We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Information!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“New Information!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

If you’ve already read my review of East Canyon you know I’m a blissful-postulate. I’ve been back two times since then and in my last visit I learned even more information that made me excited, and sort of feeling like I had “missed out.” One of the lovely things I like about the place is the clientele that come, and hang out at the cocktail mixer in the afternoon, and the breakfast in the morning. This visit I sat with one of the lovely regular guests (like myself, in town for business) who told me about the New Year’s event that Richard the owner puts on. There is a little party for the guests on NY-Eve, and a big brunch on NY-day. It sounded really nice. I also learned that Richard is known for his holiday events and booking long months in advance is necessary. Good to know! I could have come out and done New Years with the guys!!
I also learned other information about the rooms. My last two visits I stayed in the Junior Suite, and I recommend them! I’ve attached photos. I liked Room 2, on the ground level… and then stayed in Room 27 on the upper and was surprised how much larger that room was! I had this thought about how fun it would be on New Years to have several friends come down and stay over with me in the adjoining room, and share the spacious seating-area. So, I have things to plan and look forward too for next year.
As always, one of the nicest parts of the stay is having coffee in the morning with Richard the owner. I look forward to it, as do all the regular guests. I confirmed this last visit when the guys came down for coffee to chat with him.
I highly recommend the personal nature of the place and Richard the owner.

Room Tip: I really liked Junior Suite 2 and 27. Althought 27 was almost too much room for me on an overnighter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorBuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
180
53
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is our second Christmas holiday stay at the hotel. This hotel is actually small which is a plus. The staff is friendly and helpful and the owner, Richard, is there every day making sure things are going well. We have always enjoyed meeting the other guests and made friends along the way. The place is immaculately kept. We have not tried the spa services, but the pool and hot tub are quite nice. Wifi is complementary but a little weak in the rooms. It is a little on the edge of the downtown stores and restaurants, but not an impossible walk. A standard continental breakfast is included. They offer complimentary drinks in the late afternoon. Few seemed to take advantage of this on our stays which was a disappointment, as it would have been nice to be able to socialize. The rooms are large but a bit on the dark side. Be aware that if you prefer firm beds that you might find these too soft. We plan to return to this hotel on all future visits.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms seem brighter and more private. Rooms 21-24 face the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3-4 days as part of a holiday travelling around southern California from London. A great chilled and relaxing place. Very peaceful and friendly. They have a delicious breakfast - fresh fruit, juice, bagels and pastries, and the BEST COFFEE I've had in America. The owner also invited everybody for cocktails / wine on Saturday evening, which was a great way to meet the other guests in a relaxed atmosphere.
I have no reservations in recommending this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel was great though not busy for the time of year. The weather was not that great for the weekend we were there so never got to use the nice clean pool! The rooms were freshly decorates and immaculetly clean. Though I must say the room was a little dark - I am going to put that down to the complete lack of sun.

Jason was ever so helpful in recommending restaurants and making bookings for us. This hotel is run with the finess of a larger property and offers the intimacy you expect. It is a wee bit outside of the centre but there was great restaurants within walking distance and a great wee tiki bar close by as well. Without doubt will stay there next time we are in Palm Springs.

Thanks

Paul

Room Tip: Make sure its sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Cup-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My partner and I had the perfect 5 day getaway from the DC area. As Palm Springs regulars for more than 10 years, we were very impressed with our first stay at East Canyon. From our initial email contacts to reserve the room through checkout, everything was flawless. Perfect location on a quiet street, ample parking, wonderful ambiance, comfy rooms, delightful pool and hot tub, helpful staff, and friendly guests. Richard the owner checked in with us every day, which really made us feel welcome. The entire property was immaculate. Continental breakfast was plentiful and was more than enough to get us going for the day. Rooms seemed larger and better appointed than photos show, and the bathroom in our 2 queen bed room was quite large with ample storage and a nice large shower. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This small classy hotel is hidden away under the mountains of Palm Springs. It doesn't have many rooms which makes it feel pretty exclusive and they all look onto the central courtyard where a inviting swimming pool sits.
Communication between Richard the owner and ourselves started as soon as I booked. Very personal from the off which made us feel welcome. We didn't arrive till late in the evening but everything was sorted and organised.
Breakfast is served in the club house and is the time to meet fellow guests. The breakfast is fruit/cereals/pastries etc more than enough.
the rooms were fantastic. The bed was soo comfortable as was the large sofa in the room.
Everything about the place was really nice including the hottub that was positioned right outside our room. It is not a seedy or clothing optional hotel and while we were there I would say had a slightly older cliental.
The hotel itself is just a short walk from the main street with the bars and restaurants.
Def would stay again and if I was looking for a hotel to buy that would be the one id go for!. So much charm and great hospitality

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cragrgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this past weekend and we were not disappointed. Richard was as sweet and accommodating as advertised as were the staff. There were many highlights including the beautiful pool, hot tub, continental breakfast, cleanliness etc... The best part for us was the relaxed atmosphere...a total diva free environment (and that's difficult in a gay resort). The guests were down to earth and friendly and many were return guests. If you're looking to hook up, go to the clothing optional resorts. If you want class and excellent service, East Canyon is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 73 in Palm Springs
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#40 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#3 of 42 in Palm Springs
428 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
2.0 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 42 in Palm Springs
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Canyon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Canyon Hotel and Spa

Property: East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Address: 288 E Camino Monte Vis, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4711
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Canyon Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your East Canyon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Canyon Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing