We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A hidden gem!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the moment we booked the Hotel Califormia as part of our honeymoon trip, we knew it would be somewhere special!! When we arrived, we were greeted with a friendly smile from Lucy, who did everything she could to make sure we felt welcome and well looked after. Pure bliss and definitely an excellent place to chill and relax, we were given complimetary drinks on arrival and shown around the hotel before being taken to our room. The relaxed atmosphere is something u will never experience anywhere else, a lovely pool and jacuzzi, and BBQ area that guests are able to use. The mini bar in the room is full of complimentary snacks and drinks, and there is a guest kitchen which all guests have access to including fresh fruit, and tea and coffee. Our only regret is we didn't stay there longer, we will definitely be visiting again in the not too distant future!! Thanks for making our honeymoon stay special, they upgraded us to the Romantica, had a bottle of pink champagne waiting for us on arrival, and we could check out as late as we wanted! Simply amazing!!

Room Tip: The Romantica room is definitely worth the slight additional cost, one word, amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicgriff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    88
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
164
928
48
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room was lovely, spacious and spotlessly clean, with very efficient air conditioning. This was essential, as the temperature high was 116 degrees!
When we arrived we were offered a cold drink before anything else. Lucy was very friendly and helpful. What we really appreciated were all the little extras provided for the convenience of guests – the kitchen area, the lounge with books and dvds to borrow, etc.
The grounds of the hotel were very attractive. Our regret is that, for us, it was just too hot to sit outside when we weren’t out sightseeing. It is unlikely we will return to Palm Springs but ,for me, Hotel California has set a standard against which other hotels will be measured in future.

Room Tip: We had room 9, which was lovely. It was on the second floor, reached by an outside staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! I can't say enough about the hotel and the service. Lucy goes above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one. We will definitely be back next year but for longer. Two nights were definitely not enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you'll be visiting Palm Springs or the surrounding area anytime soon, this is the place to stay. I stayed here for 4 nights with my teenagers recently during a college-visit trip. Hotel California is well-located in Palm Springs itself, close to downtown and many other amenities. Even so, once you are inside the gates you feel as if you are in a quiet, mini-oasis. We also ventured to Claremont, Redlands, and Los Angeles to see different colleges and these cities are all very drivable for a day-trip. This is a great hotel and the hospitality of the staff is unmatched.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a full kitchen if you like to do some of your own cooking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmae880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The warmest reception I have received in a hotel for a very long time. Lucy checked us in and gave us a tour of the hotel with a welcome glass of chilled white wine. We spent three great nights here and all the positive endorsements you read about on Tripadvisor are true. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidrgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I always take a little trip to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This year we happened on the "Hotel California" website and based on the reviews thought we'd try it out. We stayed for 3 incredible nights and I can't tell you how welcoming the ENTIRE staff was and how peaceful and charming the hotel is. We wanted to spend a few days relaxing and we did. I doubt you will find very many hotels who provide complimentary wine, soda, water, and a wide variety of snacks during your stay. The grounds are beautiful and full of lush greenery that added to the charm and ambiance of the hotel. Even though the hotel is situated on a busy street, once you are on the property, you feel nestled and cocooned in a quiet sanctuary. We will definitely stay there again! Paula & Francisco, Spring Valley, Ca.

Room Tip: The "King Romantica" is perfect for one couple. The room faces the patio/jacuzzi area but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you have a chance to stay at The Hotel California, be sure take an extra pair of socks with you. Not for the weather, which is typically Palm Springs post card perfect, but because both the property and the people who run it will plain blow your first pair off.
We have stayed there twice this year [once February, once August] and both experiences go down as some of our favorites, anytime, any place.
'The California' is a family owned and 'hands on' run establishment with Larry [the medium hilarious Dom], Lucy, or Jay at the helm, all more personable, attententive and accomodating than you can possibly imagine. You most likely will have made a new friend before you depart.
As for the facility itself, think intimate California adobe courtyard, lush with tropical foliage, humming birds humming along everywhere. The rooms are simple, modern, spanking clean, with great beds-think 300 count sheets but no hype- and with lots of personal touches.
Go, go out of your way if you must. But go. We will be back just as soon as we can think of half a reason to go.

Room Tip: I don't think that you can go wrong. Ring'em up if you have any special concerns or needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#4 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#3 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing