We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“palm springs getaway...”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We usually stay at a different hotel when we're in palm springs - but we got an amazing deal on our room so we decided to give it a try. The rooms are quite nice & poolside is quite nice. If you look closely some things are a bit shabby - but overall it is definitely charming. Main criticism is the very loud air conditioning - although the bed & linens are nice- couldn't sleep through the freight-train loud AC. The location is great and the staff is friendly. If you can get a good deal on a room it is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmh123ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 347 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I wish I could give it a 4 for rooms and a 2 for the outside pool area... but it averages out to a 3 overall. The rooms were comfy, nice beds, linens, decor, TV. The bar area in the room was nice, with a fridge to keep drinks cool. The bathroom was ok but the shower was impossible to control, very hot or very cold had to keep switching it up throughout the whole shower. But not that big of a deal...
As for the pool area, the pool was so murky that you couldn't see the bottom and one side is only 3 feet so that's pretty bad. I love a super clean pool so maybe I'm being picky? A pool guy came and poured gallons of chlorine in it while we were there. Other people kept on swimming in it while the chemicals were added. It didn't help, even that night or the next day since it was still the same level of murky. It was so hot you had to get in the pool though so my suit and my husbands will never be the same, they turned yellow from the chlorine in every spot that had been white.

Staff was really, really nice! Everyone we came in contact with was very professional and personable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Came in, easy parking, got a full tour at check-in which was very nice. Went down to the really cool pool area, brought our own wine and loved it. Retro style with palms all I could ask for. The room was clean and for a boutique hotel obviously rebuilt I give it a good pass grade for layout.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Parisforwork
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just got back from a last minute getaway and had the best time.
The goal was to relax and get sun. DONE AND DONE
The rooms are simple (we had a patio room) but comfortable.
The small refrigerator was a plus.
Carla from the hotel takes great pride in making sure that you are well taken care of.
She was quick to handle any request and had great dinner suggestions. She was a real star.
The pool could use a skimming but overall it was a perfect get away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I can't say enough about my Girlfriend's Getaway where I was lucky enough to book two roons at the Movie Colony Hotel this past March. It was the best time ever and we are all talking about going back just to stay at the Movie Colony Hotel and not even leave the grounds! It was so relaxing and we loved the complimentary breakfast and happy hour with the other guests that we felt like we knew everyone and looked forward to catching up with what others had done during the day. The staff felt like family and went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. The resort is peaceful and we enjoyed the pool and spa. Just the perfect amount of sun and shade throughout the day. Next time we swear we are going to use the complimentary bikes and explore that way instead of the easy walk into town and to some great restaurants. High recommend this place!!!

Room Tip: I don't think their is a bad room in the place, we had one by the pool that was super nice and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattiAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've been trying to book The Movie Colony Hotel the last few times I've visited Palm Springs and each time, it's been full. This past Memorial Day Weekend, we succeeded and stopped by for 2 nights with another couple. The service here is truly spectacular. We got a mini guided tour of the property when we checked in by one of the most genuinely friendly/helpful hotel employees I've ever encountered. I can't recall her name but she was there all weekend, checking to make sure we had enough towels, giving directions to restaurants and even bringing cocktails by the pool during their free Happy Hour - ummm, awesome! They have a fully stocked bar area with coffee cups, plates, blender, microwave, etc. and lemon and cucumber water pitchers out all day. There are also six beach cruisers available for use.

The rooms themselves were nice and stylish but some of the communal features were a little run down: the umbrellas, some of the pool loungers, etc. The pool also needed to be cleaned up a bit. The only true negative (and this was no fault of the hotel) was that there was a large, rowdy wedding party staying there that was really obnoxious and noisy.

All and all, I would definitely recommend this hotel again! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinOMalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
127 reviews
1 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
922 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Royale Inn
Villa Royale Inn
#48 of 75 in Palm Springs
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ingleside Inn
Ingleside Inn
#34 of 75 in Palm Springs
279 reviews
2.2 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#43 of 75 in Palm Springs
224 reviews
0.8 mi away
ARRIVE
ARRIVE
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $570 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing