We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Absolute Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wow...pleasantly surprised and sad to leave are the first thoughts that come to mind! From the outside, La Dolce Vita appears to be a mystery behind a beautiful ivy lined wall and Spanish doors. Inside, you find an oasis of pleasure. The staff feel like family, the guests are happy to socialize or allow you quiet time, and the resort is clean and full of amenities - a spa, steam room, pools, jacuzzis under the stars, happy hour, and a perfect breakfast under the lemon trees. You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else! (Hint: The Roma room on the main pool side is super charming!)

Room Tip: The main pool side is a bit more charming with a more comprehensive view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereInTheWorldIsCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us. We look forward to your return. Regards, Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    63
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
168
99
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Friendly staff. Relaxing resort. Gets busy on weekends which is a nice fun environment. Weekdays quieter & more relaxing. Happy hour in the early veining. Good time to meet & get to know other guests. LDV is a place that you can make a quiet & relaxing getaway or fun & social experience. Have stayed twice. First time in a kitchen equipped suite with separate bedroom, separate lounge & separate kitchen. Second time in a studio. Both rooms & stay were great.
Reasonably priced resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gioball69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for visiting. Please tell your friends about us. We would love having more guys from Australia spend time with us.
Best regards,
Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 4 nights at LDV. I'm sure in its day, this was a nice resort, but it's looking a little tired these days. We have stayed nicer in Palm Springs for less money.

As an example, the leather couch in our room was beyond beat. At first I wasn't even sure I wanted to sit on it. While he was sitting at the table in the kitchen working on his computer, my partner noticed water coming up between the vinyl tiles of the kitchen floor. There were little service issues too. One day, we didn't have any pool towels in the room when we got back after being gone all day. The next day, we didn't have a complete set of towels.

The breakfast could use some upgrading too. Having a waffle maker is a nice idea, but the batter needs to be fresh each morning or else you might get a flat waffle like I did.

On a positive note, it is a nice mix of guests at LDV and we did enjoy meeting guests from across the country.

Room Tip: If you choose a one bedroom, ask for one with a newer sofa in the living room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gapoi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hello Boys,
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your experience at the Resort. We will take a look as to why you saw water in the kitchen of your suite. Also the leather sofa you referred to was purchased from an Italian importer; probably not a good choice to have in a Resort because of abuse from some of the guests. We will be replacing it. Your comments regarding pool towels have been shared with our housekeeping and thank you for your tip on the waffle mix. It is made fresh every day however, our Innkeepers need to whip the mixture to add more air into it. The air makes the waffle fluffier (is that a word??). We are also happy that you were able to meet some nice guys from all over the country. We're getting folks from every corner of the world now. This past week, we had guys from France, England and Turkey....Cool....
Best regards, Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Charming is the only way to describe this quaint, cozy property. My friend & I had several options upon arriving to Palm Springs and we are very happy we chose this place! Engaging desk clerk, the owner stopped and introduced himself when he noticed us in the pool. We really had a great time at the social 'meet & greet' chatting with other guests and bantering with the quick-witted host. He chatted up each guest equally and made us feel very comfortable right away~~Great and prompt housekeeper. Thumbs UP!!

Room Tip: our room had a private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you Thomas. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.
Big hugs,
Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

we booked this resort based on the reviews and web site.

1-the reception was the worst ever experienced in Palm Springs--no info on the property, the services, the spa and no tour of the place which is fairly large--we were given a key and pointed in the direction of the room

2-the room is adequate with a very small 1960's bathroom that needs a lot of TLC

3-the pool areas are lacking clean lounge chairs, and general maintenance. No one bothers to clean up after use and in the morning the same towels left the night before are there. Guest has to buy their own "noodles" and rafts to play in the pools.

4-breakfast is lackluster to say the least and no one is ever present

5-it was a busy weekend and very little was done to provide any kind of extra customer service
the "social hour" was bizarre and no one attends since it is one bowl of chip and salsa and a blender---one afternoon the person attending actually threw a bottle at a guest in the pool--probably in jest but it was not funny and everyone was taken by surprise

6-the general maintenance is poor--water from the myster drippin since a few screws are missing

In all truly sad since the property has potential and it would not take much to bring it up to the same levels as others, like Santiago especially in terms of customer service. The staff seems so bored and robotic and no one engages the guests. It would take a few trips to Lowe's and replace the worn out chairs or at least cover them with some nice terry cloth covers that can be washed frequently.

we use stayed at Terrazo over 8 times in the last 5 years (the property was sold last year and became a Canadian family resort) and the owners were always on site, service was superb and the property was immaculate so that is our point of reference--Same for Santiago which has a very hands on-manager and staff.

we hope that there is more attention to some of the details and maintenance. This is a competitive industry and PS has many options. The property being on one acre has a lot of potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are very concerned about your stay at The Sweet Life.
1.Our reception area has brochures magazines, maps, DVDs, games, books, etc. and we personally escort our guests to their guest room even if they have been with us many times. You most likely arrived after the office was closed. We have a late arrival procedure since our office is not open in the middle of the night. We do have someone on-call all the time.
2. The Bathrooms were build in the 40's and 50's.
3. We were extremely busy during the time you were at the Resort. Our largest July holiday in our history. We have many chairs for our guest to lounge on and are constantly "straightening" them out. This is an on-going process, not just morning and night.
4. We actually serve an upscale breakfast at no additional charge for the guest. Most guest houses do not serve yogurt, waffles, hard boiled eggs, three types of cereals, fresh fruit; we do. One of our Innkeepers manages our breakfast and keeps suppllies stocked.
5. Our Social Hour is one of our strongest assets according to our guests. During July, many of our guest like to have there beverages in the pool. It is their choice.
6. We have hundreds or misting heads on the property. We are sorry if one or two were dripping. We will identify which ones and replace them.
I am at the Resort constantly and try to meet all our guests. That is the fun of having a Gay Men's guest house. I apologize that we did not engage you more. I do understand that some of our guests require more attention than others. Thank you.
Ken
5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at La Dolce Vita for 3 nights over the weekend and had a great time. The resort is very clean and well maintained. It was fun getting to know the other guests, and meeting up for the nightly happy hour was nice. Our room was nicely appointed. The bed was comfy, and the a/c worked great. It was a nice touch to have a flat screen TV, but I would have liked to have had a DVD player in the room rather than a dated VCR. Would also have loved to have had pool floaties to use during the stay. I guess a few of the other guests knew that there would be no floaties, and they brought their own. Minor inconvenience, though. Overall the resort is top-notch, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kleefcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you met a lot of nice guys. We do have DVD players in our rooms and will make sure that we check to see if one hasn't disappeared. We also have a very large library of adult film DVDs, free for viewing. We still have the VCRs because we have a large library of original VHS tapes of the Classics, back to the 1940's. Many of these have not been converted to DVD format. Anyway, this is probably TMI. We hope to see you again soon. Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 8 days and was very pleased with my visit. The property is conveniently located, and the staff shows pride in their property. Rooms were clean, public areas were clean and staff was friendly. Other guests were very personable and many had remarked that they come back year after year. I would now count myself in that group. I would not look for another property in Palm Springs. Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at La Dolce Vita and look forward to your return. Big Hugs! Ken and Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.4 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#44 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#3 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#32 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Property: La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Address: 1491 South Via Soledad, Palm Springs, CA 92264
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, this upscale Gay men's resort integrates 20 elegant accommodations with desert landscapes, tropical gardens and majestic mountain views. Amenities include two swimming pools, two whirlpools, steam room, passes to fitness center/gym next to the property, misting system, Aveda bath products, Spa bathrobes, room safes, free Wi-Fi, computer workstation and Full Service Day Spa. The resort is centrally located to shopping, bars, restaurants, casinos, galleries, theaters, hiking trials, and the Tramway to Mount San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Palm Springs
La Dolce Vita Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing