We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hacienda at Warm Sands
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Maurice, Jim, and the Hacienda guys did it again. Thanks for the wonderful Thanksgiving weekend vacation and the hospitality, warm and friendly environment, and great memories. The service is superb, the accommodations outstanding, and the exquisite amenities. We definitely made new friends and enjoyed many hours of conversation and sun in and around the pool. Thanks for the heated pools and especially the very warm pool in the back, it was nice for late night swims during the cool evenings.

The recommendation for Thanksgiving dinner was excellent and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner. The Hacienda feels like home and a place where we feel comfortable, welcomed, and relaxed. We look forward to spending our anniversary and ringing in the New Year in Palm Springs and at the Hacienda. See you in a few weeks.

Room Tip: Best view of the mountains is from rooms 1-4 and are also the rooms closest to the office and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NorCal-Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
276
72
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have stayed at the Hacienda many times over the years. Each time it is a great play to stay. I don't like large or "party" places. This is quiet with outstanding views of the mountains. The rooms are very well outfitted with creature comforts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We made our first trip to Palm Springs and stayed at the Hacienda at the suggestion of a friend. The experience exceeded our expectations! The property is small and yet sophisticated, well maintained, and our room was spacious and well furnished. The layout is inviting to interract with other guests. But the best part of the experience, by far, was the great and helpful staff, who steered us to great activities, restaurants, and were always there to answer questions.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vafutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Yet again, Jim, Maurice and the other Hacienda boys made our vacation a superb experience. From a warm welcome, pampered service and spotless upscale accommodation you cannot fail to be impressed.

For those who have stayed in gay resorts in Palm Springs before this is a low key resort, I would say exclusive - only 10 suites and therefore something special. It's located near many others of various sizes and standards but if it's a quiet exclusive bolt-hole you want, this is the place to be. I use the word 'bolt-hotl' tongue in cheek. The accommodations are expansive, beautifully furnished and well maintained. The gardens are immaculate and beautifully maintained and the pools (there are two) are deliciously warm, the hot tub having been upgraded fairly recently.

The staff at the Hacienda are top notch - there is nothing they will not do for you. They are friendly, well versed with the area as you would expect and very entertaining - lovely , lovely people.

The resort attracts a diverse crowd - some have commented on the fact that there seems to be an older 'crowd' here - well this is Palm Springs, if you haven't been before get used to it! (I'm mid 40's)

If you want a quiet ,luxury vacation, yet minutes from great bars and restaurants and downtown nightlife I cannot recommend this place more.

Room Tip: The Grand Deluxe suites are all located in the back area, these all have a HUGE living area, spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bairmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The Hacienda is an immaculately maintained and managed high-end boutique hotel which is well located in Warm Sands, Palm Springs, within walking distance of the town. The owners have not missed out on any convenience, and have taken all your needs into consideration. Literally! If you have forgotten your razor, your toothbrush, or even a loofah for that matter, fear not... one will be provided, proactively! Even a pillow menu is provided for optimum sleeping comfort. The tariff includes a breakfast and a light lunch of salads, wraps or sanwiches. The location is spectacular. When I think of paradise, I have an image of lazing by the poolside at the Hacienda, sipping on a lemonade and gazing at the spectacular backdrop of the Palm Springs mountains. The air is so clear and the sky so blue, that it has an immensely calming & therapeutic effect. The staff are all wonderful, and really offer exemplary service. A substantial library of DVD's is available (both feature movies and adult titles) together with complimentary microwave popcorn! Weekly cocktail parties encourage guests to mingle. Complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi are a nice touch. All in all, a great way to be pampered by Jim and Maurice, who are absolutely fabulous hosts. No request is too much trouble, and they go out of there way to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. I will return!

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at the Hacienda! The prices are based on the size of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our only regret regarding the Hacienda is staying too short a time. It is difficult to know what we can say in this review that has not already been said by manifestly discerning travellers. It has a superb reputation and justifiably so. We had been travelling extensively throughout Southern California before our arrival and it was the opportunity to take a little rest and recreation. The Hacienda has been designed by its owners to deliver exactly what the customer requires. We stayed in Suite 3 which provided a generous sitting room area, kitchen, dining area, bedroom and bathroom. The standard of furniture, kitchen area, cutlery, plates etc has been so carefully chosen by the owners that they simply deliver a wonderful experience. This extends even to the fittings in the bathrooms, the showers and the provision of guest items. There is even a welcome pack in the kitchen and a full explanation of activities in the area. It is clearly the intent of the owners to meet as many guests as possible.They are not there all the time and make the effort to visit to ensure that all is well. We met Maurice who is genuinely interested in the guest experience and any way in which the Hacienda could improve. For our part, the maxim "if it ain't broke don't fix it", applies to the Hacienda delivers class in bucket loads. The owners clearly have the right approach. It is carefully thought out and the standard of fixtures and fittings as well as the finish of all decoration from bathroom tiles to shower units has been given the utmost attention and care. This is truly a place to relax. The way in which the apartments are located means that during breakfast or lunch all guests have the opportunity of meeting one another but only if they wish that to be the case. The gardens are lit at night giving a beautiful atmosphere. It is a joy. Breakfast is a simple affair without unnecessary affectation but to a very high standard. We particularly commend the staff. We met both Stuart and Steve who could not have been more welcoming. There was a slight problem with the safe in our apartment. It caused us no difficulty whatsoever but they could not have been more accommodating with one of them even volunteering to return from their own home during the course of the evening in case was a problem. To us it was a little blip to them it seemed to be the equivalent of the "Titanic going down" yet again. But to make it clear, this was not silly over fussy concern, it was absolutely genuine. As guests, we felt entirely valued. This is absolute classic service personified. On the practicalities, we would just comment that lunch is included within the room charge and it is of a very high quality. There is no rush about this place. It exudes charm and calm. If you need to buy anything there is a supermarket and pharmacy only a short drive away. By short drive away we literally mean about 3 min. Equally, there are very good restaurants only a short drive away. We particularly recommend Lulu. (see our other review of this restaurant). You can also have various types of massages which can be arranged without needing to concern yourselves. There is also the provision of various services to ensure that you can order food to be delivered. We did this on one occasion and it worked perfectly. What more can we say? We will definitely return. We do not know what other places in the vicinity have to offer, but if perfection is somewhat difficult to achieve, this place does it or least comes pretty close. The configuration of the suites and swimming pools is designed to offer guest integration but it is by no means compulsory or in any way invasive. It is simply charming. There is coffee available from 7 AM and breakfast from 8 AM until late. The general office is closed after 7 PM and thereafter the gardens are beautifully lit and the swimming pools available. For those who are concerned about safety at night etc (an unjustified English trait about America) , there is no fear whatsoever. This is a truly charming oasis where you can rest, recover and enjoy the whole experience. This is a place for all pages of traveller. We recommend it wholeheartedly and it is not to be missed. We shall return.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff before booking and they will advise you wisely as to what you might require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

For the two-or-three weeks we spend in Palm Springs each year, we always choose to stay at The Hacienda. Jim, Maurice, and the entire staff make us feel as if we've arrived back home again, and we never leave without planning our return. The accomodations are extremely comfortable and the setting is tranquil. The guests are easy to get to know, and among the regulars we've made some good friends over the course of the last few years. The Hacienda is a great base from which to explore Palm Springs, but more and more we find that all we want to do once we get there is simply relax in the H's soothing vibes. --Jeff & Paul, Connecticut

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.9 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 41 in Palm Springs
455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.0 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 41 in Palm Springs
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hacienda at Warm Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hacienda at Warm Sands

Property: The Hacienda at Warm Sands
Address: 586 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hacienda at Warm Sands 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small super-deluxe smoke free resort with a gay male clientele. All suites (500 to 850 sq. ft.) except for one room. Two pools, fireplaces, plantation shutters, plush linens and personal service. A staff to guest room ratio of one-to-one. Breathtaking mountain views and quiet location. Expanded European continental breakfast and catered lunch included in rates. In-suite massage services arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Hacienda at Warm Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hacienda At Warm Sands Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing