We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is not enough.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is a pleasure for us to be among the happy and thoroughly satisfied "throng" that have been lucky to have chosen the Hotel California as our Palm Springs summer destination.
The memorable experience ... as others have noted... starts within seconds upon arrival.
The only thing warmer than the temps was our greeting from Kelly... and later Lucy.
The Hotel California is lush with banana plants and one of the most truly magnificent natural canopies we have ever seen... a sprawling rubber tree plant! We were there late June so things were a tad toasty so the beautiful irreplaceable plant had its protective summer mesh on. And the only sounds you hear are the trickling fountains, the guests giggling and either Kelly or Lucy saying..."Can I get you something... a beer... water... wine?" Beyond delightful.
And oh yes... THE KITCHEN! Heavens... was that nice or what! Two huge outdoor grills... and did I mention ... the kitchen. It is equipped with anything and everything to put on a big time dinner.
And... not to brag too much... my wife is a Gordon Bleu trained chef... and the well-equipped kitchen even took her by surprise. Free wifi... clean pool... great "toiletries"... terrific bed/sheets... one can go on... but just book it and experience what personal service used to be about.

Room Tip: Close your eyes and pick one.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,568)
There are newer reviews for Hotel California
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel California to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We loved everything about it. I made the reservation over the phone with Lucy and she was so helpful. We exchanged a few messages via email and she gave great restaurant recommendations for our stay as it was our first time in Palm Springs. The hotel is so charming and cozy and the room was immaculate. You get a little basket of complimentary goodies which you'd pay a fortune for in the larger hotels. There are DVD players in the rooms and they have movies that you can borrow during your stay, and again they are free. Every staff member we met went above and beyond. While laying poolside under the misters, the owner walked by and offered to get us a drink (complimentary). I've stayed in a lot of hotels and worked for a major luxury hotel chain for several years. This place has customer service mastered. The hotel is beautiful and the ambience was perfect. But it's all the little things that add up to make this place so wonderful. We're already planning to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel last summer based on the glowing tripadvisor reviews. We also wanted to stay somewhere with a kitchen so that we could bring our own food.
Upon arrival the young lady that checked us in was very friendly. We never saw her again. The rest of our stay was very awkward. Most of the staff is over 65 and they were very unfriendly. They would walk past us without saying hi. We would be in the tiny pool and feel like we were being watched. Then, the stove in the shared area didn't even work. If you are a young couple looking for some privacy, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank FarleyFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCaliforniaMngr, General Manager at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear FarleyFrog,

I do apologize for your experience last summer. I wish you would have brought your concerns to us a year ago. Last August, we did have several of our regular staff out on vacation, as it is the slower part of the year for us. I am quite unhappy to hear that your experience was anything short of excellent. We have remodeled our guest kitchen this year, as we are continually striving to make this property better and better for our guests. I hope that you will choose to give us another shot to show you exactly why we receive the reviews we do.

Sincerely,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We arrived late at night during one of the hottest weekends on record and were warmly greeted by a staff member who had been waiting up for us. She took us on a quick tour of the property and then showed us to our blissfully air-conditioned room. Over the next two days the staff was extremely accommodating and on our last day they let us have the room until late in the afternoon, as the hotel was less busy. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the grounds are beautiful, the setting is intimate. We can't say enough about Kelly, Lucy and the rest of the crew. We've found our go-to spot in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is an extremely welcoming and homely hotel.
It's only small and you are treated by the staff as family. They cannot do enough for you. We had 3 rooms for 2 nights and were so upset when we had to leave. They have so many extras staying at any other hotels after that was disappointing.
Palm Springs had a lot to offer and 2 nights was not enough.
Thank you Lucy for your well managed hotel and your hospitality. We will be back
The White family, Sydney

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Upon our late arrival we were welcomed with a beverage and tour of the hotel. The room was extra clean and bedding beautifully done and nice complimentary treats too!
Nice spa- like atmosphere in pool area and plenty of comfy
seating all around the hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sossos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We arrived one night early unexpectedly as our road trip honeymoon was running ahead of schedule. Our room was ready (king romantic a room) and couldn't believe the standard of the hotel grounds, room, cleanliness etc.

Complimentary American treats available in the room, free parking.

Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful (knew all residents by name), ready with a drink of our choice on arrival.

We were so happy with the first two nights we asked to stay an extra night which they were able to accommodate.

This was a relaxing and very romantic hotel (especially at night), weather was perfect, and didn't even feel the need to go out of the hotel grounds too often.

It is a 5 minute drive to the main strip in palm springs, but there are restaurants and a supermarket closer to the hotel too.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhaggarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
717 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $132 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing