We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the Hotel California!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Hotel California!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

What can I say, we were welcomed with a smile, a drink, and a tour of the facility making us feel like long lost family that came over. My fiance and I were very happy with the services and facility. The rooms and beds were high quality Dining was a new experience being driven to and from in a private limousine. We left knowing we have made friends. This is like no other Motel Ive stayed in, here or at home in Australia.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, they have an intimate couples room and also ones to cater for your family. They all face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin300762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    84
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
153
887
47
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Best hotel ever! Warmly greeted upon arrival and treated like family until my departure! They have everything and were always surprising us with more! The common areas were just like home! My favorite room was the library- recent DVDs, books, magazines, chess table, games, fire place and tv. The pool area is so relaxing we chose to spend most the day there. The limo is so convenient and reliable! Larry, Lucy, Jay, Mike, and Patty do the best job at making everyone feel like they're at a luxury resort, or right at home! I've already booked my next trip back! Don't wait to book your stay- they rarely have availability!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConchGirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

me and my friend stayed at the hotel california.
we arrived in the night and it looked so beautiful, candles everywhere around the pool.
the garden is very nice and we enjoyed the day there. you can also take bikes and ride within 10 minutes into the "city".
in the evening they even have a limo service for free. they will bring you into town and pick you up until 10pm.
we really enjoyed our stay there and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just got back from three perfect nights/days at Hotel California. It was perfect from the minute we walked in off the street until we left. Our hosts made sure that our stay was comfortable. From the lovely room to the immaculately kept grounds and pool, it was every bit the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Room number 12 has a lovely,private area to sit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMaree1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The service at Hotel California is impeccable! Lucy does everything in her power to make your stay satisfying. She had good restaurant recommendations and made sure we had supplies we needed. The room and grounds are kept pristine, and we were happy to make use of the beach cruiser bikes--I recommend riding over to the nearby Twin Palms neighborhood to look at the oh-so-cool Alexander homes there. We stayed in the Casita and appreciated having so much space and our own entrance. The one drawback is that this room option is on the ground floor, and you can hear people tromping above.

Based on the glowing Trip Advisor reviews, I expected to flip for this place, but we had some frustration over the poor sound-proofing. Although our room wasn't directly on the road, we could hear motorcycles and sports cars zooming by late at night and early in the AM. Better windows/glass doors could definitely reduce this annoyance. Even more intrusive was the plumbing noise--the sounds of running showers and flushing toilets were very loud in our room, and they went on for hours, for some weird reason. We've stayed in hundreds of hotels all over the world, and this water noise seemed atypical.

This hotel is way to the south of downtown, so it's not really possible to stroll to where the action is. They do have a limo that will give you rides to dinner, but we chose to drive ourselves for more flexibility.

All in all, this is a well-maintained, high service accommodation. In all honesty, though, despite its charms, I regret not staying at one of the classic mid-century modern properties in town (which include the Desert Riviera, the sister property to Hotel California). These seem to better capture the high style essence of Palm Springs.

Room Tip: Try an upstairs unit as far from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marginwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It's not often that something exceeds your expectations, but the Hotel California did just that. We initially read the Trip Advisor reviews and thought they were to good to be true! But Hotel California was wonderful, it totally lived up to the reviews and more. It is beautiful, welcoming,comfortable, clean and gives you a sense of being part of a small community. The staff are all great and make you feel like you belong from the second you walk through the gates. No, they aren't a giant chain, YEAH!!! They are so much better, especially if you like the idea of being treated like a person and not a number! We can't wait to go back. Thank you to all the staff for making out holiday so great!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 by the back gate, you could hear people coming and going sometimes. It wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathPEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

What. Great place. Palm spr gs is delightful and this hotel is lovely. The rooms are great and beds very comfy, lovely pool area and hot tub and the owners make you so welcome. They also provide a limo service both ways in the evening to take you the hortvdistance to town. If you are coming to palm springs,stay here. It's a gem of a boutique hotel. The hotel does not hv a fitness centre or rest aunt.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chumley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#2 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#10 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing