We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel in Palm Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Council Bluffs, IA
2 reviews
“Great hotel in Palm Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I found this hotel through reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We were lucky enough to get a room just a week ahead of arriving. It is a great place to stay in Palm Springs! The pool area was a wonderful oasis in the desert with abundant greenery, misters and hummingbirds flying around.. The pool was very inviting. The whole property was clean and well maintained. Lucy was very accomodating and friendly. She gave us a great suggestion for supper. We would love to return and spend more time in the future. It is a wonderful place to escape to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    84
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
155
896
47
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The week before we arrived at Hotel California we e-mailed Lucy and asked her for a recommendation of where in Palm Springs we could watch a Big Ten football game on TV the first day we arrived. Lucy called all over the area trying to find a place for us and finally found a bar/restaurant that carried the game. This is just an example of the outstanding customer service that was provided for us duing the week we stayed at this hotel.
When we checked in we were offered a complimentary beverage and given a tour of the property and our "room". We stayed in La Casita, which is more of an apartment than a room and we loved it. La Casita has a living room, kitchen, wet bar, bedroom and two bathrooms. It also has a private patio with a gas grill, table and chairs. We had breakfast on the patio every morning and cocktails in the evening.
The property is lovely with a nice pool in the center courtyard, which is surrounded by trees and flowers. We loved the music at the pool - what a flash back! And we loved the serenity in the pool area as well - very relaxing.
The complimentary limo service is not overbilled. We had Jay drive us to dinner two nights. His restaurant recommendations were right on. Other nights we could walk to nearby restaurants.
For exercise we found some awesome hiking trails at nearby Palm Canyon/Indian Canyon.
Lucy allowed us to use the hotel laundry to do our laundry. Larry was there on Lucy's day off to make sure we had everything we needed. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would gladly return anytime we can to this hotel. No wonder it's rated #1 on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: All the rooms had access to the central courtyard/pool area. The guest kitchen is fully stocked wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is currently the top-rated hotel in Palm Springs. An extended family runs it and they really do go out of their way to make sure you're take taken care of and for that I'd give them 5 stars. However, the property is probably a 2 or 3 star property so I find it difficult to award it five stars.

There is no gym here and for someone that needs to work out as part of their daily sanity routine, that's a pity. A second issue is that the hotel is not really in the downtown area per se. You need to walk probably a mile to really get downtown. Another minor complaint I have (which I have with many hotels) is that the beside lamps only have one 60W fluorescent equiv bulb so reading at night is more of a chore than a pleasure.

All in all though, these folks make the most out of the property they have. The cleaning staff actually seems happy and I would definitely return here if I can't find a hotel with a gym at a reasonable price next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After doing some extensive research looking for accommodation in Palm Springs for our family of five, including a 5, 7 & 10 year old and please note this is not a negative reflection on what looks to be a wonderful property. However its interesting to note that whilst this hotel comes up as number 1 on Trip Advisor for a 'family' hotel, their website quotes ''ABOUT OUR GUEST ROOMS & GROUNDS: We pride ourselves in making this a quiet, romantic, adult getaway! Please help us keep it that way:
No Young Children''

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
29 Thank KingKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I put inverted commas round the word because this place feels more like coming home than staying at a hotel.

My wife and I arrived after a long and hot drive from Santa Monica, negotiating Hollywood and LA on the way and were met warmly by Lucy on arrival who addressed us by our first names (which was a nice touch) and offered cold drinks and a cool office to chat in which was very welcome.

From that moment on, NOTHING was too much trouble. We could use ALL the facilities (even the laundry room, lounge area and communal kitchen) without worries about mini-bar costs or stuff being added to the bill at the end. It was all included. Bottled water to take on trips with us, welcome pack in the room, beers offered to me while I was in the pool and had just finished my can. There was even a free limo service (apart from a tip for the driver, Jay) which we used once, taking us to a restaurant at the other end of town.

On the way to our room (which had been pre-airconditioned in lieu of our arrival) one of the other guests sitting round the pool simply said "welcome to paradise" before returning to his cold drink and book. After two nights here (which we both wished had been more) we could see what he meant.

It's like they've thought to themselves "let's forget trying to screw a buck out of people here and there - let's just shape everything around the guest to make their stay the most comfortable imaginable" and boy do they succeed there! Someone has seriously done their homework on customer service and guest satisfaction. My only complaint about the place was the fact we had to leave.

The rooms are not massive or particularly plush. More compact and comfortable. But in a place like this, who wants to spend time in their room?

Quite simply, six star service in what is essentially a small B&B! How anyone has awarded them anything less than top marks on TA is a mystery to me. A lot of hotels (particularly in the UK) could do well to look to the Hotel California to see how it SHOULD be done.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 on the upper floor. While all the rooms are well located, no one has to walk p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentish-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braeside, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were excited to visit this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we were greeted by name by Lucy the hotel manager, we felt like we were visiting old friends or family. After a hot and frustrating day Lucy offerred us a cold beer/glass of wine and we immediately relaxed. She then gave us a personal tour of the hotel including a family room stocked with DVD's games and books, and an amazing kitchen fully stocked with dishes and all amenities to cook a full meal, including 2 gas BBQ's.
We were warmly greeted by other guests who were enjoying the beautiful pool/hot-tub. Our room was lovely, and included a fridge stocked with water and soda and a basket full of complimentary snacks.
We went out for dinner and when we came home the whole area was lit with Tiki torches and each room had a candle lit on the patio table....what a lovely touch! We spent a whole afternoon lounging by the pool, listening to classic rock and because we didn't want to leave, bought some food and had a romantic poolside dinner.
When we left Lucy gave us both a hug and told us to come again....we live far away but if we are ever in the area we will be sure to come back to this little oasisi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We can honestly say that Lucy gave us the best welcome that we have ever had when checking into a hotel. The hotel California really is such a lovely place and has all those special touches. If ever we visit Palm Springs again we will not hesitate to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennybambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing