesitate to come back to this hotel on my next visit to Palm Springs.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mathdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last month for two nights. The staff is awesome! Fruit and continental breakfast and citrus water on site is also awesome! We did get to take advantage of the lovely pool and firepit. Only one thing could be different for the better, a hot tub :)

Room Tip: We asked for non feather/down pillows and got them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are planning an adults-only trip to Palm Springs, you MUST stay at the Del Marcos. Here’s why…

My flight (March 6th) from Denver (2 hours) brought me into Palm Springs at 9:00 a.m. After taking a taxi ($16 including tip) to the Del Marcos, I was greeted by a darling young gal (sorry, forgot her name) who said she would stow my suitcase and would I like to hang out at the pool until my room was ready? Yes! The pool (saltwater) is clean, perfect temperature, comfy chairs and towels, and there are pool “cruisers” to float on (heavenly). You can opt to lay in full sun or in the shade. The color scheme is orange & green – very retro. Music from the 40’s fills the pool area. The grounds (flowers, palm trees, cactus) are well-maintained; and because this is an adults-only hotel, the pool and common areas are quiet. They offer complimentary bicycles to cruise around the bike path through the town – very fun! Oh, and the view from the pool area of the San Jacinto Mountains is unbelievable!

My sister and I stayed in the E. Stewart Williams poolside room (there are 17 rooms total). We had a king (very comfortable bed, pillows, bedding), armoire, TV, refrigerator, table and chairs, and a huge bathroom with beautiful tile. The bathroom amenities (shampoo, conditioner, shower gel) were top-notch and we always had hot water for our showers. The room was quiet, and because there are no bugs, we left our door open so we could enjoy the music and the beautiful southern-Californian air.

Breakfast was set out around 7:30 a.m., available until 10:30 or 11:00 a.m., and included bagels, breads, pastries, yogurt, cereal, granola, juice, and coffee. There was a bowl of fresh fruit in the common sitting area that was available all day long.

Upon check-in, you will receive a welcome drink (we had white wine) in an acrylic glass that you can enjoy by the pool, or take with you to the fire pit surrounded by couches and chairs and TVs. One night, we watched a TV show about music from the early 60’s with a group of fellow travelers; we drank wine, sang, and had a great time in the early evening (weather was perfect).

The hotel is a short walk to the downtown area which is filled on both sides of the street with restaurants and shopping for many blocks. There is free parking on site at the hotel if you choose to rent a car.

A stay at the Del Marcos will make you want to extend your vacation (which I overheard several fellow travelers doing!). I was sad to leave, but happy to know that I won’t have to search for hotels in Palm Springs for my next vacation to the desert – I will always stay at the Del Marcos.

Final note: Laura, the general manager, runs the hotel thoughtfully and efficiently. She and her staff are there to meet your needs (and they are spot-on at every request); they make you feel comfortable and relaxed. This is the place!

Check out their Web site and be sure your speakers are turned on! www.delmarcoshotel.com

Room Tip: There are ground-level rooms (poolside) and second-story rooms. We stayed poolside which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanSRLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hughes, Ca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and i spent 3 nights at Del Marcos and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed in the Chi Chi room downstairs - which was wonderful, clean and comfortable. We had a small refrigerator, microwave and a large patio to relax on. We spent most of our time at the beautiful, quiet, saltwater pool and enjoyed the softly playing rat pack era music. It is also within walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping and even hiking. The staff was friendly and helpful and we wanted for nothing. We booked a different room for our upcoming anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerbuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#10 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#6 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Property: Del Marcos Hotel
Address: 225 W Baristo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Marcos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing