We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can one ask for!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel California for 4 nights which was not enough. The attention to detail by the owners/staff, along with the peace, quiet and relaxing atmosphere just made our vacation. We stayed in Room 9 and loved it. Lucy gave us a lovely welcoming reception after a long drive from LA due to traffic. It is clean, friendly and the extras include basket of goodies in your room, free Limo ride into town if required, use of a computer and free calls if required and so much more. My husband and I also looked at their sister hotel and liked the look of that also, so the question now is not if we will return, because we will for sure but were to stay! Larry, Lucy and Jay thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was on the second floor (no elevator) and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,271 - 1,277 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

I really cannot praise this hotel enough. From the moment we arrived, hot from a long car journey we were made to feel special. The welcome we received from Jay and Larry was second to none and we felt so comfortable there. Our accomodation was superb, and the staff could not have done more for us, including arranging accomodation and airport transfer for our friends Jeff & Tasha who flew out to surprise us. The facilities are amazing including fully stocked kitchen, use of BBQ, DVD and book library, bikes and limousine service. The pool and hot tub are wonderful and the misters surrounding them were very welcome in the desert heat. Lucy went above and beyond what one would expect from a hotel, to make our stay extra special. You made my birthday one that I will always remember. I hope that we will be able to return to the best and most comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in!

Pat & Harry, London, England

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I have visited Hotel California for a couple of years now. We love the decor, the set up with the trees, plants around the pool, the seating outside under the shade for a quiet evening with a glass of wine that they supply. The rooms are so cute and overlook the mountains and the owners are so involved with their customers and make sure we are comfortable. I even got a ride in their vintage limo which is available to those who prefer not to drive to the resturants on the main strip. My husband and I recommend Hotel California that is for adults only.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side upstairs were our favorite views overlooking the pool and with your own litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a marvelous time while in Palm Springs at the Hotel California.
Everyone was very gracious and friendly.
It is a wonderful relaxing retreat in a clean and beautiful environment.
The decor is lovely throughout.
The hotel staff outdid themselves!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparkoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Quiet is the key here. Everyone is respectful of others.A small healthy and refreshing champagne breakfast would be a must have here to encourage folks to and staff to interact more. And a delight to your awakening in the morning. It is small but beautiful. If you don't mind the close proximity of others at a pool environment then you 're OK. The rooms are cozy,quiet, clean and comfortable. We loved the staff and will return.

Room Tip: Our room was , "open door, step 5 feet, you're in the pool !"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chimommurrieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Hotel California is a warm and welcome retreat. The rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped, the pool area quiet and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble and we could not have been made to feel more welcome. It was so good we stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: We stayed in the ground flor pool side room - king bed. Lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsCraddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We couldn't believe how gorgeous this hotel is and how friendly and helpful the staff are. The rooms are all so beautifully furnished and decorated and the pool area is so relaxing with trees and plants all around, plenty of sun loungers and always a fresh supply of towels. We had a large pool side room with king bed, 2 bathrooms, small kitchen area, dining table and chairs and plenty of storage - all lovely and clean. Although breakfast isn't offered, there is a supply of fresh fruit and coffee and you have full use of a spacious well stocked kitchen and/or barbecue to prepare whatever you wish. Larry and Jay were our hosts for the 3 days we were there and couldn't do enough for us, always offering cold drinks and giving us tips for eating out and driving around. There are lots of great shops and restaurants just a short drive away as well as a grocery store if you want to shop and eat in. I could go on and on raving about this lovely hotel but just read the other reviews and you will know that it really is a great place to visit and we hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 74 in Palm Springs
726 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $155 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing