We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Palm Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Palm Springs”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This small classy hotel is hidden away under the mountains of Palm Springs. It doesn't have many rooms which makes it feel pretty exclusive and they all look onto the central courtyard where a inviting swimming pool sits.
Communication between Richard the owner and ourselves started as soon as I booked. Very personal from the off which made us feel welcome. We didn't arrive till late in the evening but everything was sorted and organised.
Breakfast is served in the club house and is the time to meet fellow guests. The breakfast is fruit/cereals/pastries etc more than enough.
the rooms were fantastic. The bed was soo comfortable as was the large sofa in the room.
Everything about the place was really nice including the hottub that was positioned right outside our room. It is not a seedy or clothing optional hotel and while we were there I would say had a slightly older cliental.
The hotel itself is just a short walk from the main street with the bars and restaurants.
Def would stay again and if I was looking for a hotel to buy that would be the one id go for!. So much charm and great hospitality

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cragrgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    33
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
181
53
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first time this past weekend and we were not disappointed. Richard was as sweet and accommodating as advertised as were the staff. There were many highlights including the beautiful pool, hot tub, continental breakfast, cleanliness etc... The best part for us was the relaxed atmosphere...a total diva free environment (and that's difficult in a gay resort). The guests were down to earth and friendly and many were return guests. If you're looking to hook up, go to the clothing optional resorts. If you want class and excellent service, East Canyon is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 days in October. We love it. Gracious and classy without being stuffy nor overpriced. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne B-g B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've spent years coming to Palm Springs and stayed at many places in town from the big hotels in the centre of town to the freakier edges of Warm Sands. East Canyon Hotel & Spa is a delight, it's by a long stretch the *best* option if you're looking for an upscale boutique getaway in the sun. Richard and his staff are a delight, the pool sparkles, the grounds are immaculate. It's my first choice for a chilled out PS break.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boywithkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Every time my partner and I go to this place we feel more and more at home. The staff is so accommodating and friendly and they pay attention to the details. The rooms are very clean and spacious, the pool and grounds are kept up meticulously. The entire atmosphere of this place says classy without stuffy. Not your typical gay hotel. We love it!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the pool ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USARicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the East Canyon for three nights in October and while I wholeheartedly agree that the place is special - mainly because of the wonderful owner Richard and the relaxed, peaceful attitude that abounds there - I also feel I'd be doing the place a dis-service if I didn't point out some of the shortcomings.

This is not a world class luxury spa resort by any stretch of the imagination. It's a small, friendly, boutique style property with a small spa attached. There's no bar, mini bar, room service, pool side service or food on offer. And while the rooms are spacious and well appointed they are not the height of luxury as stated by some of the reviewers here.

The upshot is if you want a small, friendly, relaxed hotel and you're happy with the fact that it has limited grounds, no swishy extra services and a basic DIY breakfast then this is the place for you. That said, we'd certainly return to the hotel as we had a lovely time there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertsdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

There are several things, when combined, that make East Canyon Hotel and Spa an ultimate vacation get-away. The professional, attentive, and friendly staff make sure that your stay is a wonderful experience.
Add to that, an, upscale, gay clientele from all over the world makig it a rich environment in cultural diversity. The laid back atmosphere under the palms and around the pool invites a cool dip, a good snooze, or fun in the sun, Their "tan lines are appreciated" guideline makes for a comfortable experience (unlike other Palm Springs gay hotels that feel more like a meat market).
Plus, the Spa/Massage of a professional therapist is the best that I have ever had anywhere. Makes you look and feel like a millon dollars! Sea-salt scrub is a must.
With the beauty of Palm Springs and the desert and the mountains, combined with "The Experience" of East Canyon Hotel, I promise that you will return home refreshed and relaxed, and wanting to come back again and again to this ultimate get_away!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
2.2 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 42 in Palm Springs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
2.0 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 42 in Palm Springs
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Canyon Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Canyon Hotel and Spa

Property: East Canyon Hotel and Spa
Address: 288 E Camino Monte Vis, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-4711
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Canyon Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your East Canyon Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Canyon Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing