We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a refreshingly good experience”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our trip to the US had us staying in 5 hotels and this was by far the best. If you want 5 star luxury....this isn't the place for you....but if you want 5 star service.....you won't better it!
Small and intimate....comfortable rooms, a great kitchen that guests can use.....a cosy lounge area.
But by far the best asset of this hotel....the family and staff that run it. Nothing is to much trouble.
This really is a home from home...

The only negative l can think of is that the air conditioning is quite loud....but this was true of several of the other hotels....the system is different to what we are used in Europe....and it didn't stop us sleeping soundly.

Many thanks to Lucy, Jay and Larry for a very memorable experience..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,112 - 1,118 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

We are just back from our second annual trip to Hotel California. Just like last year everything was perfect. Our room and the grounds were immaculate! Lucy was the perfect host and like last year the support staff were happy to assist in any way possible. Again the experience was so good that we rebooked for the same time next year.
If you are looking for a quiet restful retreat that caters to adults and you really just want to mellow out there is no where better to be. The only decision you need to make here is where to go for supper and Lucy and the the staff will provide great ideas of where to dine as well as provide the free limo service to get there and back. Towels, suntan lotion and snacks are all there for the taking and at no extra charge. See you next year Lucy!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 again this year called the Romantica. It is large and quiet and slightly seclud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Had a girls' weekend at the Hotel California, and we couldn't have been better taken care of. Lucy, Jay, and Larry made us feel so welcome, and they paid attention to all the details that made our trip so wonderful. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Just like the song says... You can NEVER leave! Or at least you will never want to! :) We originally booked only 2 nights but ended up staying for 4 because we were enjoying it so much. What we liked most was that it didn't feel like we were staying in a typical hotel. It felt more like home... like we rented a condo in a secluded area instead. It is family owned and operated and they are all super friendly. They have tons of complimentary newer movies you can borrow, a full sized guest kitchen that anyone can use, barbecues, and our favorite... Beach cruisers! We rode into town every night for dinner. But you can also hitch a free limo ride (plus gratuity). It's a very cozy and intimate environment because its a small hotel, so you will see guests frequently and sit close to them at the pool. But my hubby and I are pretty active and were out hiking and biking most of the time. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrived to cool drinks and a very warm welcome from Lucy, and it just got better from there. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Many free amenities like bikes, movies, use of a fully equipped kitchen, and 24/7 pool access made it feel like visiting close friends, not a hotel. The courtyard with its fountain, fireplace, pools, and greenery was a perfect setting for sharing quiet moments or meeting new friends. The only con was traffic noise in the late evenings, as the hotel was along a main road. On the plus side, the hotel was on the non-windy side of Palm Springs. The only thing that could have made the stay better is to have that old familiar Eagles song greet us at the gates. Otherwise the ambiance and our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarenU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I were first-time guests at Hotel California last week. There are not enough superlatives to describe this beautiful little boutique hotel, our expansive suite, the staff, the limo service or Lucy, the little dynamo who manages the hotel. Before our departure, we made reservations for next year to guarantee "our suite" will be available for more fun, relaxation and making more wonderful memories.

Room Tip: We loved our King Suite on the second floor. Very roomy with 2 bathrooms, large living room and lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_M193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We chose this place based on a great price (compared to other hotels in Palm Springs) and the positive reviews we saw online. It was even better than what we'd expected - lovely staff who greeted us with a smile and offered us cold drinks while we waited, unexpected free treats in our beautiful room, a cozy "Palm Springs" atmosphere with a small porch area outside our room, a firepit in the outside common area, misters keeping things cool near the clean (small) pool, and a huge selection of classic and new-release DVDs to choose from to bring back to our room. Great recommendation from staff to have breakfast at a retro-architecture, farm-to-table restaurant across the street called King's Canyon (I think, something like that). But it was fabulous. We'll stay again for sure!

Room Tip: We noticed a few rooms on a 2nd-level overlooking the pool that would have been fun to stay in. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,978 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
206 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $166 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing