We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$244
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$199
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$220
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saguaro Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$226
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Villa Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$179
Autograph
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Desert Isle of Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$354
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willows(Palm Springs)
$385
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,649)
Filter reviews
1,649 results
Traveler rating
1,542
95
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,542
95
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunity kitchenpink champagnelucy and jaycommon kitchenshared kitchenguest kitchenhot tubdvd libraryfree snacksfully stocked kitchenbbq areatour of the propertyfeel like familyfire pitfresh fruithome away from homeother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,235 - 1,240 of 1,649 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We read tripadvisor reviews and we made a reservation through Internet. Gentle and prompt reply. This small hotel offers you a family environment with heathed pool (in season), bikes, snacks, 24h kitchen, free phone calls and everything you may need. We are very happy of our choice that we will make again if we may return in PS.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danigraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

First of all we have to say, the hotel manager, Lucy, is just about the friendliest person we've ever met! She was very helpful and resourceful, gave us a map of Palm Springs and marked places on it that we might like to check out. She showed us all around the common room (TV, games, local menus, beautiful chess table, tons of DVDs to borrow, etc.), the guest kitchen, and pointed out the cute beach cruisers parked by the gate for our use.

The pool is heated and there is a jacuzzi. Hotel California was abuzz with a community feel....I wanted to relax and do absolutely nothing so I spent a lot of time in our room watching movies and away from the other guests. :-) But everyone was very friendly and each night they loved sitting around the fire pit with wine/champagne or by day lounging in the sun on the pool chairs.

Our room was clean, I loved the Spanish tile on the floor. We had a small kitchenette equipped with dishes, utensils, a coffeepot, small refrigerator and microwave. It was like a small apartment with a separate bedroom and living room area so it had 2 bathrooms with showers and 2 TVs. The bathrooms were a little dated but clean.

They offer a free limo service to wherever you need to go. We didn't use it, but what a great idea!!! To get to downtown Palm Springs you'll want to drive instead of walk.

We really liked Hotel California, it felt like a little home away from home. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HollisterDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I echo everything that all the other reviewers have said. All those nice extra touches. Food fruit coffee etc.... Great staff. Just don't expect early housekeeping. Charming place to stay. Highly recommended..check in and you'll never leave

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kimdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Small hotel with great rooms and outstanding service. As soon as we arrived, the staff was more than willing to show us around and provide information on how to spend our one night in PS. Pool and hot tub are open 24/7. Room was spacious, clean and there were complimentary snacks and drinks. It takes around 15min walk to downtown, but you get the chance to enjoy the ambience. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Efthymia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel California is exactly what my wife, Mary Jo and I were looking for and have grown to expect from this family owned hotel. We really like the fact there are only 14 or so rooms so it's never crowded. There sister hotel, Desert Riveria (also a small wonderful place) is just a block away and both are perfect if you want to get away from the "chain" hotels and feel very welcome. We have stayed at both hotels. Daughter Lucy, the GM at Hotel California was awesome. Dad Larry was around and always enjoyable to talk with. Charming, quiet, relaxing, friendly and a little sexy with the many small lights around the warm pool, hot spa and open areas. Great common room with daily coffee, fresh fruit, newspaper and goodies (all free by the way). Great touch. Keep up the great work at both hotels! Our stay could not have been better. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews