We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Monroe Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$184
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parker Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
$359
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$190
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Saguaro Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$236
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$125
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colony Palms Hotel(Palm Springs)
$269
$247
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,651)
Filter reviews
1,651 results
Traveler rating
1,544
95
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,544
95
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunity kitchenpink champagnelucy and jaycommon kitchenshared kitchenguest kitchenhot tubdvd libraryfree snacksfully stocked kitchenbbq areatour of the propertyfeel like familyfire pitfresh fruithome away from homeother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 1,651 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Mark and Kaye (30th wedding anniversary)

Only stayed for 1 night - we wish it could have been a week!!! The room was perfect, spotlessly clean and tidy and beautifully decorated - the kitchen area was great - we had breakfast in bed, the pool looked fantastic and the water misters round the pool turned it into a magical early morning paradise. If you want your own slice of paradise book the Hotel California - it's faultless

Room Tip: the web site is very accurate but email for advise - everyone at the Hotel California is so helpfull
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We planned a Palm Springs getaway and wanted a no hassle place to stay that would be relaxing without being pretentious. We like to cook in too, so needed to have a kitchen. Hotel California certainly fit the bill. We stayed in the Romantica room and we enjoyed the big bathroom and privacy, as compared to other rooms. Jay, Lucy, Mike and Larry are all very hospitable hosts. These people all really enjoy offering hospitality and it shows. I'm not a fan of some of the 'over the top' type of customer service that seems to be completely artificial, so I really enjoyed the authenticity of this experience. The bikes were very convenient to the grocery store down the road, and allowed us to do a bit of exploring as well.

Room Tip: The Romantic is very private and has nice big bathroom --it's right beside the hot tub. The king size bed is comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller1561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Larry and his wife are charming and welcomed us to show us the whole hotel. The room was clean and a small kitchen was included. We enjoyed our little terrace to the pool. The use of the kitchen is included, so you can perfectly cook a whole dinner meal, although palm springs has great restaurants. If you go to Ralphs, they give you a discount.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViennaGuanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were only able to stay here for one of the three nights planned in Palm Springs but will book this place for the whole vacation next time. We were on motorcycles and had no reservations anywhere and found Hotel California on TripAdvisor. On a whim, we thought "meh, lets give it a try"
Oh my, what an experience! The gentleman who took the reservation on the phone sounded very hospitable and quite a character. He goes by the name of Jay, and made our stay just fantastic! The next day, KC checked us in and gave us a tour of all the Hotel encompasses. So much more than a regular hotel! He even included a list of good places to dine and their locations! After indicating we would have to check out tomorrow although staying in Palm Springs, KC proceeded to offer to help us find lodging in town!!
We enjoyed the pool and the hot-tub, and had our supper out on the terrace which was complete with little tea-light candles and tikki-torches! Still dark enough though to enjoy the stars and distant air traffic going by.
Next am, on one of my many trips to the guest kitchen for more coffee (even though there is room coffee) I couldn't help but visit with the other guests as they sat under the garden trellis and watched the many playful hummingbirds flit about. So much greenery!! It made me think of the English gardens i've read about.
This am, we met Jay and Lucy. They are amazing and instantly made us feel like family. We have never ever experienced such accomodating and kind people. Instant friends. Upon inquiring for a nearby carwash (for our filthy motorcycles) we were promptly set up with a bucket, hose, rags, towels and cool drinks! ( even though it was well past check-out time) Wow! Have you ever heard of such exceptional generosity?!?
Check out is eleven and check in at the next place was three pm, but they welcomed us to keep our gear in the tv/lounge area and "hang out" until whenever!! I didnt want to leave,.....ever!
We stayed in room #8 and loved it. Big, spacious, private. Even had wine bottle opener, paring knife, and a cutting board in the room. This together with a small fridge and glass tumblers perfectly sized for a beer made our day.
Please listen to wise counsel and stay here. It will be the highlight of your trip. In fact, you should stay here even if you live in Palm Springs!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked this hotel off Trip Advisor reviews...and we loved it from the moment Lucy greeted us at the door until we sadly had to leave!! It was 2 days of heaven...the pool was wonderful...loved our room...the ambience of the hotel is second to none! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivergav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews