We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at the mini-resort hotel”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were greeted at the gate by Lucy who called us by name before we even stepped on to the property. She has hospitality down to an art. This was our first trip to Palm Springs and once we stepped inside we didn't want to leave. In fact we spent our first two days just relaxing in the pool and hot tub and hanging around the hotel. It was that nice! That was the warmest outdoor pool I have ever swam in - loved it! There are too many extras to list. The evening ambiance is so warm and inviting - candles, fire, outdoor lighting, fountain and greenery. We aren't really sure what all there is to do in Palm Springs because Hotel California is the kind of place 'you can never leave'.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plhBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I loved the Hotel California! Lucy is a charming host, and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome and cared for. I came down with a cold during my stay, and Lucy went to the store to purchase medicine for me, which was really sweet. We also had friends call to arrange a surprise champagne delivery for our anniversary. This is a boutique hotel that likely doesn't have nice champagne on hand, but Lucy was able to arrange for the delivery of a lovely bottle of Veuve Clicquot. It was a wonderful surprise! The hotel itself is beautifully landscaped and our room (room 3) was spacious, private, and just wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBeeMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

It''s not always the actual visit that makes the lasting impression. Ran into issues with the stay and they bent over backward to help out. This property is highly recommended and I'll go out of my way to let everyone know about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VegasSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Larry and his daughter, Lucy, made this visit easy, comfortable, and fun. The Hotel is quaint, clean, and accomodative...our room had a small kitchen, two televisions, couch...etc. Pool and hot tub were most pleasant. Hummingbirds were everywhere and indicative of the tempo we enjoyed.

Room Tip: We were in room 1...a two room suite closest to pool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medfordcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first trip to Palm Springs. I have never stayed anywhere with such incredible hospitality. Family feel with amazing attention to service. We had complimentary wine upon arrival. I've never even seen a Harley Davidson stretch limo much ridden in one! We simply felt attended to and that is an beautiful thing when you are on vacation.
Yes, we would totally go back when we find ourselves back in Palm Springs.
You have set a high bar for any other hotel we will ever stay at. Thanks for making our winter sun get away very memorable.

Room Tip: I think all of the 14 rooms are probably great. It is a lovely, quiet place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff and hotel are wonderful. Hotel is an absolute gem, but the staff make it even better. Larry is outstanding. The Harley Davidson stretch limo is a hoot!
Rooms were neat and clean. Perhaps a little more thought could go into the lighting (there really was seating and lighting for one person to read at night in the living area- but this was a very minor inconvenience).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I took a long weekend to get away and chose to stay two nights at the Hotel California in Palm Springs. We were greeted by the owner Larry. His hospitality started right then with offering us a glass of wine. We checked in, received a tour of the property, and took our room which was private, very clean, very comfortable, and relaxing. The pool was clean and water warm. All 14 units were booked, the clientele all very good. The bed and linens were top notch. Larry provided transportation for free each night in their hotel limosine. A very nice perk. We always judge our experiences with, "would I go back?" And, yes, we most definitely would. Ownership detail and feeling welcome, they have it down perfect here.

Room Tip: Room 12, our room, was upstairs and probably the most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,978 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
206 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
373 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $151 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing