We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sweetest Life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I’ve just returned home from my fourth stay at La Dolce Vita. The fact that I keep returning is recommendation enough.
This really is a great place to spend a few days in the sun in the company of like minded people. It’s big enough for no one to feel lonely but small enough to create a real friendly atmosphere.
The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the grounds well kept, lush and homely with two pools, two hot tubs and plenty of areas to enjoy both sun and shade. Breakfast, which can be taken beneath the lemon trees, is good enough to skip lunch if you don’t want to leave the sun and/or fun. Some rooms have kitchen facilities and there’s a barbecue for anyone to use. There are places locally to eat, a liquor store just around the corner and it’s within easy walking distance (10 minutes at most) of downtown for all the main restaurants and bars if you don’t want to drive.
Not only did I enjoy the company of some great guys but also an excellent team of staff who each went that extra mile to ensure our enjoyment. Thanks to them all.
I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert_Bucks_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 383 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This men's resort is wonderful
The highlight is the spa. Quiet, calm serene and with a staff to match no others.
The rooms are beautiful. The satff pleasant and skilled at thier craft(s).
Gentlemen - when in Palm Springs, this THE place to stay. If not, the spa is a MUST!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second visit to La Dolce Vita in less than three months. We were in Palm Springs for Christmas 2012 and had such a wonderful time at this resort that we decided we just had to come back soon - to further escape winter in Calgary. Twenty days of the "Sweet Life" has been a fantastic retreat from our day-to-day winter routines.

We can't say enough about the management and staff - they have made us feel like family. Its as though we have know them for a lifetime. Ken, Tim, David, Reynaldo, Daniel and Josh have all been responsible for making us feel so welcome. In addition, in our viewpoint, one of the highlights of our stay at La Dolce Vita was the hospitality events hosted each evening by Chuck - he made this hour of each of our days an occasion to look forward to, and made sure that everyone there got to know each other. During our first stay, Ken, TIm and Chuck cooked and served all of the residents a wonderful Christmas Dinner. This is done on other special occasions throughout the year.

Although we took golf clubs with us, the accommodations (and of course the weather) was so inviting that we never left the pool for the golf course! The resort includes two pools, two hot-tubs and a wonderful steam room - luxury certainly enjoyed by all of the guests. The on-site SPA provided us with facials and massages administered by certifeid and professional personnel. Located just a mile east of the downtown core, La Dolce Vita is an easy walk or short taxi ride home following a night out on the town.

La Dolce Vita Resort is spotless, and maintained to the utmost standards. Anything that we asked for was provided - and the Network communictions is second to none. We were able to keep in touch with those at home - usually giving the weather report and carry out our on-going personal banking and investments associated with the end of the Canadian taxation year without a hitch.

In summary, we will be back SOON for sure and in fact have already booked for the same time next year. We will also probably be paying La Dolce Vita a visit over one of the up-coming long weekends. We continue to highly recommend this resort as THE place to come to enjoy everything that Palm Springs has to offer.

David and Alan

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We miss you guys! Come back soon. Big Hugs, Ken and Tim (Chuck shouted Hello!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have been going to La Dolce Vita for over five years and completely enjoyed the experience each time. Each time friends of mine from all over the country have met there for relaxing getaways. The resort is constantly improving its services and facilities, is centrally located near all the main parts of town, and has friendly helpful staff. The owners, Ken and Tim make you feel at home the minute you walk through through the doors, and are very attentive to the needs of their guests.

Room Tip: Choose the two bedroom suite, which includes a full kitchen, and can offer great privacy for two cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Big Hugs,
Ken and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was my 40th birthday and I had planned for a quiet celebration with friends but THANKFULLY AND HAPPILY I was whisked by my partner from the cold 20 degree east coast weather on super bowl weekend to the glorious sun and fun of Palm Springs... and to spend four days enveloped in the splendor that is "La Dolce Vita" was the icing on the cake!

The guys bent over backwards to accommodate our every possible need or whim. My friends called and had them make signs wishing me happy birthday, others had them make me a whine and cheese plate, and still others called and had them bring me a fruit tray. THESE GUYS KNOW HOW TO TREAT A GUEST!

First off, we were flying from the east coast which means we got in late and they made that completely easy which usually doesn't happen in my travels. Upon opening the gate and entering the grounds I just KNEW that I was going to love this place. The brick walkways and soft lighting set a sensual and seductive tone that immediately strikes a chord in your heart telling you that you are are in paradise. The walkways meandered through gorgeous sculpted gardens with high fruit tree and floral fences that made me take dozens of pictures before we even ventured out!

Our room had french doors which opened onto a private cabana area with white flowing curtains that could be closed if we wanted but led straight out to the first of two heated pools. We needed to unwind so we found a hot tub (there are also two of them as well) where we took advantage of the serenity and beauty of La Dolce Vita... and this is all the very first night.

We met all of the staff the next day who were helpful and gracious and informative about sights to see and things to do. One of my favorite aspects of staying at La Dolce Vita was happy hour by the pool with a hilarious host named Chuck whose playful yet sardonic whit just kept the group laughing and laughing.

In my opinion one of the greatest measures of an establishment is the re-visitation rate of its patrons. We met AT LEAST 14 other couples while we were there and we were the only first timers but I can guarantee you that we will be added to the long list of re-visitors. I still have fond memories of breakfast under the lemon tree with the warm sun shining on us and the plush towels and robes warming us at night after getting out of the pool or hot tub.

A very special bear hug to Tim, Ken, Josh, Chuck, Dave and the others whose names are escaping me at the moment. You boys helped make my milestone birthday one of the most amazing and memorable trips of my life.

Room Tip: Ask for the Milano room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your experience at La Dolce Vita. We are looking forward to your return to The Sweet Life.
Big Hugs,
Ken, Tim, David, Josh, Chuck, Reynaldo and Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

How wonderful it is when the actual end result is better then the promise or the dream. That's how I feel about La Dolce Vita.

I should have known right off the bat, when I initially requested that the management create a special "gift certificate" especially for my partner's surprise 40th birthday celebration. They produced a beautiful, 4 color, custom worded welcome created especially for him, telling of my surprise present of our stay in February of this year.

And it was a beautiful surprise when we arrived in the middle of the night, having received special communications to get us into the private compound and to our suite, to enter the beautifully lighted garden paths and the well lite night surroundings. It all lived up to the online photos and descriptions.

We could not resist taking a late night hot tub and swim in the beautiful heated pool just a few steps from our room. Tim had created a special welcoming fruit/cheese and champagne surprise for my partner (a special gift from a dear friend) along with a birthday greeting and sign celebrating the 40th.

The rest of the stay was just as beautiful and welcoming. The other guests were very open and friendly. We enjoyed the social hour around the pool with a special cocktail. Our room was private when we wanted it to be and open enough when we wanted to be inviting and extra friendly. The big fluffy pool towels and bath robes were great on the chilly desert nights. The daily breakfast was bountiful and offered enough to fill two hungry bears.

Our thanks to Tim and Ken along with Josh, Dave and Chuck for making our first stay at la Dolce Vita a very wonderful time and the first of many more to come.

Mike Billings

Room Tip: Our suite did not have a loveseat or lounging chair. Next time i will pick a suite with one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

It wonderful having you experience The Sweet Life with us, especially during the Super Bowl and your team won! We are all looking forward to your return.
Big hugs,
Ken and Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times, we have learned that sometimes atmosphere and customer service outweigh a brand new plastic place. This mens clothing optional place has the type of feel and customer service that only a place ran by the owners can give. If there are any problems or concerns the owners are on property during the day to resolve it, if you leave your key in the room and it's 10 PM, you can call and someone will come let you in, and laugh with you even though you know you got them out of bed to come help you out. The Spa is great with very professional techs. They provide a happy hour each night 5:30 PM that you get to meet great people and laugh and make new friends. Can't wait to go back again and again.

Room Tip: The big rooms are the best right in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaDolceVitaResort, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dave, It was wonderful to see you boys again. We had some good laughs and thank you for the sombrero chips and salsa gift. It's perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,932 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#2 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Address: 1491 S Via Soledad, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8460
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range: $195 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, this upscale Gay men's resort integrates 20 elegant accommodations with desert landscapes, tropical gardens and majestic mountain views. Amenities include two swimming pools, two whirlpools, steam room, passes to fitness center/gym next to the property, misting system, Aveda bath products, Spa bathrobes, room safes, free Wi-Fi, computer workstation and Full Service Day Spa. The resort is centrally located to shopping, bars, restaurants, casinos, galleries, theaters, hiking trials, and the Tramway to Mount San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Palm Springs
La Dolce Vita Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing