We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved our stay at hotel California, Kelly and Lucy were very welcoming. The rooms are lovely and private, the pool is ace and is open as late as you want. We had a very relaxing few days and were sad to leave, but we will most deinitely be going back at some point.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Romantica room and it was lovely, it has the largest bathroom of all the rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
979
51
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Both Hotel California and its sister property in Palm Springs both get top marks in Trip Advisor. The previous reviews have all stated how welcoming the properties are and how those in charge take pride in their work.

This normally starts to get my alarm bells ringing having been the "victim" of these kind of properties in the past. and so it was with some trepidation that we booked this property having looked at a number of the chain type hotels in the area.

Well I have to say in my 30 odd years of traveling both as a teenager and an adult I am very pleased to say that I have never come across a place as friendly or as welcoming as Hotel California. So to those in Trip Advisor who rated this place so highly, I salute you all.

This small hotel is located only a minutes drive from the main Palm Springs shopping and dining area. The hotel consists of a small number of good sized and comfortable rooms and it has the center piece of a small but perfectly adequate pool located in a beautiful ornate garden. You also have full use of a well equipped kitchen and barbecue area, however with having only a few days in the area this wasnt used on our part.

Guests also have access to a well stocked video library and the use of bikes if you feel the need to exert yourself in the Palm Springs heat.

Lucy who greeted us on our arrival, was the perfect hostess, showing us around the hotel and inviting us for a drink before heading up to the rooms after a long journey to the hotel. Her family own the hotel and all I can say is they should be extremely proud of the work she does in making each of us guests feel like we are part of that same family.

Palm Springs itself is a perfect getaway for those wanting to simply relax. For those unfamiliar with the area, don't go expecting theme parks and wild parties (although there is a water park nearby for those with kids). Saying that however, there are also a number of attractions which are easily looked up and which will help fill in those days when you just cant lie in the heat any longer.

I hope at some point I can get back to Palm Springs and the Hotel California. Three days was just not enough. So for those of you who like me may feel a little reluctant at first in booking into this small hotel. Please throw any doubts away and start clicking the keyboard and get you first trip booked. I can guarantee you it wont be your last.

Room Tip: Rooms are on two levels if you have mobility difficulty then ask for a ground floor room. Althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddywack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I can't say enough good things about the Hotel California. Lucy makes every effort to make sure you have a fabulous stay. The pool is perfect, the perfect temperature and has lounge chairs with misters all around. The rooms have such comfortable beds and the shower was great. We were sitting in the Jacuzzi last night and someone came buy to ask if we wanted beer or wine! Such a nice touch. They also provide you with beer, wine, soft drinks or bottled water when you arrive and have a welcome basket of goodies in the room.

Rooms are super clean and there is a common room with a HUGE dvd library that has new movies. I went in to see if they had two random movies and they did! Also had a large assortment of books and games. There is also a kitchen that's stocked with ice and a blender to make frozen drinks, spices and pots and pans to cook ( if you want to) and a barbecue!

The grounds at night are so beautiful, lit up with lights, candles, and tiki torches. If you're looking for the prefect relaxing getaway, this is it. Beyond the grounds, the pool, and the room, it's Lucy going out of her way to make sure you have the best trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a great time during our stay. The hotel is very clean, rooms nice and spacious. The staff was very hospitable. The location is good, pool and hot tub area are very nice and relaxing. We will stay here again during our next Palm Springs trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Hotel California offers a fantastic opportunity to relax and recharge batteries in the desert.

Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the welcome and customer service provided by the owners is impeccable. We were greeted by name on arrival, shown around, provided with a discount code for the local store and offered complementary drinks and snacks. We were even offered a choice of rooms as there were others available. Lucy and Kelly, who were on duty during our stay, were always on hand to answer questions or offer advice, and couldn't do enough to help, yet they are completely unobtrusive if you just want time alone to relax.

Although we didn't use the kitchen to cook a meal for ourselves, it was great to have so much facilities available, and we were pleased to be able to help ourselves to coffee or cold water whenever we wanted it.

The pool and surrounding area are a beautiful space to sit and relax, and it was great to be able to have a late night dip too after a long day.

This hotel is a gem and the owners deserve all the credit for creating such a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonc1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed Aug 5-8/13. We had originally planned on staying until Aug 12/13, but due to heavy smoke and ash from nearby fires, we checked out early. The time we spent at this hotel was very relaxing. They certainly make you feel like you are a part of their family. The pool is smaller than I expected, but certainly served its purpose. It was nice to have misters around the pool all day, as so many places that we have stayed no longer turn on their misters! What a treat. You get full access to a kitchen and BBQ area, as well as a library of soft covered novels and DVD's. also have use of their bikes to roam and explore the area. We definitely we disappointed to have to leave early, but the smoke was too strong, and I did not want to spend our vacation time indoors, which everyone advised, so we moved on. I am sure we will return to this welcoming property, as we left feeling like part of the family! Thanks Lucy! Kelly was awesome too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MugRug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better welcome at this charming hotel.

We had a deluxe king room, which was very well appointed. There were lovely touches at the hotel that you won't find in many places e.g. a glass of wine on arrival, snacks in your room, drinks in the fridge, lovely toiletries...the cleaning staff were wonderful.

Lucy was our host, what a wonderful young woman; a credit to her family and the hotel business. There is a different philosophy at HC, it's a home from home.

The swimming pool is open 24 hours and there is a heated spa tub for the cooler times of the year...not August when we were there and it was 40+ degrees Celsius!

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. It was a lovely relaxing break.

If you're considering Palm Springs, have a look at the HC website, call Lucy and you'll see why we enjoyed the experience so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmccaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing