We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escape
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We love this property! The minute one walks through the front gate it screams vacation BLISS! The property is well maintained, with lots of attention to detail. The pool gets just the right amount of sun during the heat of the day, the chaise lounges are clean and comforting, the honor frig is perfect for those needing liquid breaks, and the host, Mark, makes one feel like you are the only guest at the resort. Our room was clean, simple, but with all the necessities. The bed is great; the kitchen area has everything one would need to maintain a multi-day vacation. My favorite is the large flat screen TV directly in front of the bed, just like home! The resort provides a nice breakfast spread, and a great happy hour "mingle with the other guests" daily. This is a great place to call home for a few days or a few weeks. Escape provides a great value based on price, location, and room quality. This is a wonderful place catering to gay men and is worth checking out. Plenty of free parking is provided. If you happen to be visiting without the benefit of a vehicle, Escape is walking distance to many eateries, and local shopping.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with the enclosed patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8puck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for posting the photos as well your gracious review. We never get tired of hearing about what an unexpected surprise the grounds are once you are inside the gates. Additionally we are so happy to see that you noticed so many of the other little things we do in order for you to enjoy yourself at a “great value.” (“Great Value” is your description, who are we to argue? LOL) We hope to see you another time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 216 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

THis is my first time in a gay resort in PS and the experience was a really nice one, I choose this hotel cause of the great reviews I read on here and everything is true except for some minor details that I will expand further.
If you are looking for a "all about sex" resort look elsewhere, this small resort is far from that althought you can do in the property whatever you what but it cathers a more laidback relax visitors. the common areas are really well kept and the swimming pool and the jacuzzi are really nice. There are only 2 rooms that aren't remodeled and I stayed in one!! had a not so well kept carpet and the bathroom looked outdated and need some repairs. Having said that the room was clean and comfortable. Mark the owner (which is a really nice guy and a wonderfull host) explained that by december they will fiinish the remodeling of these 2 rooms. I had the chance of see the other remodeled rooms and are a jewel!!!! really simple but really nice!!!
the daily breakfast was very nice too!
Overall I will stay again is a super value!

Room Tip: when booking a standard room avoid room 19 until december that is remodeled all the rest are very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We thank you for your positive review and are happy to say we’re down to the home stretch on room renovations. (Although in this business it never truly ends.) We will not be stopping when we complete the rooms though…as there are plenty of other improvements rolling out for the new year. We look forward to you staying again and being able to show you what else we have in store!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was tied to other (friend's) resorts, so I didn't stay at Escape until recently. The other resorts have been sold and going through changes, which prompted many to venture to ESCAPE. My first time was the weekend of Sept 28-Oct 1, 2012. First off, Mark was terrific when making the arrangements and then finally meeting him (and Greg) in person. I had seen pictures online and heard from other friends how much they liked the grounds, the setting and just the overall feel of the place. I immediately fell into place here. I like the experience of a smaller resort. Relaxing with a cocktail by the pool was very peaceful. The other guests there were so friendly also. I could easily come back to Escape with friends. Hey, we may even try to get enough friends to book the place for a festive weekend. Give Escape a try. You will love it as much as we did. The rooms decor was nice and the beds were very comfortable. The A/C and fan kept the room cool very easily. We actually had to raise the temperature, because it got cold fast (efficient). Oh, don't forget the continental breakfast, enough to make you stay in for breakfast. The weekend happy hour was fun also. Mark and Greg, I could go on and on, but I want to save that for my future visits. Thanks again and congratulations on taking over this place and creating this wonderful environment for your new friends (guests). See you soon.

Room Tip: Go to their website. You can check the calendar and see what room types are available for future vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silver V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your “Escape!” We really do appreciate all of your comments and promise to keep doing our best to make future stays even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

22nd Aug - 5th Sept and every day a joy. The standard room that we had bookd was simply decorated and had everything we needed. The weekends were busy with guesta and mid week not so. Neither was of concern to us really.

Something to bare in mind was that a number of guests we met had stayed in other resorts in the area either during previous visits to Palm Springs or had moved to Escape to do just that "Escape" from other more "liberal" establishments they were already staying in.

This has already been said by others, but Mark & Greg truely are very good at hosting, there when you need them.

Good continental style breakfast provided.

Pool and gardens attended to regularly. Everywhere clean and tidy.

Not the Ritz but who the hell needs the Ritz when you can have all this from $99 a night?

See you guys in March 2013, can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbybear69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you guys for your review, we appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here 3 days last week in August and I had the best time. From the room to the grounds Greg and Mark have thought out every inch of this place to make sure your stay is one you will never forget. I was told that if your single you might not enjoy it because mostly couples stay here but I had a blast. I met alot of couples from out of town and would stay no where else when I return. The rooms are huge and updated.You walk in and you feel like your at home! The pool area has been completely updated and the grounds are beautiful! Thanks again Mark and Greg!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are great as long as you don't require a kitchen and a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your nice review and thanks for pointing out that we do get a good mix of singles and couples here at the resort. We strive to create an environment in which everyone feels comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

One note on the room tip for those who have not visited previously, the Standard Rooms do have a mini-fridge, microwave and coffeemaker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We agreed with all the wonderful things other guests have already commented. We have been visiting clothing optional gay resorts a few times a year since 2004. We stayed at the few places in Warm Sands area, two places in West end of Palm Springs that no longer gay, and a few places in East end by Escape. I think we found a new home at the Escape after staying there twice in the last two months.

Here are a few suggestions and wish list from our points of view:

1. While there are ample parking and safe off-street parking that most resorts made such big deal. I don’t know why none of them provide shaded parking. I am not sure how expensive to build a simple posts and roof or plant a tree in the parking area.

2. The ground is lush and beautiful as many others pointed out. However, the last time we were there it seems to have many annoying bugs flying around which could probably be fixed with some simple bugs deterrents.

3. The central air conditionings are very effective and quiet even in the summer heat. However, we stayed in the “premium” rooms both times with central air and noticed wall mount units in the other type rooms.

4. We are very glad and feel very safe to stay at a place like this without having surveillance cameras throughout the property like some other resorts.

Keep up the good work, Mark & Greg!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to put together your “suggestions and wish list,” we have also looked into these items and here is what we have found:

Shaded Parking: As someone that lives here full time, let us tell you we would love shaded parking too. As you mentioned none of the other resorts have this either and that is because we are all bound by the same city ordinances. The required set back from the street prohibits this option, so we are all in the same boat.

Gnats: Oh those pesky gnats! Yes we do have a few weeks that the gnats seem to appear out of nowhere. We’ve tried posting signs, but they just fly in over the fence anyway. ☺ Fortunately we don’t have many bugs here in the desert and the gnats are seasonal, but we do have the property sprayed monthly and we can look into other deterrents when they come back next time.

Air Conditioners: Please note: all rooms in the resort have very powerful air conditioners! The units you noticed in the Standard Rooms are 1.5 ton ductless mini-split air conditioners. Please don’t confuse them with wall or window units that struggle to keep up in the desert heat as we have spent thousands of dollars extra for these premium air conditioning systems. Ductless split systems have two major components: a unit mounted on an inside wall that delivers cool air to the room and a unit mounted on the roof to reduce the compressor noise. Just like central air systems they have individual thermostats and keep the room at a constant, comfortable temperature instead of blasting on and off. Additionally these units are more than twice as efficient as conventional central-air systems and in some cases they are actually more powerful.

Security: We have been very fortunate as far as security goes and have had no issues. Our safe neighborhood combined with not selling day (or night) passes to the public, having new safes in every room and living on the property, help us to maintain a safe environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Not sure where to start. We have just returned from one week in Palms Springs, staying at Escape. We had a superior room ( 22 ) which was large, well equiped, modern, very very clean and with a great view of the pool. The resort staff are very friendly and attentive. The owners are unobtrusive, but always there when you need them. They create a special environment for you to have a very special experience.

We will definitely return here as we cannot think of anywhere better to stay in Palm Springs.............or indeed anywere else for gay men.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Thank you guys, that is a very nice compliment from anyone but especially from guests who travel as frequently as you! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#5 of 41 in Palm Springs
599 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
528 reviews
0 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape

Address: 641 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8107
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $99 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1950's property is one of the longest running clothing optional resorts serving the gay community in Palm Springs. Perfectly located less than a mile from downtown, it is an easy walk to numerous Gay Bars & Restaurants. Our east/west-situated pool allows you to enjoy full sun all day. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views and lush tropical grounds, you'll escape in a resort where you can relax, be yourself and submerge in our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing