We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis Get Away!!!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we walked through the front gate we were greeted by Lucy, the manager, with a smiling happy welcome!! We were offered a cold beverage while we were checking in as the weather was 100 degrees. We were shown around the property and all the amenities and walked to our room personally! I have never received treatment like that at any other hotel.

The room are beautiful, comfortable beds, steps away from the pool area. They have a full kitchen and BBq's available to guest. We bbq steaks 2 out of the three nights we were there. It is a hidden gem, tropical oasis in the desert. We will definitely be coming back here!! Thank you for the wonderful long weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ckosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

986 - 992 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Hotel California. The staff gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and made us at home straightaway. This hotel is a great size with a pool area, secluded hot tub area, and plenty of seating to relax. There are complimentary refreshments (including beer & wine), and rooms are clean, comfortable and a good size. Overall the owners have created a lovely atmosphere - long may it continue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitrionaonatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We came for a long weekend with 3 couples. Rooms are beautiful - pool is steps away from all rooms, clean, lots of greenery/trees. Owners can't do enough for you - above and beyond. Love it!-
Little areas outside to sit away from people and enjoy the outdoor fireplaces late into the night

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wdmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I spent labor day weekend at Hotel California. I can't say enough about how much we loved our time there. From the minute you check in and Lucy the manager makes you feel at home, to checkout everything was fantastic. We were conflicted about this review since we want this place to remain our own little oasis out in the desert. However, staying here was a great experience and we felt we should let everyone know about it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quinn1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we found this lovely spot, we did not know what to expect, although the reviews on Tripadvisor were brilliant. It exceeded all of our expectations! Supposed to stay only two nights, we ended up there for 14 nights and even cancelled our booked stay at the coast! Never had such a warm welcome, never met so many wonderful people from all over the world within the first day! Lucy, Kelly, Traci and Mike know how to treat people the way they are supposed to be treated. We stayed in 4 different rooms, all of them were great. The pool was 24/7, the sunscreen, the telephone (worldwide!) and the bikes were free, even some margueritas one day! We would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in a peaceful and quiet place, even just for a couple of days/weekend. You´ll find yourself in a home away from home. We left with more than a tear in our eye and will definitely come back, because we made new friends there. Hopefully some of the returning guests we met will be there als well, like Vickie from San Diego,Mike from Mission Viejo and Mike and Becky from Canada. That would be great! The Eagles were right: "you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave". Joerg and Alina (Soest/Germany)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joergstaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The three day stay was perfect for my wife and myself. Rooms - spacious, clean & private. Lucy, Kelly & Mike were very attentive and friendly. The pool side margaritas were a wonderful surprise. We used the bicycles to go to town. The pool was perfect ( clean,warm and surrounded by lush tropical plants). We will go back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Without doubt this beautiful hotel was the highlight of our three week tour. A family run hotel that made us feel instantly at home within seconds of arriving. Lucy ..your parents need to pay you more….a really genuine person who within the first sentence spoken made us feel that we had known her years. (Hope you can come to Liverpool Lucy so we can reciprocate). The location is about a mile or so south of the downtown area but it is walking distance to the botanic gardens and very close to Indian Canyon which you must see. The facilities are brilliant with each room located around a pool garden area which is stunning with beautiful flowers/trees and dozens of humming birds. There is a pool and spa pool and all guests seemed to form instant bonds chatting around the external areas. There are bikes that can be borrowed to get in to town . We chose this on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed…..this hotel exceeded every expectation and is exceptional value. We will definitely return. Paul & Sue

Room Tip: they are all good so dont worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAULKILLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $163 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing