We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful family get away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio, United States
1 review
“wonderful family get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

my entire family and i traveled to palm springs for the first time this spring break. we were celebrating the marriage of my parents and my husbands parents - 90 years of marriage together! this place is amazing! perfect location, less than 10 minutes from downtown palm springs and anything you could want (grocery, shops, restaurants, etc). we did travel 25-30 minutes away for a few sites and shopping, but it was no big deal at all. the rooms are dated but they are super charming and have everything you need. we had all the amenities we could need - even enough to cook out on the grille and have a great family gathering. this place is family and dog friendly, except for other guests who do not like kids (maybe they should go to an "adults only" place???). the owners and staff are fantastic - the only negative is that some of the visitors are not keen on kids and make it known - that is truly my only complaint. they even let me use their laundry room at no charge! the rooms and grounds are spacious and the pool is perfect (heated and gets plenty of sun). most relaxing trip ever!

Room Tip: we stayed in the 2 bedroom bungalo which is like a small house - plenty of room for our family of 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    39
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
88
169
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Have been going to A Place in the Sun for a number of years, and each time it feels like home away from home. The garden hotel is retro style with modern conveniences that all blend together wonderfully. Hosts Ron and Norma and staff take such good care of their guests. My studio with outside patio was roomy and well-designed with kitchen, bedroom, and bath. I always look forward to coming back for another stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kchappytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at Place in the Sun 35 years ago, before the current owners. What a difference! Flowers & hummingbirds abound, very clean little units with everything you need. Nice walled in patio with grass for our dog, walking trails just outside the back gate. Owners & staff very amiable. Great experience.

Room Tip: We were placed in #3, very nice location. A notation that the mattress in this unit is very firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were in town so my husband could do his traditional 100 mile ride in the Tour de Palm Springs!! Several of his cycling friends met us at the hotel in the morning and took off from there. I did my usual "get a movie from the front office" and watched it at my leisure while staying warm and toasty in unit #2, the Large Studio.

There was the traditional weekend breakfast served under the Gazebo by the pool......it was delicious (as usual) and just the right amount of food for me!! If you prefer a big breakfast of Bacon, Eggs, etc. and don't wish to do your own cooking, there are several good restaurants nearby. The hotel was full this particular weekend for a Birthday party......everyone was nice and even offered us some tacos for dinner!!

After the ride, my husband and his friends came back to our room and enjoyed sandwiches and other snacks, along with great conversation. There was plenty of room to entertain about 10 people and they commented on how much they liked the hotel!!

We love A Place in the Sun and recommend it to everyone who is considering a vacation in Palm Springs. It's laid-back, private, retro and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

My pug Walter, cat Sam, and I loved A Place in the Sun. "We" had a great room with a view of the mountains; there were hummingbirds outside the door in the snapdragons, and church bells ringing in the distance. It's a perfect place to relax if you are traveling with pets. Behind the hotel is the Tahquitz Wash, and every morning and evening Walter and I would take walks along it and meet lots of locals with their dogs. It's a perfect location--you can walk to "downtown," and yet it's very quiet and private. Around the pool, people are friendly yet in tune if you prefer to be incognito and read. At night there are twinkly lights around the pool gazebo--this place is magical, a real find.

Room Tip: I like my room #16; it was perfect for one person or a couple who really likes each other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

quintessential Palm Springs. Lovely, quiet retreat but very close to everything. We had our dog with us and bungalow had its own little yard and patio- great!! Pool was slightly heated and hot tub was nice to relax in at end of the day.
Super views of the mountains make great backdrop to a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a week in Palm Springs and LOVED our stay at this boutique hotel. Our lodging was like a little house with the ambience of the '50s. We were there about the same time as the person who recently wrote a negative review. All we can say is, this person must have had " a case of the Mondays." Our "room" was a one bedroom bungalow that was nicely appointed. True, there were some fixtures from the fifties like the Thermidor heater in the bathroom and the still-working stove in the kitchen. But more modern appliances were ever-present: flat-screen TV, blu-ray, wi- fi, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker. This was a VERY COMFORTABLE, homey place to stay. BTW, the bed (ours was a king-size) was super comfy. We slept well every night. My husband adds that there was no "hotel smell" here. The grounds were well manicured and maintained. We saw hummingbirds at the bougainvillea shrubs and heard plenty of mockingbirds.

IT WAS QUIET! There were some dogs with guests present, but none of them caused us any problems. We had a private patio and were just a few steps from the pool. There were plenty of comfortable lounge chairs by the pool and a mist system for cooling that could be used in very hot weather, which we did not experience.

The owners, Ron and Norma, were quite helpful. Their office is a perfect example of how to make use of a small space efficiently. Every morning guests could take themselves to the office to pick up some dry cereal (about 6 varieties were offered), get milk, choose packaged pastries, get coffee and extras like sugar and cream. If a guest desired more, this hotel is very close to a supermarket as well as restaurants that serve more breakfast items. Palm Springs is a compact city, very easy to navigate.

This was our first trip to Palm Springs. We come from the Heart-of-America area of the USA. We hope to make this trip a regular occurrence and we DEFINITELY will stay at A Place in the Sun again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AKSherb207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.2 mi away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Property: A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing