We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed, friendly”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It's nice to have snacks and wine and bottles of water and fruit at no extra charge, and lovely outdoor eating areas, and a perfectly temperature controlled pool, and a hot tub, and loads of towels always available... It's a little far from the main strip and our bathroom was tiny and outdated but so what? You can walk to a few bars and one good Mexican restaurant. And of course everything is a short drive away. We loved it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

I don't know what else to say having read all the previous reviews, it really is a first class, small hotel that caters for your every need, fantastic service, thanks to everyone for making our stay in PS an unforgettable one

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My two sisters and I stayed at this wonderful property for 4 nights in May. We had a suite with two queen beds and two full bathrooms. What a treat it was. The beds were so comfortable, the place spotless and the staff so friendly!! No wonder they were just rated in the top 25 hotels in the world for service by trip advisor. I agree!! I would recommend Hotel California to anyone! If Palm Springs is in your travel plans-this is a "must stay"

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvstotravelanywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Perfect paradise!! After travelling for 10 days through California, Nevada and Arizona, we found our perfect paradise at the Hotel California! This is the best hotel ever with the friendliest staff I have ever met. After our check-in we spontaneously decided that we want to stay another night. Even though almost fully booked, Curly tried everything so that we could actually stay. Everything at the Hotel California is just perfect. Nice place to relax and to enjoy your time off. Will definitely come back and already looking forward to my next visit! Book this hotel to experience this yourself!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanja_Dus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We only had a short stay at Hotel California but I wish it were longer! Lovely little hotel, very comfortable bed and pretty pool and grounds - particularly at night when lit up. The owner was very accommodating and so welcoming - you don't receive service like this in many places in any more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just got back from 3 nights at the Hotel California. It was terrific! We had rm #1 which is a first floor suite just off the pool. Very roomy with 2 bathrooms a spacious lounge area and bedroom!!!! Spotless and well equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. Could easily stay for a long time! The common area kitchen was also spotless with plenty of cookware and outdoor grilles making it very easy to prepare any type of meal. I'm not sure who was friendlier, the staff or the other guests. It's like a big family! Thank you Larry, Mike and Curly for a fabulous introduction to Palm Springs and all it has to offer! Shout out to the support staff who are keeping it spotless which is a big thing to me! It is a bit away from downtown but easy to bike too (they have plenty to borrow). We ate at La Mirasol (sp) which is very close and excellent. A pleasant little walk. Staff at the hotel was ALWAYS available to answer questions and/or offer suggestions. Thank you all for a great stay!!! Will be back and we are from NH!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

My hubby booked this hotel to help celebrate my birthday. I was so surprised to see how sweet the place was. We were spoiled from the first minute we arrived. A warm greeting, a glass of wine and a personal walk through the cozy tropical setting of this little piece of Paradise. We booked the townhouse and it was perfect! Then an ice bucket and pink champagne came to the door with a smile and hug. Never bothered by kids in the pool, no noise from parties late at night. It was just perfect. Always making sure we had a cool drink while at the pool and the humming birds gave use a show everyday. Price was right, clean and relaxing. We will never look anywhere else when we stay in Palm Springs. Thanks to the owner, staff and house keepers for making that part of my birthday~~~"GREAT"

Room Tip: It looks like all the rooms were great but I really felt spoiled in the townhouse. Book soon as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,977 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
206 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $162 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing