We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful Stay at Hotel California” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel California
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“Wonderful Stay at Hotel California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We really enjoyed the cozy property, Lucy, our room at the end of 2011! The property location was just perfect for us. Away from downtown with easy access to the entire valley.

Enjoyed the cozy relaxing atmosphere with a tropical setting. The outdoor pool was very enjoyable - 91 degrees. The outdoor hot tub was well appreciated. There were many amenities to use - especially a real limo that took us to and from the Follies.

Lucy is a wonderful and very pleasant hostess. Recommend that you take advantage of this family owned property!!! A very great value!!!

Room Tip: All good rooms that cater to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    84
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
160
905
47
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just spent a week here with my folks. I am a big fan of supporting family owned and operated businesses. The Hotel California is charming, intimate and relaxing. Lucy, the daughter of the owners runs the day to day on the property and does so unobtrusively and efficiently. They make you feel at home while also feeling like you are on vacation. The best of all worlds in my book. If you are looking for a quiet unassuming yet elegant get away this is the place. It is clean quiet, beautifully maintained and landscaped, the pool is gorgeous and the feeling is relaxed. If I had one criticism it would be that we booked our vacation based on certain policies which they recently changed due to one lousy review they had from a woman vacationing from England. Firstly, whoever this woman was that gave this lovely little spot a bad review: shame on her. Second: Lucy, if you have thirteen people who are enamored of your establishment and plan to return I would weigh their input more heavily than one sour puss who would most likely have something bad to say about any place they stayed regardless of how charming and accommodating the establishment was. Overall, I would love to return and would / have recommended "The Hotel California" to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing getaway that will make you feel like you are in your own private villa.

Room Tip: This is a small quiet boutique Hotel. If you are looking to 'party' go else where. if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

For the holidays we wanted to spilt our Palm Springs vacation at the sister property and our first stay at Hotel California. Judy suggested the lovely private Romantica Suite which could easily accommodate my partner (who has mobility issues). We really loved the property and wanted to stay longer. In our opinion, the cozy, exposed-beam Romantica is better suited to a short stay couple who mostly ate out, packed light and were home late (and could quietly slip into the jacuzzi). By great fortune the split level townhouse was open and we asked if we could try it out. Although the townhouse has stairs to the bedroom which my partner had to navigate, we LOVED the upper sun deck, the two bathrooms, two flatscreens and large kitchen. We had a small supper party at the townhouse (without disturbing guests who did not attend) and prepared a chili dinner winter solstice party under the rubber tree by the firepit. Guests from the sister property were invited to attend and we had a ball. We decided to stay longer, which meant less time at the sister property. The request was honored hassle-free. The same limo service is offered at both properties and every time we required the service, it was available on time every time.
On another note, it appeared the bathroom amenties were a tad thin (one bar or soap, no shower/bath gel) unlike the sister property. Lucy explained why and without my request, we were generously supplied with products for the remainder of our stay.
They have done it again! Patty, Larry, Judy and Lucy deliver a fantastic experience! The challenge now is to figure out which of the two properties we will stay at the next time we go to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Notam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

the people running and working at this hotel are the loveliest i've ever come across in my travels--it was a great stay and we felt pampered and well taken care of by everyone!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Five star treatment with family values. Larry and Lucy treated us like royalty. My wife had booked Hotel California for my birthday on December 10-11 and there was no other place that I'd rather be. First class hospitality, great staff, perfect amenities, heated pool, tranquil ambiance and complimentary limo service. Nice. check out my rendition.
"On a dark palm desert highway, cool wind in my hair
Warm smell of margaritas, rising up through the air
Up ahead in the distance, I saw a shimmering light
My head grew heavy and my sight grew dim
We had to stop for the night
There Lucy stood in the doorway;
I heard the mission bell
And I was thinking to myself,
�this could be heaven never be hell�
Then she opened an iced cold beer and she showed us the way
There were voices down the corridor,
I thought I heard them say...

Welcome to the hotel california
Such a lovely place
Such a lovely face
Plenty of room at the hotel california
Any time of year, you can find it here"
Hbomb and Shivs-Ventura CA

Room Tip: A room upstairs adds more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeAreSC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

My friend and I stayed at The Hotel California in early December. We went to Palm Springs for a much anticipated ladies' spa retreat. We were met at the airport by the wonderful Jay and whisked off to the the hotel in the limo. The Hotel California is a charming place - Spanish style architecture with a modern twist. The gated walls conceal a lovely garden area, complete with swimming pool, hot tub, fountains, and plenty of seating. We were warmly greeted and shown to our room.

We stayed in Room 11, overlooking the pool area. It was a clean, comfortable environment. Clearly, the owners thought of their guests' needs. We had a nice little snack basket, coffee and beverages. The little kitchen area was perfect for our needs. The beds were fabulous and the linens are superb! Really great sheets! Yum!

Larry, Lucy, and Jay could not have been more warm and inviting. These are ~really~ nice people. Everyone is very down to earth and relaxed. They clearly love what they do. It's very refreshing!

I plan to go back with my husband so he can see what we were raving about! Yes, it's that good!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 - great choice - overlooks the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaindweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was looking for a nice place to do a weekend retreat and a friend recommended the sister property, the Desert Riveria Hotel. The Desert Riveria had no vacancy and I made a reservation at the Hotel California. What a great decision!

Upon my arrival I was set at ease with the tranquility of the grounds. The ambient night lighting combined with comforting music immediately put me into relaxation mode. As I walked towards the office, I appreciated the cleanliness of the walkways and took note they were free of both landscape debris and clutter.

I was already quite satisfied with my choice based on the hotel’s grounds and the hotel became more inviting upon meeting the hotel’s hostess, Lucy. Upon walking into her office, she offered a warm and kind greeting. Before she requested payment, she offered me a drink which really made me feel that the hotel and their staff were more interested in getting me comfortable and feeling welcome than just taking my money.

Lucy gave me a tour of the grounds and noted the available amenities (too many to list). I was particularly excited about the warm pool, the hot tub and fire circle. Lucy showed me to my room and reminded me to let her know if I needed anything while I was staying (Incidentally I did take her recommendations on dining and local activities. Perfect choices!).

The room was spotless and the temperature inside (preset to warm up by staff) was perfect given the outside temperature. The room’s ambiance made for a relaxing stay. Although I could have been quite content inside of the room during my entire visit, I ventured out to enjoy the hotel’s comforts while meeting some of their friendly “regular” guests and staff. Overall, this proved to be a great choice for a weekend retreat. I would recommend the Hotel California to any of my family or friends and I eagerly await my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewifuerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#4 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Giuliano Hotel
San Giuliano Hotel
#5 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#8 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#3 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 424 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palm Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush romantic grounds with surrounding Old California Spanish charm. Newly renovated with attention to every detail. Sister property to the #1 TripAdvisor rated Desert Riviera Hotel.. just up the street. Join us in the SUN! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Palm Springs
California Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing