We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Absolutely the gold standard in hospitality in beautiful and cozy surroundings! My husband and I celebrated our birthdays over a 3 night visit and only wish we had planned to stay longer. This was our first time at Hotel California and we are already looking forward to going back. Thanks to Lucy, Larry, Mike and the entire staff for their friendly and personal service and making us feel so special. So glad we found this place!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAH2154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

What a darling place. very charming and friendly . We especailly appreciated the quiet policy at the hotel. so many of the other hipster hotels in the area are all about noise and "party" and music blaring at all times. Not the Hotel California. I hate to sound corny…but it is an oasis. The owners and management could not have been more helpful. We especailly enjoyed the free bikes and the extensie DVD library. the pool is lovely. comfy places to relax and enjoy the lush gardens.

Room Tip: upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jt1LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My wife and I needed a quick getaway from the snow and ice of the north and we needed complication free, hassle-free trip arrangements. Happy to say Hotel California provided just that along with the feel of a true oasis in the desert. From our direct booking by phone with Larry, to the confirmation 5 minutes later that our car rental was all arranged to being picked up by Larry personally with his Harley Davidson Limo and being greeted with white wine by his wonderful daughter Lucy at the hotel office, it was a dream vacation. Whatever we needed was cheerfully provided from 24 hour availability of fruit, coffee and ice water to restaurant and hiking trail suggestions to further trips to restaurants in their limo there was nothing denied us. Thank you hotel California. Your #1 hotel rating in Trip Advisor is well deserved. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My quick visit to Palm Springs was made very enjoyable by choosing Hotel California. They have a friendly, fun-filled and helpful staff and great accommodations. I will stay there again next trip. A true oasis.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Lucy and her team personalize their service to meet your needs. Water or wine upon check-in to recover from your travels, champagne for an anniversary celebration, dinner recommendations (you can't go wrong if you follow them), free limo to take you to dinner so you do not drive after happy hour in the garden, freshly picked grapefruit, beautiful gardens surrounding a pool and hot tub, and privacy. Candles and torches are lit every night to enhance the ambiance of the garden. Oh, did you leave something in your room? Call and it will be sent home. Rooms are up to date and very comfortable.
These are the experiences we had during our recent stay. No detail is overlooked. The hotel is conveniently removed from the crowds and noise of downtown, but within a healthy walking distance.
Dan C.

Room Tip: Room 6 -- the Town House -- is convenient if you want to have a bit more room for private entertaini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just got back from Palm Springs and stayed at the Hotel California and I can't say enough about the property and the people who manage it. My work has me on the road at least 30-40 nights a year and this hotel by far, is my most favorite.
Our flight arrived later in the evening but that wasn't a problem for Larry the owner. He personally picked us up and brought us to the hotel, showed us to our room and the property itself and explained how things worked. The rooms are very clean. The bed was comfortable. There is a community kitchen open 24 hours with coffee and tea available along with some fresh fruit. There is a BBQ area if you want to cook yourself dinner. They clean up for you after while you relax.
The pool area is small but clean. The lounge chairs are in great shape and comfy. There is always a supply of towels in the rack and they keep the pool at a very comfortable 94 degrees. It is very peaceful and quiet during the day and evening.

What impresses me the most about this hotel is the attitude. It's very simple really but lost on so many in the service industry. Larry explained it to me best..."It costs money to keep that pool heated at 94 degrees and it costs money to keep the property in good shape but it doesn't cost anything to be nice to people and treat them right". Larry is smarter than a lot of business people I know and I've dealt with a lot over the last 30 years.

I can't recommend this hotel enough. I've stayed at 5 star properties. This hotel treats you like a 5 star customer. If I am ever in Palm Springs again, I will not stay anywhere else but at the Hotel California. They earn your business and they have mine.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. There are various sizes and other than right beside the pool, each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I could not have been happier with my stay. This hotel is so beautiful and the rooms are just gorgeous. I stayed in the King Romantica, with a slightly private patio/walkway that leads to the pool and the rest of the hotel. The property overall is so clean and very well maintained. The community kitchen was well stocked with fruit, snacks, coffee, tea, water, etc. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to help you or answer any questions you have. I don't think I ever once wanted to leave during my stay.

Also, this place is perfect for couples - I don't recommend it for families with children (kids would really disrupt the calm, but that's my personal opinion).

I've really been over the moon about my stay and can't wait to come back! It's a perfect little desert oasis.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salpytalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,985 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
211 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $144 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing