We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST place to stay in Palm Springs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Palm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The BEST place to stay in Palm Springs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Wow. This place is awesome. It's the bee's knees. Everything you've read is true. This place is so clean you can eat off any surface! So here is the short and sweet, since I actually wrote out a long, detailed, glowing review, and then my browser refreshed itself and I lost it all! But this is place is so worth it, I must recreate some of it. I’m probably leaving stuff out, but here goes:

* Friendly owners & staff = Norma was so gracious and understanding when we had to change our reservation last-minute due to a death in the family. Joe checked us in and was welcoming as this was our first stay (and definitely not our last!) There are books and DVDS in the office for you to check out for free. There is a binder in the room with everything you need to know about the complex, local restaurants and activities, too!

* Dog friendly = super clean carpet, my dog didn't smell anything to mark over (as instincts will take over no matter how house-trained she is), which means no dogs have ever peed here or they clean the carpets really well! Our dog usually doesn’t sleep all that well when she’s not home, but she slept like a baby here both nights!! That is how comfortable she was here! (and no, she didn’t sleep in our bed or on the couch, for those who are wary of dog-friendly places; in any case, they clean really well here!) $15 a night gets your dog in, with no hefty non-refundable fee of any kind. Now that’s dog-friendly!

* CLEAN! = Bedroom: firm mattress, plush pillows, soft sheets, warm comforter! Bathroom: whitest grout ever, freshly painted look, hairdryer, super white and fluffy towels! Kitchen: has everything you need - full size fridge, microwave, toaster, stove/oven, large double sink, coffeemaker with coffee, filters & grinder, dishware, utensils, pots & pans, dish soap and sponge! Just bring some foil and you’re set! Couch is clean, super comfy, smells nice ;) and is firm like it’s new. The saline pool and spa were pristine. Even the grass is clean out here!!! *eye roll*

* Windows = windows everywhere! So much great natural sunlight! And you can open all of them for some wonderful fresh (and quiet) air. Vertical blinds close them off for a good night’s sleep and to keep the afternoon heat out. And they’re so clean! We saw housekeepers cleaning the windows with squeegees. Really!?!?!

* Breakfast = the best continental breakfast I’ve had, served by the pool on the weekends. You think it’s hard to mess up a continental breakfast, but it’s all about the quality of the pastries/breads/cereals and the assortment of condiments, and this place takes the cake (there were two when I was there!) ;) On weekdays, you’ll find similar treats and coffee in the office all day.

We got bungalow #10, a 1bedroom with grassy backyard garden area with patio furniture. It has an excellent floor plan and is so spacious! There is a/c, ceiling fans, and old-school heaters that kept our room temperature perfect day and night. Lights and ceiling fans are on dimmer switches. There are lots of lighting options too if you need a nightlight! The parking area light was a great nightlight for us, we just opened the blinds a bit. We cooked all of our meals in the kitchen and on the common use bbq by the pool. There’s a TV in the bedroom and a flatscreen in the living room, both with cable (a treat for us since we don’t have cable) The neighbors were friendly but not overly chatty. Some of them were staying for multiple weeks (lucky dogs!!) This place kind of makes me hate our home. Seriously! If my hubby could have called in sick to work, we could have easily stayed an extra day or two or three… It’s obvious that the owners take pride in this place, and I’m happy to give my money to them!! I could go on and on, but I ought to get back to the daily drudgery of work… *sigh* You MUST stay here!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myteem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    39
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
88
169
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We spent a weekend here and definitely enjoyed the warm hospitality and friendly feeling. It is a perfect location, in the quieter part of town, and yet close to anything we needed: restaurants, walking trails, museum. Joe at the front desk was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about the history of the place and things to do in town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Another vacation at our favorite getaway. We love this place; great location that avoids most of the seasonal winds, a complete "mini-apartment" for a room with our own private patio and lawn for our dog, heated pool year round, well maintained and friendly/helpful staff. Auto Club is missing the mark here; their criteria does not include fair representation for a gem like this one.

Room Tip: All rooms that we have stayed in are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, Ca USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have been to The Place In the Sun about 6 times and have always had the best experience! The layout of the hotel is wonderful, the landscaping beautiful, and the rooms are perfect!! The owners Ron and Norma couldn't be nicer of more helpful. The staff is always ready to help with whatever you might need. So many special little touches add to the enjoyment of this little jewel. Over the years we have met and made fun friends who also stay there. We would never consider going anyplace else in Palm Springs. Patti & Dick [...]

Room Tip: Depending on how many people you have, every room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCEANO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Norma and Ron, the owners, managers, and inspired hosts, have created an exceptional destination for their guests. The cottages are welcoming with touches that are usually not considered, comfortable chairs and good lights for reading, books, films, Norma's home made treats, snacks and hot coffee available in the office any time throughout the day as long as the office is open, and, most of all, they extend a cheerful and considerate warmth to all. I cannot tolerate chlorine, so swimming in their salt water pool is like a miracle for me. Going at Christmas time, we enjoyed the holiday brunch, getting to know other guests, celebrating at the pool. Joe in the office, Rosario and Angelica, the maids, extended the same warmth and great service exemplified by Norma and Ron. All together, there is wonderful ambiance here.

Room Tip: We have stayed here twice and both rooms were fine; I believe you can't go wrong on a room choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUNE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Ca
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

A Great placed to enjoy Palm Springs. Wonderful hosts Ron and Norma have been running the plakce for over 12 years. They have made significant upgrades to the rooms and the gardens make it lovely. Not to mention a large wonderful salt water pool and dog friendly what else can you ask for. This will become my home away from home. Highly recomomended but pease dont overbook we dont want to miss out on our next vacation :)

Room Tip: a great pool wonderful lush gardens and grounds and pet friendly a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVIDDINER123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We absolutely adore A Place in the Sun! I can't tell you which room we stayed in....only because I don't want anyone else to like it(it's next to my favorite front desk guy). Kyle miss you :)

We love Palm Springs and our new home away from home is officially A Place in the Sun. If you want to feel special, get a wonderful tan, hike beautiful canyons and be around people who know how to enjoy life.....this is the place to be!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabatha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#7 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
2.2 mi away
POSH Palm Springs Inn
POSH Palm Springs Inn
#1 of 23 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel

Property: A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel
Address: 754 E San Lorenzo Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bungalows at A Place in the Sun will make you feel like this is your home away from home. All units have private walled garden patios and fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes. Light and bright, with spectacular grounds and mountain views. Eighteen single story bungalows on an acre of lush lawns and fragrant gardens surround a heated salt-water pool & spa. There's a poolside gazebo with BBQ and custom micromist system. Also a professional artificial turf putting green. Putters and balls, along with an extensive movie and book library, are available in the office from 9 to 5 with continental breakfast items, all complimentary to our guests. Vintage Palm Springs, great location & views. Pet-friendly and family friendly. Extended stays welcome! A Place in the Sun is also great for events or reunions. Call for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your A Place in the Sun Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing