We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the arrival cold drink to the little basket of treats to the sparkling wine they left iced for us (my husband's birthday) - and their spot on suggestions for dinner, the staff was excellent. The misted pool area even had suntan lotion, should you have forgotten - this place was a small gem. It was quiet, clean, bed was comfortable and shower hot, and there was a room with coffee and fresh fruit available in the AM. There were even bikes available should you want to take a trip.
Only item we weren't real fond of was the sliding glass door with the vertical blinds. Felt like we had to keep the dark plastic blinds closed for privacy (the door was right against a small sitting area outside, close to the coffee room) but it took away so much of the outside ambiance and light.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Hotel California.The staff was fabulous and Lucy was a Gem.......We would stay there again in a heart beat. So relaxing,easy to find,within walking distance of restaurants.The wonderful little pool and court yard was so peaceful. Having a kitchen with gas grills for patrons use was amazing. Have told all my friends about the wonderful time we had and recommend this hotel to everyone.We strongly suggest you change nothing.............Hope to see you soon Cindy and Richard

Room Tip: We had the King studio with patio closer to the street side. It depends on what you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed in all classes of accommodation from the World's Grand Hyatt's to YMCA Hostels and I have not found one to match the courtesy and service of this modest sized non-chain hotel in Palm Springs.

There is a cosy private feel to the rooms-wrapped pool area. The room are well sized, and clean and tidy.

Internet is free. This is always the critical starting point for me (Don't you hate they way that some hotels gouge you as if the internet was something that sat inside a bar fridge?).

But the attitude to internet use is just one example of a whole philosophy of providing a rounded complimentary service. Snacks are free. There is a good DVD library. You're heading out to Joshua Tree? Here is some iced water for your trip. O, and some binoculars.

Its possible, I guess, that one could get a little closer to the heart of downtown Palm Springs.

DON'T.

If downtown was 50 kilometres away this would STILL be the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs suite if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcveity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel California after traveling from San Francisco via Yosemite, Las Vegas, The Grand Canyon, Meteor Crater and Phoenix. We started our trip at a lovely boutique hotel outside San Francisco but had stayed in chain hotels and the New York, New York in Las Vegas. All of these offered a more than acceptable standard of accommodation and customer service but the Hotel California just showed what a bland, plastic experience these places are compared to the genuine warmth of the welcome afforded us after a long drive from Phoenix. We we're greeted by Lucy, who knew all the names of our party, she offerd us cold drinks as we booked in and took us on a brief tour of the compact but characterful premises as she took us to our rooms. I had previously emailed asking for recomendations for a good restaurant as it was my wife's birthday during our stay, on going into our room we found a bottle of sparkling wine on ice was waiting for us. Further when we booked the Trio restaurant (also highly recommendable) Lucy phoned them and told them of the occaision and my wife was presented with a small birthday cake complete with candle! Larry, one of the owners, is a real character and full of fun and wisecracks, t rest of the staff are helpful, solicitous and approachable. The facilities are superb, from the full kitchen with fully stocked fridge and BBQ area available for guests use to the small but lovely pool and spa. The communal seating area has a nice gas fire pit for cooler evenings and the constant presence of humming birds is entrancing. The rooms are simple but rustically stylish with a real western feel about them, each has a small kitchenette with sink, microwave and fridge stocked with water and soft drinks and small semi private seating area outside. We intended our stay as a break on a long tour but found both Palm Springs and the hotel so appealing we plan to return and spend a full holiday there as soon as we can.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Teardrop1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Hotel California was a lovely place to stay. They have thought of everything from misters by the pool to make-up remover in the rooms. The staff is excellent and accommodating! It was a great Palm Springs experience and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a little gem! The staff was absolutely the friendliest and most helpful of any hotel we've ever stayed. Perfect location for getting into town and far enough that you aren't affected by the Saturday night crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Mark and Kaye (30th wedding anniversary)

Only stayed for 1 night - we wish it could have been a week!!! The room was perfect, spotlessly clean and tidy and beautifully decorated - the kitchen area was great - we had breakfast in bed, the pool looked fantastic and the water misters round the pool turned it into a magical early morning paradise. If you want your own slice of paradise book the Hotel California - it's faultless

Room Tip: the web site is very accurate but email for advise - everyone at the Hotel California is so helpfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,983 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
750 reviews
1.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 75 in Palm Springs
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
211 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $144 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing