We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic Boutique Hotel”
Review of Movie Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movie Colony Hotel
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed November 21, 2007

Fantastic little boutique hotel very close to downtown Palm Springs.
Hotel is very usual in it's design and the little extras really did make the stay fabulous.
Good size pool and hot tub, table tennis table and free bikes to explore PS with.
The free cocktails/wine happy hour is a great idea especially as the place is so small - you get to meet and mingle with other guests - is totally optional though if you don't want to mix. Go for the 'Dean Martini's' - they were fab!
Breakfast is help-your-self with coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, croissants, muffins, bagels and fresh fruit.
Rooms were great - there is a free DVD collection in the foyer and the beds were comfortable.
Would totally stay here again if we go back to PS.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank raelarder1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 347 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2007

We stayed here recently and had a good time. The location is great because it is close to all the good restaurants and bars in PS. We had a phenomenal room with a great outdoor sunning deck where you could tan any way you would like. It was extremely private. The staff were friendly and the pool and hot tub were great. It was mostly well heeled couples of all ages which was also nice. Would definitly return!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bareitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2007

I booked Movie Colony Hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor and they were spot on!

This place completely rocks. From arriving at gone 11pm with full instructions as to which room to go to, and where the keys would be once inside the room (bear in mind the place is not manned after 7pm), to the help yourself breakfast that we gratefully helped ourselves to at 6am (jet lag for you), this place has everything you could wish for.

We stayed in the Frank Sinatra townhouse and it was great, clean with a large living area downstairs, a good sized beadroom and balcony. The linens were crisp and clean and the room was cleaned well every day. The bathroon is small but did the job.

The owners and staff are incredibly friendly, without being overbearing and all the little touches are there including freezing peppermint towels whilst in / around the pool, iced tea / lemonade to cool you down and everything on tap.

For someone who doesn't like martinis - I would recommened their Dean Martinis, they were good and the happy hour ambiance is a perfect end to a day lounging around the pool.

The location of the hotel is great, within 10 minutes walk of downtown Palm Springs and although it's not party central, there are plenty of places to have good food and a few drinks.

I cannot see us staying anywhere but the Movie Colony Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buffgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We couldn't have found a Friendlier Staff or Owner, They went all out to make Our stay Fantastic. (We had 19 of us staying there.My Daughter was Married in Palm Springs) The rooms were so clean and the grounds and pool were also clean. loved the Breakfast . Fantastic stay , would diffently stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tellysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2007

The Movie Colony Hotel was a great place to stay. The staff was great. After we checked in they showed us around the property and then pretty much left us alone to have a good time. That was until the happy hour (martinis were gooood). At 7pm the staff leaves for the night, once again leaving the good times up to us. The pool is open 24 hours, which is great. There are cruisers available to ride around town or for a quick trip to the liquor store to refill your cooler. The beds in the room are one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a hotel. The Movie Colony Hotel is like staying at your friends house, but not having to help clean up.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DaWorldsCalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Fantastic, go there you will love the hotel and it's theme, quality of service and the people.
It's like staying at your best friends place, the only difference being that you have to pay before you leave, but you have had such a good time it's almost a pleasure.
I can't say more than the whole experience was excellent thoughout our 10 night stay.
Jann & Gary R

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MacUK127186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

We spent two nights at this "funky" place in April. It's basically a re-creation of a 50's style hotel, and shows its age to some extent. But it has some really nice perks. Our room was small, but nicely furnished. The bathroom was quite small for the price we were paying, with only a stall shower. The staff leaves at 7:00, and some people may not like the lack of on-site staff during the evening hours.

However, the hotel's redeeming qualities do outweigh the above concerns. It has a nice pool, and you can have all the mojitos and/or wine you like during the afternoon happy hour. The outdoor continental breakfast includes nice, fresh fruit and pastries, and you can come down in your robe. They have free bikes for cycling the streets, and the area just west of downtown is great for cycling. It's also within walking distance of Palm Canyon Drive shopping and restaurants.

Overall, it's a very relaxing place that gives you the feel of what Palm Springs was probably like in the movie star heyday of 50 years ago. Our room was $155/night and given the good location and nice atmosphere, it was an OK value. But I'm not sure I'd pay over $200, unless the room was much bigger than ours.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 mi away
ARRIVE
ARRIVE
#11 of 75 in Palm Springs
170 reviews
1 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday House
Holiday House
#14 of 75 in Palm Springs
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
900 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#12 of 75 in Palm Springs
196 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Royale Inn
Villa Royale Inn
#48 of 75 in Palm Springs
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movie Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movie Colony Hotel

Address: 726 N Indian Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5704
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#22 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $569 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movie Colony Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Movie Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movie Colony Palm Springs
Hotel Movie Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing