We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, clean, well-maintained. Deserves high marks!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently spent a week in Palm Springs and LOVED our stay at this boutique hotel. Our lodging was like a little house with the ambience of the '50s. We were there about the same time as the person who recently wrote a negative review. All we can say is, this person must have had " a case of the Mondays." Our "room" was a one bedroom bungalow that was nicely appointed. True, there were some fixtures from the fifties like the Thermidor heater in the bathroom and the still-working stove in the kitchen. But more modern appliances were ever-present: flat-screen TV, blu-ray, wi- fi, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker. This was a VERY COMFORTABLE, homey place to stay. BTW, the bed (ours was a king-size) was super comfy. We slept well every night. My husband adds that there was no "hotel smell" here. The grounds were well manicured and maintained. We saw hummingbirds at the bougainvillea shrubs and heard plenty of mockingbirds.

IT WAS QUIET! There were some dogs with guests present, but none of them caused us any problems. We had a private patio and were just a few steps from the pool. There were plenty of comfortable lounge chairs by the pool and a mist system for cooling that could be used in very hot weather, which we did not experience.

The owners, Ron and Norma, were quite helpful. Their office is a perfect example of how to make use of a small space efficiently. Every morning guests could take themselves to the office to pick up some dry cereal (about 6 varieties were offered), get milk, choose packaged pastries, get coffee and extras like sugar and cream. If a guest desired more, this hotel is very close to a supermarket as well as restaurants that serve more breakfast items. Palm Springs is a compact city, very easy to navigate.

This was our first trip to Palm Springs. We come from the Heart-of-America area of the USA. We hope to make this trip a regular occurrence and we DEFINITELY will stay at A Place in the Sun again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AKSherb207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 422 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Recently, we spent a couple of nights here and loved it. We travel with our dog and the garden patio room was perfect with a secure patio and small grassy area. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable and the staff was terrific. While the kitchen was small it was very functional and well equipped. The court yard with pool and spa are lovely and the entire complex felt very safe and secure - virtually no street noise while sitting outside. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here a few times and are going to be going again very soon. The one bedrooms work great for us and the dogs. Some of them have little yards with grass, a patio and mountain views. The neighborhood is very quiet, hardly any road noise. I'm a bit reluctant to write such a positive review because I'm afraid it will make it harder to book a room next time but it's a really nice place.
A cautionary note--if you gravitate toward fancy high rise hotels with all night room service and lots of action this place may not be a good fit for you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Perfect location for our vacation! We 4 adults and 1 infant comfortably stayed in #8, a 1-bedroom with a great view of the pool and San Jacinto Mountains beyond. Close to downtown Palm Springs, but SO nice and quiet day or night. Also right near the walking path along the dry river bed, and a nice quiet neighborhood surrounds the property. One of many nice touches - whole coffee beans and a grinder in the room!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is our favorite weekend retreat. As we enter the beautiful courtyard, we can feel the stress melt away. The place is well maintained, the staff and guests are friendly and the mountain view is breathtaking. So very, very relaxing and always a treat. We never feel like leaving and always start planning our next visit right away. It's in a very quiet, convenient location too!

Room Tip: Check the website and select your preference. Can't go wrong. Some have private patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We came to this lovely hotel with friends and family for my 50th birthday party. The staff was very friendly and the location can't be beat. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms spacious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to come again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at A Place In The Sun. From the moment we arrived, Ron and Norma accommodated our every need and want. The resort is so peaceful we spent most of our days simply soaking up the sun's rays poolside. We stayed in a one bedroom bungalow, and it was so spacious and well furnished that we felt right at home and had very little desire to even leave our little love nest. The resort is walking distance to the heart of downtown Palm Springs, so we were able to do anything the town had to offer without much fuss. We have decided to make a trip to APITS every winter because it truly is the ideal vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#31 of 75 in Palm Springs
127 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#18 of 75 in Palm Springs
894 reviews
2.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#6 of 21 in Palm Springs
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range: $125 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing