We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We were greeted at the desk by the lovely Lucy who gave us a tour of the property. Besides a nice, clean room, there is a pool and hot tub. The guest kitchen is nice--with coffee 24 hours a day, and water and sodas in the fridge (plus a toaster, a blender, stove, dishwasher and barbecues!) The fruit basket was always full. In our room there was a microwave and a small refrigerator with complimentary sodas and bottled water, as well as a complementary snack basket.

The hotel just had a grand reopening. This is an older hotel that has been refurbished, but it was very comfortable and homey. The owner, his daughter, and the manager were all very welcoming and I truly felt like a guest, not a customer. If you are looking for a quiet hotel a little off the beaten path, this is it! As I sat by the fire pit this morning with a hot cup of coffee, watching the hummingbirds play in the fountain, all I could think of was "I would love to rent out the entire hotel for a family reunion."

Lucy's recommendation for the Mexican restaurant down the street was spot on. Delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THZ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,548 - 1,554 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed here in January and was pleasantly suprised at how beautiful the pool and grounds surrounding the courtyard were. The website pictures don't do it justice. Pool was very nice and warm which was a great treat since we just left another NY snow storm; The rooms have new furnishings and are a nice size; very comfortable beds (rooms just renovated); Gary and Judy were very accomodating and their suggestions for local restaurants were perfect; Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYvirg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

You can't find a more peaceful or beautuful place to stay in Palm Springs than the Hotel California. Our third stay here. Loved it before, love it even more now. Has new owners that can't seem to do enough for the place or its guests. If you are looking for a place to just unwind, stay here. As you sit at the pool and listen to the water trickling from the fountains and look around at all the lush tropical plants your mind and body just let go. The rooms are very nice and the beds super comfortable. The pool and hot tub are nice and warm, too. We missed last year, won't do that again. Can't wait to return to the little oasis in the desert!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandymual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Our stay here at the hotel was wonderful from the time we arrived to the time we said our good-byes. Gary was very accomodating to our needs. We stayed in th handicap accessible room which was spacious and suited our needs. The grounds are beautiful and the renovations look great. The hotel is gated and locked at night, so you are given a room key and a gate key. We felt very secure and safe. The pool area is nice with several tables and chairs and plenty of towels. At night candles illuminate the area creating a wonderful ambiance. We met the owners, Patty and Larry, and as with Gary, very pleasant and friendly. Parking is conveniently located on the property. Overall, we had a wonderful experience here. A couple of minor things to mention on the con side are the size of the pool (not really big enough to swim laps) and no fitness room. Also, a computer room will be added soon. If we are ever back in Palm Springs, we will return to Hotel California. You should check it out!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoeft25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

stayed here over new year larry and the team have great ideas and plans to make this one of the best tickets in town Hotel is all you would expect from Palm Springs great location and level of service, will be a great find for couples who want to relax and enjoy the pool and sun suggest you look at reviews for desert riveria as they are same owners

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the newly renovated Hotel California 4 nights and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel is undergoing a complete renovation by the new owners, Larry and Patty Stearns. The courtyard, with all new landscaping, is so cozy and charming. There is the most beautiful rubber tree that wraps around the courtyard which gives the entire space an intimate feel. The hotel is small and has a very casual, warm and friendly atmosphere. The owners take the time to meet all their customers and are happy to give advice about things to do and restaurants in the area. We highly recommend Hotel California!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrytrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tschou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,947 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
198 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $156 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing