We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Kept Secret in Palm Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon after returning from an excursion in the Sierras. Very accomodating of our late arrival. Super clean, extra comfortable lodging in a retro old Hollywood era hotel. The hot tub was a dream! Many thanks and much appreciation for a great stay! The staff also arranged early morning transportation for us to airport. AAA+ and take advantage of rate specials. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Husbandandwife79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    93
    36
    27
    11
See reviews for
11
211
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

After a four day stay I had re-learned the words of many Sinatra era songs. I enjoyed the constant background music but it could be an irritation to others.
The hotel is conveniently situated and within easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants and the Thursday night market. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a good sized swimming pool and jakuzi. The wine flows during the happy hour and this is a great way to meet fellow guests and learn in more detail about the tourist attractions.The breakfasts are also taken around the bar area and there is constant hot water and tea/coffee throughout the day. Overall we found it excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Movie Colony Hotel. Our two-room suite was spacious and quiet. Room number 12 even has 2 bathrooms and a kitchen which makes it convenient for two people. The happy hour was a pleasant surprise and the evening fire pit became a conversation hub for guests to get acquainted. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown shopping, the museum and a variety of restaurants. The continental breakfast is limited (especially if you have dietary issues such as lactose intolerance) but the morning conversation around the breakfast bar was enjoyable.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms require walking up stairs and some are right off of the pool, so keep that in mind when r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I wanted to believe it would be a quaint, retro spot. I expected that it would have drawbacks but that I would overlook them because of the mid century "charm" - but I couldn't.

The carpet was stained and disgusting. The furniture was stained and broken in some places. The shutters were partially broken, there was no stopper in the sink, there were extra holes still in the wall where they had moved towel bars. The soap holder in the shower was worn through to the base plastic, the shower drain was chipped and nasty looking. I couldnt get the water hot in the morning and the temp changed randomly, like another room had run their water and I'd lose my hot water.

The door wouldn't close right and twice when I returned to the room the door was ajar when I thought I had locked it, oh yeah they still use regular keys in the locks, not magnetic cards. so gawd knows who still has a key to your room.

Most other negative items other reviewers mentioned, I experienced those too, I just don't want to spend and hour recalling all the bad things.

Nice enough staff, but a run down nasty place that I would never stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdamAndMelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just enjoyed a three night stay here, in a poolside room. The staff was super friendly and helpful! The continental breakfast and nightly happy hour were really nice to have. Only 16 rooms, a pool and jacuzzi open 24hrs and no lil tykes allowed. Nice.
We were able to walk or bike everywhere.
The building is retro and is a little piece of history, so if you are looking for a cookie cutter chain hotel, stay away and leave it to us that appriciate historical Palm Springs.
Thanks, we would love to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sookisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Laying out by the pool, tunes by Sinatra, Martin and Buble filled the warm air. Great atmosphere for those who just want to relax and rest in beautiful Palm Springs. I stayed in a classic room which had a King size bed, a simple bathroom with fantastic water pressure, couple of couch like chairs, and a flat screen tv. From 8:30AM to 10:30AM the hotel provides a continental breakfast which consisted of bagels, cream cheese, jams and honey, granola cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, teas, oj and ice water. In the evening, oh my goodness, it's happy hour time with wine and in house made cocktails. Superb! There are bicycles for use by hotel guests which was a great means of transportation for those who just wanted to cruise the nearby downtown area. The only couple of downsides that I noticed was that the location, although quite close to downtown and nearby restaurants, only has one restaurant nearby (El Mirasol). The other restaurant I frequented which was only 3 blocks away was Trio. Both restaurants were fantastic. The last downside was the temperature of the pool. It was cold!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenFromPtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This feels like a converted motel that is now quite long in the tooth. The overall decor which was once nicer is now shabby. On the positive side the rooms are large and decks spacious. The rugs are filthy. We enjoyed Palm Springs but were disappointed in the Movie Colony.

Room Tip: High floor has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.0 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#30 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#37 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Property: Movie Colony Hotel
Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#23 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing