We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this hotel”
Reviewed January 4, 2007

I chose this hotel to stay over the new year with our wonderful American friends. This hotel has a great website, which looks wonderful. We wanted a hotel that did not allow nudity and that also allowed lesbians. It's a spa hotel, so it sounded like the perfect choice.

Unlike the other reviews on this hotel, I do not agree that Richard was polite and helpful. In fact, I believe that he should not be in the hospitality trade at all. He did not want to help us arrange taxis and meals out, although after a few huffs and puffs they did. Everything seemed to be a chore. He made us feel like we were a nuisance.

We took a trip to the Joshua Tree park. On departure we waited in the reception area of the hotel in our shorts and tee shirts and not once did Richard or any other member of staff inform us that it was going to be very cold at the park because of the higher altitude. We were all absolutely frozen by the time we got back. We did inform him of this but he was not bothered. He even said that he was pleased we had been gone all day because it meant that he could go home!! Another day out was to a town called Idyllwild. The management said that it was a dull place with plaid clothed lesbians and not much else. It turned out to be our best day out! Wonderful art galleries, beautiful scenery and views and not a butch lesbian in sight. Great food, great hospitality and fiendly people who could not do enough for us. So he was completely wrong.

We decided to have drinks by the pool, which we had to provide ourselves, of course, as nothing was available. I was informed that the hotel was not a party hotel and that the staff were hoping we were not going to sit around with a drink all day. Now, we are in no way party animals. We are refined gay men and women who want a quiet holiday, but still want to enjoy ourselves during our very expensive stay.

Breakfast was very basic - cold boiled eggs, rabbit food and a small plate of fruit. If there are only a few rooms filled then they do not even put out breakfast - you have to ask for it! On one occasion I went to the fridge for a cranberry juice as there was nothing out and I thought it was still breakfast time - I was very rudely informed never to go into the fridge and that breakfast was over. In a hotel that charges so much you would expect a little more service and a lot more politeness. There were only one complimentary drinks on one evening and only basic iced tea during the day, which was often empty. In other hotels we have stayed at their have been complimentary drinks every evening for an hour or so. This creates a friendly sociable atmosphere where people can meet and converse. We were not made to feel like he wanted us to meet any othe the other guests.

We have stayed at many gay boutique hotels and this was by far the worst in terms of catering for our needs. We were not made to feel at home as we have done in other hotels such as Alexander's in Key West. At Alexander's, we felt at home, like we belonged there. The owners became friends and we met wonderful like minded people. This was all down to attention to detail, a friendly atmosphere, courtesy, service with a smile and a genuine desire to be with the guests and want the very best for them. At East Canyon they are too busy counting the money. Any hotel that charges the full price a month before arrival (probably invested), where the owner sweeps the paths himself instead of hiring a handy man and where they are rude to you for taking a drink from the fridge does not deserve repeat customers.

The rooms, however, were very nice and clean and the pool was wonderful. I did not have any of the spa treatments, but my friends said they were very good. The cleaner works extremely hard and is probably paid very little. All in all, we felt as if we were staying in a hotel run by a very tight fisted hotelier, who counted every penny. Despite all this and only because of the company we were with, we had a wonderful holiday. If we had stayed somewhere else it would have been perfect. In summary - Not luxury, not enjoyable and certainly not recommended.

  • Liked — The rooms and the pool
  • Disliked — the owner
  • Tips/Secrets — Try anywhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank japers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardPS, Owner at East Canyon Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2007
We run a small (15 room) boutique hotel committed to providing all guests with a superior level of service and quality. All comments, both positive and negative, are extremely important to us as we continue to strive to provide the very best experience for the gay traveler.

While the reviewer is certainly entitled to his opinion, the preceding review contains many misstatements of fact and it is appropriate that they be corrected.

We made several recommendations for dining and transport for this guest and his party of eight people. In fact, we emailed suggested dining choices with descriptions and menu overviews in advance of their arrival to facilitate this. The reviewer did not ask us to make reservations – they handled that themselves. Well over an hour was spent by me helping the reviewer arrange transportation to LAX at the end of their stay, searching for more economical means than they had previously arranged.

Regarding the guests’ trip to Joshua Tree Park, my partner mentioned to one of the group the previous evening that Joshua Tree would be colder than Palm Springs, and that they should dress warmly. This advice was apparently not heeded. Also, I never stated that I was “glad they were gone all day, so that I could go home”. This is simply untrue. The reviewer completely misrepresents our description of Idyllwild as well.

The guest states that they were not party animals. The guests and their friends spent many days by the pool, drinking from 9AM to midnight. Other guests in the hotel that week made several comments regarding their behavior. The reviewer and his partner did join the other guests at one of our evening receptions, but kept to themselves and did not attempt to chat with anyone outside their group. They did not join us for two other receptions. At poolside, they stayed as a group and did not welcome any other guests.

For our breakfast service, we provide an expanded continental breakfast from 8:00 AM until 10:00 AM, as stated on our website. Breakfast includes fruits, cereal, yogurts, bread, muffins, bagels, coffee, teas and juices. In addition on some days we include a meat and cheese platter. This hardly qualifies as “rabbit food”.

When there are a smaller number of guests in-house, a personalized breakfast tray is served poolside to each guest.

Our kitchen is a working kitchen, and not available for use by guests. This guest felt that our working kitchen was an extension of his room, and that he was entitled to help himself to whatever supplies he wanted at whatever hour, without the courtesy of asking. He also felt that breakfast should be continued until noon, which was the time he helped himself to juices well after the breakfast hour. We ask guests to use the in-room refrigerators provided and the honor bar which is available 24 hours a day.

We do require a full deposit 30 days in advance over the Christmas and New Year’s holiday period. This is clearly stated on both our website and the confirmation that the guest received at time of booking. It certainly is not an unusual practice. Some resorts require payment a full year in advance over this same time period. If the reviewer had an issue with that, there was certainly ample time to cancel and rebook somewhere else.

I find the snobbery of the guest’s statement that it was inappropriate for me to be cleaning the deck “instead of hiring a handyman” offensive. It had stormed the night before and everyone on staff, myself included, pitched in as required. To us, assisting with cleaning around the property represents paying attention to detail, and reinforces the concept that everyone on staff is responsible for ensuring our property is neat and clean at all times. That the reviewer states that we are “too busy counting the money” and that our housekeeper “is paid very little” and the owner is “tightfisted” are statements for which not only is there no proof, but also not relevant to the quality of the experience. (For the record, our housekeeper enjoys a salary significantly higher than the most properties in our area – including the major chains).

This guest stayed with us for 7 days. During that period there was not one complaint from him or any member of his party as to either our service or the property. I personally ask every guest, every day, if there is anything else that they might need or if there is anything amiss – nothing was ever said.

We pride ourselves on providing superior service and accommodations for all of our guests, as all the other reviews listed here illustrate. Unfortunately, this guest could not be pleased.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
182
53
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2006

This is a nicely located, impecablly maintained small hotel and spa catering to a gay clientele that does not wish to view nude bodies at the pool. The owner and staff go out of their way to make sure your every need is met in terms of a great hotel experience. Rooms are spacious, recently renovated, nicely furnished, and all have a view of the poolside. A well maintained and stocked club room provides large screen TV entertainment, a library of both books and films, and a small microwave with a stash of popcorn for popping while watching television. Rooms are immaculate and the room staff ensures timely cleaning and replacement of towlels. And their are lots of towels provided in the modern and sparkling clean bathrooms. This is truly a relaxing and enjoyable gay experience. Clientele seem upbeat and upscale. The two of us enjoyed our stay so much that we extended by three days from our original intent. Highly recommended by Bob and Tom from San Francisco.

  • Liked — The property was great overall. The rooms are very well maintained
  • Disliked — The property could have used a little more food and beverage service. But, it was very close to other establishments
  • Tips/Secrets — It is a very good place to stay. Would highly recommend this property to anyone.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank BobTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

This was my first trip to Palm Springs, and what an introduction! I came to Palm Springs wanting a true vacation, a place where I could completely relax and feel at ease with every aspect of my trip. Richard and the staff at East Canyon delivered in spades! The resort itself is perfectly located, and the rooms are fantastic--each one has a pool view, great modern styling, lots of room, great amenities (the stereo was a great touch), and always perfectly clean. The spa services are superb, even better that they're on site. This is not a wild and crazy place--but that's what makes it so great! Every member of the staff took a personal interest in the quality of my stay, and went far above what regular hotel staff would do to make an out-of-towner feel most welcome (an example--Richard, the property owner, sat by the pool with me and some fellow guests, helping us pick out restaurants and activities during a poolside happy hour, then made our reservations for us). An excellent facility run by a super friendly staff in a relaxed and fun atmosphere...I will definitely be coming back to East Canyon for a long time to come!

  • Liked — The staff service, and wonderful, on-site spa
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Tips/Secrets — You can save a lot during the off-season.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank IworkinBSL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

East Canyon is a very nice hotel, but not quite as upscale as their website would lead you to believe. The owners have done a great job creating a friendly and relaxed atmosphere, and we were generally very comfortable during our stay. The location is convenient and the views of the hills are quite impressive. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean with wonderful linens, however the carpet was showing some wear and within our room the armoire housing the TV was positioned such that it could only be viewed from one of the two beds. These are very minor criticisms though, and did not materially impact our stay. The overall condition of the property is good with a centrally located pool/hot tub with surrounding chairs and tables. There is also a very nice common room with a big screen TV and computer access, with adjoining kitchen that serves as the breakfast area. There were however a few rough spots. Some exterior portions of the building could use some fresh paint. In addition, most of the cushions on the lounge chairs surrounding the pool were visibly stained (from suntan lotion/oil) and looked a bit shabby, and the pool side tables could benefit from more frequent cleaning. The pool itself was clean and kept at a very comfortable temperature. The daily continential breakfast was nicely presented. We also enjoyed some of the spa services, which were professionally arranged and delivered. Overall, we were very satisfied and would stay there again, but I would not catagorize it as a true upscale boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dan339g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Very friendly staff and nice room, but the pool is small and the grounds lack character. Slightly over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2005

I spent the weekend at the East Canyon Hotel in Palm Springs and came away so relaxed. It is a great hotel, nice clean rooms and a very friendly staff. The pool has a great view of the mountains through palm trees, quite nice. Finally there is an upscale gay hotel in Palm Springs.
Thank You.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidckbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 21, 2005

I usually stay at gay guest houses and resorts when I vacation, and East Canyon is definitely at the top of my list. The rooms and grounds are great – really big rooms, with the typical stuff (sheets, towels, soaps) that I expect from a mainstream luxury property – not a gay hotel. Definitely better than I had expected. The staff was fun and completely attentive (they even helped ship a piece of art I purchased when in town).

The best part is the spa – I didn’t have to leave the property for a really relaxing massage. Dan gave one of the best massages I have ever had. – my partner got a facial and seaweed wrap .

Unless you are looking for a wild, party place, this is a great place to stay in Palm Springs. The great atmosphere and lack of attitude was the perfect recipe for a fun relaxing getaway. I felt like I was in an “attitude-free” hotel.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
756 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 41 in Palm Springs
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.3 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#42 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,536 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 41 in Palm Springs
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Canyon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Canyon Hotel and Spa

Property: East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Address: 288 E Camino Monte Vis, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4711
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Canyon Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your East Canyon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Canyon Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing