We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint property”
Review of Del Marcos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Del Marcos Hotel
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This property has roots back to 1947 and it tries to stay true to those roots. It is VERY close to downtown and walking distance to great places to eat and gather. My suite was spacious, clean, and bare essentials equipped. The TV is new and cable worked well. The wifi was fast and easy which is very appreciated. The floors are painted concrete - first ever for me in a hotel I am paying a lot of money for. Service is friendly but pretty slow. I tried to call three times the day before my stay to confirm and got an answering machine every time - no one returned any of my calls. The day I checked in there was no one at the desk to great me - had to wait for her to walk up and finish her phone call before I got checked in. A good experience for sure, but if you have to pay over $200 per night, consider other options.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RenoBret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura R, General Manager at Del Marcos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Hi Bret,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and the nice comments you made. I'm sorry you felt service was a little slow that day. Being a small hotel, we often have only one innkeeper on duty and they can get unexpectedly incredibly busy sometimes. The innkeeper on duty that day acknowledged they kept missing your calls and that you did have to wait while they finished a call with someone booking a reservation.
We take great pride in our customer service and make every effort to meet and or exceed our guests expectations, unfortunately, we are not perfect and occassionally can have a day that is less than ideal when it comes to serving our guests.
I do apologize that you experienced one of those days with us.

I'm sorry you didn't like the concrete floors, they are actually quite common in midcentury properties. Last Summer, we upgraded to beautiful Flor Carpet Tiles and Terrazzo flooring in most of the rooms.
Thank you again & we do hope you'll choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 911 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

A small hotel with a great mid-century feel throughout. Check-in was a breeze - a nice welcome drink included. We had a large upstairs room with private sun deck - loved it! The location was convenient to downtown for shopping and eating - we walked and borrowed the fun cruiser bikes. The pool was nice and warm, plenty of lounge chairs. They have outdoor televisions by the firepit and we watched a movie one evening.

Room Tip: Although we loved the large private sundeck - rooms backing to Belardo Road have a bit more traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdxnelsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Del Marcos was a fabulous place to stay. Low key, immaculately clean and full of character. The location is perfect for hitting all the downtown restaurants and shopping. The views are beautiful and the staff warm and helpful. A+

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

It's a small quaint hotel located just a block off the main drag.
The decoration, paintings and decor is from 1947 when the hotel was built.
The beds were comfortable.
There is no one at the desk at night, if you need something you have to call the owner, which is a little strange.
They give you a welcome drink when you arrive.
There is a light breakfast every morning.
They use Folgers coffee which was funny to me.
I guess I am a coffee snob. I tried to make it as directed, tasted like water, and after 3 tries, came out like coffee, but still tasted bad.
Would go back as great location to walk the town.
One problem, they were working on the next room, pounding hammers, loud noises in the middle of the day on Sunday, forced us out of our room, no r and r that day.
You would think they would do it on a Monday or week day when no or few guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charesef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Del Marcos twice in two years. The quality of the hotel has been excellent both times. The staff is friendly and well trained; all amenities work well. The hotel is an excellent example of mid-century desert architecture. The hotel is not a generic look-alike, so prepare yourself for something unique, interesting and comfortable. I have come to consider this my home in Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Poolside Suite is my favorite - large, full kitchen, great light, nice private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BLW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

had a relaxing, fun stay...very clean and convenient...hotel staffers all were friendly and helpful...swimming pool and bicycles were huge pluses...hard to imagine how we could have enjoyed our weekend there any more than we did, even with the rainy weather.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for a family reunion. It was my first visit and lived up to all my family who had stayed before told me about.

The rooms are comfortable, with good beds and great heaters. The kitchen is a nice touch for heating up food and having nibbles. The staff is attentive and on site when needed.

Pool side is a delight. Floating in the pool on the rafts provided was Heaven on Earth, looking up at a bright blue sky with palm trees and the warmth of the sun was just what I needed. The music from the 40's was delightful.

At night we sat by the fire with a glass of wine and enjoyed each others company. We even watched a football game on the outdoor TV. SO Great!

The hotel is located just 1 blocks from Palm Canyon with great shopping and restaurants that serve very good food.

I will be back for sure. Thanks for such a great stay.

ALice Burston

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great. They all surround the pool. The fold out beds are very comfortable as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alburston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.2 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Marcos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Marcos Hotel

Address: 225 W Baristo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6384
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $196 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Del Marcos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed buildings in Palm Springs, designed in 1947 by iconic architect William F. Cody, the backdrop of this classic Mid-Century 17 room hotel, is the stunning San Jacinto Mountains. Enjoy the scenic biking or hiking trails or simply relax around the serene saltwater pool listening to the sounds of the Forties. From our comfortable well appointed Standard rooms to our large Deluxe Suites, the hotel offers guest rooms furnished with a Mid-Century Flair. Private patios, balconies, kitchenettes and full kitchens are available. Located only 1 block from downtown. "Once you arrive there's no need to drive." Complimentary Palm Springs Art Museum Passes and Discounted Tram Tickets are available.Complimentary Cruiser Bike use, Continental Breakfast, WiFi and Parking with no Resort Fees! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Del Marcos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Marcos
Del Marcos Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing