We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to enjoy a visit to Palm Springs”
Review of Escape

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escape
Certificate of Excellence
West Babylon, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to enjoy a visit to Palm Springs”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have been going to this property for about 15 years. It had fallen into some disrepair under the old ownership but Mark and Greg have really revitalized the place in the two years since they assumed ownership. Escape is the kind of place that all feel welcome and comforatable , young or old. The rooms are a nice size and have been updated with modern technology. If you like plush bed linens and towels you wont be disappointed. The pool and spa are well maintained and sit in a beautiful setting of grass, palm trees and flowering shrubs. Breakfast each morning features fresh fruit, hot and cold cerials, bagels, assorted coffees, yogurts and juices. You wont go hungry! The house staff, John and Ron, are very efficient in their duties and do a teriffic job of "fluffing" the rooms each day. In my days of traveling to the Palm Springs area I have had the opportunity to stay at 5-6 other local resorts, but I have settled on Escape as my home away from home when ever I can get back west.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfiremarshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you! It is so nice to hear from a guest who has been visiting the resort long enough to know how much it has changed and how many improvements we have made. We truly believe you wouldn't recognize the place from before we took it over if you haven't been back since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    24
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
88
76
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've been a guest at Escape Palm Springs at least five times. The first time was right when Mark and Greg took over from the previous owners and began the renovations and remodelling; the most recent visit was June of 2012. I've stayed in both the Standard and the Superior (includes kitchenette) rooms, both of which are spacious and well-appointed. The linens are really linen (cotton), the towels are fluffy, the amenities are high-quality, the in-room snacks are a nice touch, the air conditioning can easily cool the rooms, there are ceiling fans for an additional breeze. In other words, the rooms are very comfortable and I've never had a single complaint.

The grounds are really well maintained and the pool is a really good size (and gets plenty of sun). The jacuzzi is also well kept, and has room for at least 8. The pool furniture is also really comfortable, which I guess is important when you lay by the pool 8 hours a day.

The best part of Escape, though, is the atmosphere. The hosts (Greg and Mark) are really nice guys and work really hard to keep the property in great shape and make sure the guests have a relaxing stay. As another reviewer stated, they are helpful and available, but not intrusive. In my experience, the guests tend toward the pro-naked end of the spectrum, but it varies; regardless, you will be comfortable whether you want to be naked or clothed. All the rooms have their own private patio areas (more secluded for the Superior rooms) so if you want to relax in your own space, that's easy to do. Escape doesn't seem to attract any particular type of clientele, there always seems to be a really good mix from the younger twenties to those in their forties/fifties.

There are many other amenities and services at Escape, including the free Wifi (seems to work fine overt the entire property), the good selection of breakfast items, and a Keurig coffee maker (nice touch, guys!).

I would absolutely recommend Escape to anyone looking for a really nice place to stay in Palm Springs. You will be comfortable, well looked after, and in good company.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajvleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for this great review. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surf city
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Escape is THE resort in Palm Springs for utter relaxation in a quiet, well kept setting. My "standard" room was large with a comfortable bed and an ample bathroom. It included a microwave and fridge, and a varied supply of complimentary snacks. The grounds are spotless, esthetically attractive with a lovely greenbelt on the side of the refreshingly inviting pool. There is feelgood hot tub with bubbles and jets to massage the body. The breakfast was most satisfying; it included terrific choices of fresh fruit, hot and cold cereal, yoghurt, juice, bagels, toast, coffee, tea.

Mark is a most accommodating host, and John is an agreeable houseman. Lastly, Escape offers excellent value for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imatractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We will keep doing our best to make everyone’s escape the best we can make it. Check back with us as we have many more improvements to roll out soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We vacation in Palm Springs every year in June for a week to recharge our batteries and to enjoy PS Restaurant Week. We typically stay at another resort but decided to change it up this year. The reviews for Escape were really good on Trip Advisor and we knew the San Lorenzo neighborhood, so we gave it a shot....and we are sure glad we did!

The resort is on the smaller side with 12-13 rooms, which really made for a laid back relaxing atmosphere and attracts people that want that type of environment. Our room was newly renovated and was open, bright, clean and on the larger side. Their technology package was great with free wifi, an itouch station with good sound and television system that actually had a HD feed with the capability to access our Netflix account. The bathroom was nicely renovated with good water pressure.

I read that some people are intimidated by the "clothing optional" thing, but the guests when we were there were comfortable to do what they wanted....some wore suits and others did not. The vibe was such that you could socialize or just stay to yourself, whatever serves your purpose.

Mark was a great host and was helpful and there when we needed. The staff was also very friendly, considerate and helpful.

We highly recommend Escape and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Escape has two size rooms, the larger has a kitchenette that was great for our week long stay, and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bdmaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you guys for your review, we are also very happy you chose to check out our resort! We are excited you liked one of our new features we are in the process of rolling out in which everyone will be able to access their personal Netflix account from their room in addition to our movies. What good are LED Flat Screen TV’s if your only choice of programing is standard definition cable, right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This was my second stay at Escape, and I had been looking forward all winter to my visit.

As expected, Mark and Greg continue to be perfect hosts. They are there to help out with anything you may need, but not overly intrusive.

I stayed at a recently upgraded room and it was outstanding. Nice kitchen with all the utensils and items you would need to settle in for a week and cook to you heart's content; and quite convenient to markets if you do want to shop.
I wasn't there to cook and eat, I was there to relax. The bed was very comfortable. Beautiful 40-inch flat screen TV with local cable channels, and a wide assortment of DVDs to enjoy on BlueRay DVD player.
The pool and spa were spotless, and water temperature just perfect (It was 100 degrees each of the four days I was there, 10-15 degrees warmer than normal for Mid-May) My room stayed very comfortable. When not in the room, I turned off the AC and just kept fan going, and it was still quite comfortable, when I returned later.

The morning breakfast was ample and plenty of healthy items to choose from. Loved the Keurig Coffee maker, very quick and convenient.

As has been mentioned here by other guests, Escape is not a cruisy type of resort. There are several of those resorts nearby. If you want to relax and just soak up the sun and flop by and in the pool without any hassle, this is your place. Plenty of comfortable lawnchairs and tables in the shade for reading or eating.

Mark and Greg host a social hour Saturday and Sunday evening, and are a wealth of information about places to go for dinner or other activities in the area.
Also it is appreciated that they get 3 newspapers each morning for guests; the local Palm Springs Desert Sun, LA Times and Wall Street Journal. The local Desert Sun is another good source of information of activities and events in the area.

I'm already lookiing forward to my next visit to Escape, hopefully in the fall, and I am sure I will enjoy it just as much. I highly recommend Esacpe for those who desire a clean quiet getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, although I like the rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank versdeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Sorry for the delayed response, but for some reason the first one doesn't appear to have posted. Thanks for your very nice review, we are glad you were able to relax and enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Just returned from a 14 day visit to Palm Springs where we split our time between 3 gay hotels. This was the low priced one (we also stayed at a mid price and expensive resort). I guess you get what you pay for. The place is very nice, as are the owners, but we were literally the only ones here. Very quiet, no character, nothing going on. Happy to have left. Small place, so even if filled, it would not have much "life"

Room Tip: If looking for solitude at a cheap price, you've found your home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turtle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
As a new resort, less than two years in business we know there are still areas to improve upon and we strive to do our best. We also realize not every location fits everyone's ideal and as such we expect that not all reviews will be glowing. This review, however, is truly baffling. We have to honestly question if this reviewer actually stayed at our resort…

Throughout the two months prior to this review the resort was sold out nearly every weekend and maintained very high occupancy during the week, including three long stay guests who have been with us for several months. It would “literally” have been impossible for this reviewer to have been the only guest staying at the resort at any given time.

Additionally, we are confused by the reviewer's comparison of Escape with two other resorts. The reviewer states that even when full our property is too small to have much "life" yet the other two resorts used as comparison are both smaller properties… this is an additional reason we doubt this reviewer has stayed with us. It should also be noted that the validity of this reviewer’s critique of another Palm Springs resort has been brought into question too.

Although we make every effort to ensure everyone’s Escape is as wonderful as possible, we reluctantly accept the fact that we may not be able to please everyone. Please be assured we take constructive criticism to heart when brought to our attention and strive to improve.

We do have to agree with the reviewer on one point. You do get what you pay for: a very nice place with nice owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My partner and I just returned yesterday. Mark, one of the owners, is extremely nice and saw to it that our needs were met.

We love the architecture of the place. The walls surrounding the room's patios offer a feeling of privacy that you don't often get at other resorts. The pool is first-rate. It is large, deep, and clean. There is also a nice expansive feeling around the pool, and the landscaping it gorgeous.

Our room was very lovely. This was our first trip to Palm Springs, so we looked at other places while we were there. And all in all, I think we'll keep coming back to Escape. I think the continental breakfast could be improved upon (gay men and pop tarts? cellophane muffins?), but it suffices.

Although we were there in mid-week, I get the impression that it is quieter and more, ahem, respectable than some other places. Don't get me wrong, we love being naked and seeing others naked. But it seems that there is a nice balance between hot and respectable here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schurchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Owner at Escape, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you guys, we are happy to know you enjoyed yourselves and will be returning! Also, thank you for the feedback on our complimentary Continental Breakfast. Unfortunately our hands are tied on this subject as California enacted new health codes in Sept. of 2009. We are now limited to serving prepackaged, pre-portioned foods unless we install a full, commercial-grade kitchen. This is why you find all of the individually packaged/wrapped muffins, bagels, cereals, fruit and yogurts. Most of the boutique resorts in the area are dealing with the same challenge. United through our associations we have been working to loosen the restrictions, but have not had much success to date. We hope you understand our predicament, but please know we are continuing to search for other ways we can improve our breakfast offering while staying in compliance of the Health Code.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.0 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 41 in Palm Springs
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.4 mi away
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
#4 of 41 in Palm Springs
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
#7 of 41 in Palm Springs
317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Century Palm Springs
Century Palm Springs
#9 of 41 in Palm Springs
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escape

Property: Escape
Address: 641 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8107
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful 1950's property is one of the longest running clothing optional resorts serving the gay community in Palm Springs. Perfectly located less than a mile from downtown, it is an easy walk to numerous Gay Bars & Restaurants. Our east/west-situated pool allows you to enjoy full sun all day. Surrounded by spectacular mountain views and lush tropical grounds, you'll escape in a resort where you can relax, be yourself and submerge in our hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Escape Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing