We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly the best tour we have ever been on!”

The Best Of The Best Tours
Ranked #7 of 23 Tours in Palm Springs
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly the best tour we have ever been on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our Windmill Tour guide was exceptional! He knew many detailed facts, conveyed them in a manner that was interesting & fun, was appropriate for all ages, shared information in an unbiased manner (could have been political or just a promotion of a company - but wasn't), I could go on and on. We have been on many tours, and agreed this tour was absolutely the best tour we have ever taken. Our teens even liked it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cmwernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    22
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting wind farms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ken Huskey was our guide....and oh what a fun guide to have!!! We had a full bus/van of curious people, ranging from age 7 - 75. I had my physics-graduate son along....and he enjoyed learning about these desert giants!! Ken tried to keep the little ones happy with involving them, so that was good, as these days, sometimes the little ones are NOT good listeners!!

Ken was informative with pros and cons, old vs. new wind turbines, the costs, the challenges, ...everything you could possibly want to know about them. And everyone DOES wonder as they go by them on the highway! So do yourself a favor and book this tour for a bit over $30 each.....a deal!!! About 2 hours long...mostly just riding, only getting out once to feel the wind in the wind tunnel and see how HUGE they are up close!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stamfordnortheastgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Must --- Windmill Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ken was our host on a Sunday afternoon Windmill Tour and he was GREAT! He used a model to explain the technology and had samples available for show-n-tell. It is a fascinating technology and one that each person should understand. It was almost information overload! There is a complete explanation as to size, shape, why some are not turning, where the electric goes, why there isn't more, the bureaucracy and the expense involved.
Be prepared for the wind ... as you exit the bus, it can be overwhelming -- sand will beat on you a bit.
Meet bus at PSP Visitor Center (near Tram) -- use restroom facilities, none available on tour! And tour is about 1.5 hrs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymmi-On_The_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very fun tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our tour guide Jack was full of information and fun facts and rumors about old Hollywood. It was great to hear all of those stories and see the homes as he told us how Palm Springs was "built by Hollywood, for Hollywood."

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyO843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Windmill Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We recently took the Best of the Best Windmill Tour in Palm Springs, and had a marvelous time. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable, having worked on the wind turbines himself, and explained everything about the wind turbines. They dot the landscape outside of Palm Springs in a natural wind tunnel, and you can't help but wonder about them every time you pass by. Now, we know kinds of interesting facts about them. I highly recommend this tour to anyone who is curious or just likes to know about interesting things.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank SparkyW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Best Of The Best Tours also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to The Best Of The Best Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing