We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hacienda at Warm Sands
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Residenza San Lorenzo(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marquis Villas Resort(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ingleside Inn(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Three Fifty Hotel(Palm Springs)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveler rating
450
12
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
450
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscatered lunchjim mauricegrand deluxe suitepillow menugay resortserved poolsidehot tubother guestsbreakfasts and lunchesthe entire staffowners and staffgas fireplaceliving roomevery requesthome away from homegay menappointed rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 465 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

This is the 7th or 8th time that we have been to the Hacienda and it would take something MAJOR to make me want to stay any place else in Palm Springs. It is the most expensive resort in the area, but it is worth so much more. We often compare other places that we stay in our travels to the Hacienda. The rooms are excellent, the ambience is so relaxing you can almost feel the stress of the real world evaporate as you enter the gates. The staff takes care of everything for you. Breakfast and Lunch by the pool and they are always willing to make dinner reservations for us. The most difficult thing that we had to do was decide what swimsuit to wear while laying out by the pool. We cant wait to go back again.

Thanks to jim, maurice, tom, and especially Steve

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jon92027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our first stay at The Hacienda will NOT be our last!

We found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and roomy; we were in Suite 3, which is roughly mid-sized, and it included a full-size living room, roomy bedroom (king bed), spacious bathroom, and an efficient, well-equipped kitchen and dining nook. The room was spotless and absolutely comfortable; arriving with rose petals on the bed (part of a romance package upgrade we purchased) started the trip off perfectly.

The expanded continental breakfast is satisfying: Pastries, breads, hardboiled eggs, cereals, coffee, orange juice, and a small selection of meats and cheeses as more than enough. The catered lunch (included in the price - mostly sandwiches and wraps) was wonderful and very filling. Served poolside or in your room, it became a way for us to mingle and talk with other guests - many of whom we'll keep in touch with.

The staff was incredibly friendly and efficient - asking for help making dining reservations not only yielded excellent suggestions, but also maps, menus, and other information to help make our decision easier.

The pools are in very good condition (one is scheduled for a re-surfacing) and the grounds are very quiet and well-kept. This is a clothing optional property, so take that into account when deciding to stay here. We didn't find the atmosphere to be at all "adult" or inappropriate; some guests simply chose to sunbathe in the nude (unlike other resorts, where "clothing optional" can often be a euphemism for more "adult" behavior).

The pool area equipment - lounge chairs, tables, umbrellas, and so forth - is all well-kept. Chairs are refreshed with new towel coverings throughout the day, and the resort will soon be upgrading pool lounges with thicker pads and custom terry-cloth covers; that will be a great finishing touch to add a bit of luxury to the poolside.

Our suite did not include a bathtub, although it included a roomy, two-head shower. This isn't a negative for us as the pools (and hot tub) provided ample soaking, but keep it in mind if a tub is important to you. Also, the resort does not include a fitness room. Our experience with these rooms in similar-sized resorts has never been good, so we were happy to bring elastic exercise bands and to take a quick job in the morning, so the lack of an on-property gym wasn't a problem.

There is a guest laundry and other amenities which are a bit unusual for a property of this size (just ten suites). There's ample free parking.

This was one of our most relaxing stays in Palm Springs. Given its close location to the Palm Canyon retail/dining district (it's perhaps a 10-15min walk away and a quick drive), the excellent service, the comfortable rooms, and the well-maintained property... well, this is likely to be the last property we take for a test drive. We're now committed fans and it would take a "No Vacancy" sign to make us stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jeepdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This was our second visit to Palm Springs, this time to celebrate my partner's birthday. Our first trip 3 years prior we had stayed at InnDulge which we both found to our liking, but I selected Hacienda based on its website presentation as a "luxury upscale resort" thinking I would splurge for the occasion. The choice was one I would not make again...

Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly by Jim (the owner) and assigned to Room #4 next to the entrance gate from the parking lot outside the bedroom windows. We were given the key after being thoroughly screened by the manager (photo ID, please) with diligence worthy of Homeland Security, and warned of the $400 charge should the key be lost. My response was "so you have old-fashioned keys?" Jim retorted, "Yes, the kind that will get you in your room when you're locked out at night after I've gone home at 7:00 (PM) and no one is here to let you in." My partner and I gave one another fleeting glances...we were not off to a good start. That was followed by a very brief orientation to the property, mostly focused on instructions of how to handle the newspapers and magazines; return the newspapers to the rack and do not leave the magazines in the sun poolside...it causes the covers to separate from the binding. My thought was, "Really...life's too short for such ____." That was followed by touring the room and my observation of the negative aspect of the potential of noise/disturbance from the adjoining gate and parking lot and asking to see other rooms. That request was honored with measured indignance from Jim and we were shown a larger suite on the back of the property with a significantly higher per night rate since there were no other suites available at the rate we had reserved. The similar room next to ours, Room #3 was vacant but being held by request for guests arriving later; Room #1 was occupied by guests who had moved out of Room #2 due to lack of air conditioning. The room next to ours was booked for one night, and the owner told us that if that guest checked out as planned and did not extend their stay the following day we could be moved on request to Room #3 away from the gate and parking. (There was no offer to upgrade us, even though it was later revealed there were only 3 of 10 rooms occupied that night.) I asked Jim "What are the chances of that guest extending their stay?" and that's when things turned sarcastic. Jim turned to a colleague and with all the sarcasm he could muster asked, "I don't know, Steve, what do you think...do you think we have guests that like us enough to stay with us longer than planned?" or something very similar to that. I'd had enough, so replied that we would like to be considered first for Room #3 if it became available as scheduled and that we reserve the right to check out of the hotel if it did not and if we were disturbed by the external deficiencies of our room location, and I politely added, "If that's alright with you." (The hotel imposes a very strict cancellation policy.) A pall of silence followed that exchange, and my partner and I left the office alone and reluctantly moved our luggage into Room #4.

Things improved to some extent following a peaceful first night, and the manager did inquire the following morning if our room was to our liking. We were not offered the adjoining room we had requested, and we did not ask again, choosing instead to leave well-enough alone. Another guest checked into the more desirable room that afternoon, and my partner and I enjoyed a relaxing day in the sun at the beautiful pool where we were served lunch poolside, which was most enjoyable. I was also impressed and most appreciative that a nice bottle of Chardonnay was left in the room that day with wishes for a "Happy Birthday". The hotel serves a very nice expanded continental breakfast, the bed and pillows were adequately comfortable and there was a nice basket of snacks and bottled water in our room with a note welcoming us to the hotel.

I should also add that the only time we heard the gate slam was when the owner was leaving the property, that being in part due to the fact that the resort was deserted. Staying here was like being on a ghost ship. Peace and quiet was bountiful, but this place has no pulse.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank nexttrip42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendaps, Owner at The Hacienda at Warm Sands, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2009

We apologize for the length of this response; however, this former guest has made several comments against the Hacienda and its owner that are derogatory and unfounded. This person reserved our smallest suite (one of only two junior suites) located next to the entrance to one of our 4 small parking lots. We do not cater to a party-scene type of crowd. Most of our guests are professional and considerate of the other guests. In addition, this suite’s living room would buffer any gate sounds from being heard in the bedroom, and especially when the bedroom door is closed. Also, car headlights do not shine into the suite once the solid-wood inside shutters on the double-pained windows are closed at night. The gate noise issue is NOT an issue and as the guest states later in his comments, it was not a problem during his stay. Neither was there a problem with the parking lot. In fact, he later states in his review that they had a “peaceful” night.

Contrary to what the guest said, the Hacienda was indeed very occupied during his stay. Even during August, traditionally a low season in Palm Springs, the Hacienda was 70% occupied on this guest’s first night and 80% occupied on their second and final night. This guest’s comments portray the resort as lifeless by saying we had only 3 suites occupied the day he arrived. We had only 3 suites “empty” that night – one grand deluxe suite, one suite not yet cleaned when he arrived, and one suite with a temporary a/c problem. This guest was indeed offered an alternative suite … the grand deluxe suite, the only suite available. However, we did feel that the guest should pay the increased rate for that suite. It’s only fair to the other guests who are paying the full rate for our other large suites. Also, this guest states that the suite next to them (#3) was similar to their suite (#4). It is NOT, that suite is a deluxe suite, also with a higher rate than his junior suite.

If there was truly a potential problem with his suite including unreasonable noise from the gate or parking lot, we would have upgraded him at our expense. In this guest’s case such an upgrade is definitely not justified. Booking the lowest priced suite, and then expecting a free upgrade based on no factual problems with the suite does not warrant a hotel to offer a complimentary upgrade. This guest’s complaint is obviously unfounded since he himself later states in his review that there was never an issue with noise or car lights during their stay. Both the owner and the general manager asked the guests the next day if they experienced any problems the previous night and they said “no”.

Also, his statements do not fully reflect the events. The owner does not do “brief orientations”; his check-ins with new guests are very thorough. However, when a guest is fatigued due to their travels, we do our best to get them into their suite ASAP. This guest informed us he did not sleep at all the night before his arrival due to a “reality show” being held at his previous hotel.

Throughout this guest’s comments he makes sarcastic quotes of statements made by the owner and general manager that were never made. And, why he finds issue with the following hotel procedures is beyond our comprehension.

We do indeed ask for a photo ID when new guests present their credit card. With the increase in identity theft, this is a procedure suggested by credit card companies and it protects not only the hotel but also the guest.

This guest has not relayed the full comments made to him concerning why we still use traditional keys vs. magnetic cards. As many people have experienced, magnetic card keys are problematic and may lose their programmed settings. If that occurred, there would be no one available at our front desk to assist them upon returning to the resort in the late evening. We do, however, post our cell phone numbers if guests have any problems that need immediate attention.

All hotels and resorts have certain policies and our guests are made aware of our policies in their confirmation e-mails or letters. Upon check-in we highlight only a couple of these, such as no smoking in rooms and the lost key fee, so that there is no misunderstanding if a problem does indeed occur.

As our loyal Hacienda guests have experienced, the owners and staff always treat them with the most respect and appreciation. If fact, last year, 63% of our guests had stayed with us previously and another 24% were referred to us by former guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My partner and I have been wanting to stay at the Hacienda for some time, but they were always booked. Well now we both see why, being there was like being at home. Our room was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in at resort. The owners and staff would make sure everything was to our liking. What a wonderful July 4th weekend we had and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SparkySignalHill_CA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

You know you have had a good vacation when you want to cry a little on your last day.

This was my second time at The Hacienda - and who thought it could be better than the first- but it was great. Eight nights this time- wish I could have made it eighteen.

The owners, Jim and Maurice, and the staff, Tom and Steve, tackle every little detail to make guests feel like they are kings for their stay. Their time, thoughtfulness, and care show in all the little details- that so many places miss- flawless rooms, attention to detail, friendliness, and for single travelers in particular, a want to make sure those travelers connect with other guests at the resort.

I always leave the resort feeling like I have made new friends (Howdy- Mark, Paul, Matthew, Mel, Steve, Chris, and Paul.2!).

July is definitely a hot time to be in Palm Springs- but there is so much to do. So many bars, so little time. Bring a lot of sunscreen and stay in the pool during the day and you'll be ok.

The Hacienda is the cream of the crop of the Warm Sands strip--- definitely worth a trip- whether you're coupled, single, or hoping to be coupled when you leave.

Top notch on all fronts.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leanleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews