We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
V Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Royale Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Musicland Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveler rating
1,544
95
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,544
95
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunity kitchenpink champagnelucy and jaycommon kitchenshared kitchenguest kitchenhot tubdvd libraryfree snacksfully stocked kitchenbbq areatour of the propertyfeel like familyfire pitfresh fruithome away from homeother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The customer service and the whole vibe of giving the customer more than they paid for makes this property standout. While other properties charge 'resort fees' with NO benefits, Hotel California charges NO resort fee, while giving extra benefits such as a fully stocked kitchen area with BBQ, bikes, 100 of DVD's, and tours of the property upon arrival with welcoming drinks and a welcome basket of goodies in your room. Within minutes on the property all the staff (Curly,Jay and Mike) know your name and begin the ritual of asking how they can make your stay more enjoyable...........and they really mean it. We had the pleasure of staying in three different King Pool rooms, and enjoyed all with Room 8 being our favorite.........We are looking forward to returning for another romantic adventure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SoCal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you want to escape the insanity of LA, this is a great small hotel that caters to adult clientele. The pool is in the center of the property allowing all guests the opportunity to spend the days by the pool with easy access back to their rooms. In the evening it gains a wonderful ambiance as a result of candles placed throughout the common areas. The team at the hotel, Curly, Jay and Mike will insure your stay is perfect. Make sure to hit up Bernie's for a cocktail and a great dinner only two blocks away.

Room Tip: Pick room 3, CLOSE to pool but quiet
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChromeBonesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The team at the hotel made us feel very welcome from the moment we walked in the front gate... a big thank you to Jay, Mike, Kirby and Curly. The hotel was very peaceful, the room (number 1) was lovely, spacious, very comfy bed and sofas and had everything we needed.

Everything was just perfect and helped make our honeymoon very special. From our little bike rides (hotel provides free bikes), to the BBQs, the beautiful pool and Jacuzzi and the sun loungers.

Thank you.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great for quick access when it gets too hot.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenkins79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

When we planned our 16 day road trip through Nevada, Arizona and California we always knew that the last leg of the tour would find us in Palm Springs and that this would be our “chill time” before the long flight that brought us back home to N. Ireland. We therefore wanted a hotel which would provide us with that opportunity and it was to Tripadvisor that we turned and it was there that we discovered the Hotel California. With so many positive comments and a check on the Hotels own website I sent an Email enquiring about making a booking and quickly followed this up with a telephone call and spoke with Lucy who confirmed my booking.

On arrival we were greeted by Curly, General Manager, who made us so so welcome and gave us a guided tour around the Hotel. As we took the tour Curly informed us about the communal kitchen, which was stocked with herbs and spices and sauces and the obligatory Bar-b-q. As well as the kitchen Curly advised us that fresh fruit was provided daily and we could just help ourselves but the “piece de resistance” was the large jar of red liquorice which again, along with the fruit, was complimentary.

There was also an extensive collection of up-to-date DVD’s and books which we could borrow to watch in our room or in the communal sitting room. As we walked and talked Curly showed us where the ‘phone was which we could be used to call friends and family and again this was free of charge. When we explained that all our chums were back in Ireland Curly stumped us by telling us that the complimentary service included international calls

We were then shown to our room which turned out to be a town house which if you go to the Hotel California’s website you will see consists of a two storey house with a fully fitted kitchen, comfortable sitting room, 2 bathrooms complete with showers a very large bedroom and a 2nd floor patio area. There were also the little touches which included a basket of what our American friends call chips and candy otherwise known as crisps, pretzels and sweets for our enjoyment

As part of our walk through tour Curly showed us the pool area and the Jacuzzi as well as the towels and suntan lotion which yet again was complimentary. Again if you go to the Hotel California website you will see photographs taken by the Hotel as well as guests and can I just say the reality of the Hotel and its amenities are as they appear in the photos utterly captivating

Following the unpacking we decided to take a walk around on our own and this is when we met Mike an absolute font of local knowledge. We said we needed to get some provisions in and he advised us of the many shops, restaurants and watering holes in the area along with excellent directions. He then asked if we were going to drive or take the bikes? We were a tiny bit puzzled until he showed us the Hotels bicycles which we could borrow at any time and again these were complementary. (I don’t think, in fact I know, I have never encountered or heard of any Hotel that offers so much to their patrons than what the Hotel California does)

The following day we met Kirby who on hearing we were arranging to take a guided tour of the homes of the rich and famous produced a book which provided the names, addresses and pictures of the stars and their homes and suggested that we undertook a tour ourselves which we did. Brilliant suggestion Kirby.

On our final day it was with a heavy heart that we departed the Hotel California and as we said goodbye to Jay he asked the inevitable question “Did you enjoy your stay?” My response was that staying at the Hotel California was like having a very rich and generous friend who had a magnificent home with everything you could ever want or need and who asks you if you would, while he was on holiday, like to come over and stay at his place. In short that pretty well sums up our experience with Curly and his Team who delivered on so many levels in a warm, welcoming, professional and unobtrusive manner the best experience we have ever had as guests not only in American but throughout Europe and the Middle East. Would we return to the Hotel California? In a heartbeat

Continued success to the Hotel California and her Team

Room Tip: Book and Book early as you do not want to miss the oppurtunity of stayinh here
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmcfa002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've been coming to Palm Springs for years and tolerating the drunken, smoking masses that congeal at most of the hotels/motels on any given weekend. I've always noted the Hotel California, but since it didn't come up on any of the usual hotel sites, I always forgot to look into staying there -- until now. It is reasonably priced and the accommodations are top-notch, including Wi-Fi that actually works! The property is small, and adult-centric, so if you're looking for peace (or a place to work and write, as I was), this is the place. The most notable thing about the Hotel California, beyond the place itself, is the customer service. They went WAY out of their way to accommodate me, and when my plane was late getting in, they made special arrangements to make sure I got into my room that night. Once you check in, all of the amenities are free, from the water and soda in the room's refrigerator, to the small fleet of bicycles they have for everybody's use. They don't nickel and dime you for things the way so many places do. They also have a full kitchen and two nice new gas BBQs for everybody to use. Unheard of.

I've found THE place to stay in Palm Springs. Finally.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews