We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it get any better??”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
1 review
“Could it get any better??”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Fantastic stay, very accommodating, and exceptional attention to detail. Upon late arrival we received flawless instructions and when we checked out at 4:30am we had a send off with coffee! There is always someone available who knows your name and every other guest on the property who is more than happy to help with questions, requests, or to visit with. Clean rooms, candles lit around the property at night, fruit, coffee and snacks, and the great limo service!!

Thank you Larry and all for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smdowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    91
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
173
999
53
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pretty relaxed place and the service was outstanding. Everyone from Jay, Mike, Lucy and Larry made our stay extremely pleasant. We had complimentary wine, champagne, water and sodas. Love the fact that you could grab stuff from the fridge and not worry about being charged an arm and a leg for it. I would highly recommend this place to anyone staying in the Palm Springs Area, if you are looking to relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a wonderful place to relax and enjoy a vacation. My husband and I justed loved the room and everything about this hotel. The location was great, not far from anything, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will make sure our family and friends know about this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shantlerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the Palm Springs of old that we remember---and love. Charming... intimate... friendly.... spacious rooms. So why did I not give it 5 stars. Only because it's a step below the luxury level (and price) that would get five stars.... and the pool area is a bit small. Frankly, we're fed up with the glitzy, modern, overpriced places.... with hundreds of people around a giant pool.... and will return to this one (or to its sister hotel next door, the Desert Riviera) next time we are in Palm Springs.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room and loved it. Very large. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank running0ut0ftime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Operated by family....and they make sure you feel like family. Lucy is wonderful, knows about and can help with anything in Palm Springs. (Try Jake's or Mirasol restaurants.) Snacks, soda and water graciously awaited in my room. Cool pool and hot tub to enjoy. Hotel provides limo service to airport; see photo for picture of Jay with Harley Davidson orange and black limo, exterior and interior. Small hotel, very quiet, reasonably priced, close to airport and to downtown strip. Simply...charming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here during our spring vacation. It was wonderful. From the moment we got here we felt like invited guests rather than just paying guests. They really do all the little things that make the experience wonderful. We enjoyed coffee poolside every morning. I think all of the staff feels like this is more than just a job for them. Making your stay fun and pleasant seems like their mission.
Should I ever vacation in Palm Springs again, it will be here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 798brianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

had a great time here. only spent two nights in palm springs but would have liked a much longer stay. can only confirm all the other write ups of this property that it is a very welcoming space and really how a hotel should be run. personally i enjoyed very much that we took a room on the second floor in the far back as it was the most private. traffic on the road could be a bit troublesome for the light sleeper and the AC is definitely noisey. it s just across the street from the other happening properties in town like the ace hotel.if i ever make it back to palm springs i would definitely return !

Room Tip: if you want a bit more privacy take the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thomasmarkerttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,888 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing