We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$244
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$220
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Korakia Pensione(Palm Springs)
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saguaro Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Villa Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willows(Palm Springs)
$385
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveler rating
1,544
95
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,544
95
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunity kitchenpink champagnelucy and jaycommon kitchenshared kitchenguest kitchenhot tubdvd libraryfree snacksfully stocked kitchenbbq areatour of the propertyfeel like familyfire pitfresh fruithome away from homeother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,017 - 1,022 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ditto to all the other great reviews. We went to Palm Springs for a weekend getaway with another couple friends. From the minute Lucy greeted us with a glass of wine (and 24 hour coffee available) on Friday until our "no problem" late check out on Monday we loved this hotel. They have bikes and a limo for your use to get around- if you ever want to leave. The pool and spa are well screened with plants, so you can relax without feeling like you are in a mob scene. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Great recommendations for meals, side trips- so glad our first choice was booked, and they recommended HOtel California to us!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Listen to all of the wonderful reviews this place has gotten. It is everything everyone said it would be. We have stayed at a number of hotels in Palm Springs over the years. P.S. is always relaxing, but Hotel California took it to a new level for us. The hotel is extremely well kept with every nice rooms and roomy bathrooms. The staff is excellent. It definitely has the feel of staying in a family home. You can stick to yourself or talk with other guest and the very knowledgeable and friendly staff. My favorite part of the hotel is the pool and courtyard area. The landscaping is beautiful with a 70+ year-old rubber plant entwined throughout the hotel and three or four humming birds flitting from tree to feeder. All-in-all it's pretty magical.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel California
Had booked this hotel due entirely to the reviews on trip advisor and am so pleased I did. Hotel California and the people who run it are truly an oasis in the sea of large impersonal hotel chains. From my initial contact with Lucy by email - through having to change dates and rooms due to a change in the size of our travelling party nothing was too much trouble. We arrived early for checkin and despite the early arrival one of our rooms had been prepared so we could immediately drop our bags and settle in. Lucy met us at the gate and offered us refreshments before giving a guided tour of the small but immaculate grounds. As temperatures were above 35degrees first priority was to change and take advantage of the loungers around the pool - a heavenly area to relax and unwind after the madness of disneyland and la. The misters, vines and hummingbirds all added to the ambience- so much so that a planned afternoon of sightseeing was instead spent lazing by the pool chatting to other guests. Throughout Lucy was the perfect host - checking every now and then if there was anything we required, but never intrusive. 
After a few hours of idling we decided to take advantage of the free cruisers and take a ride around palm springs. Looking back this afternoon was one of the highlights of our trip to the USA. To truly relax and enjoy the more simpler things in life with an afternoon by the pool and a lazy bike ride around town (with all the hilarity caused by it being a while since we had all been on bikes). We were traveling with our older teenage children and are well aware that as they move into adulthood such moments are rare. 
The rooms were extremely comfortable with king sized beds and furnishings well in tune with the outdoor areas. Unfortunately separate beds were not available for my daughter and son - however, we were able to work around this with the comfortable sofa cushions from the couch in one room. A wide variety of  DVDs were available in the guest lounge to borrow  and in the evening we were able to relax in our room and watch our choice. 
Our only regret is that our itinerary only allowed for one night - this will definitely be rectified in future trips. Thank you Lucy and staff for providing such an outstanding experience. 

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Romantic and quiet. A class act from beginning to end. We were greeted by Lucy who help set the tone for a great weekend. We were celebrating our anniversary and she even had champagne waiting for us. At night, use their limo to get to town. By day the bikes were perfect for touring around in the fall weather. The hotel has a great lounging pool perfect for the romantic weekend we wanted.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jspencer1532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I've been visiting Palm Springs and vicinity for years and recently found this gem! Hotel California deserves very accolade seen in other reviews...This little boutique hotel is an exception to the rule! From the super comfy rooms, the relaxing pool and hot tub area, wonderful communal kitchen, wi-fi everywhere ...it's perfection! Lucy you are awesome as is your staff, each of whom contributed to making our stay all we could have hoped for ... I could go on and on... Thank you for the perfect getaway weekend!!! Hotel California is the place we'll be returning to again and again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vphb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews