We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October is a great time to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“October is a great time to visit”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second stay at this resort hotel. The Hotel is well suited for our needs. Not too small nor too large. The rooms are nicely appointed, with a fridge, microwave and safe. The property is well maintained with plush landscaping. All in all a nice resort for a fair price.
Additionally, we had rented a car, but found it was only a short walk to the bus line, with a quick ride downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimyDavid_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    64
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
181
105
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great value relaxing resort. This was our first time in Palm Springs (we are from the UK) and we were most impressed and surprised both by the town and the resort. The restaurants in town were numerous, varied and good value; the weather perfect. In the resort the room was clean and simple with all the things that you expect from a decent hotel ....sure you can have more luxury ...but at a price. If you prefer a clothing optional resort you cannot come much better than this. The two pools allow for a choice of atmosphere (the one at the back was more quiet and peaceful as the resort was not full). Breakfast was continental and more than adequate. The only problem was we only booked 2 nights. We would definitely include a visit to Palm Springs and a stay at La Dolce Vita if visiting California again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKblokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Excellent atmosphere with 2 pools and 2 jacuzzi & an outdoor gym, first time to palm springs with my partner and we both loved this resort. Staffs were very friendly, rooms were clean, A/C was very cold in a hot summer day of July. Feels like home environment, jacuzzi are very private even it was full house but you don't see too many people arnd you or you have the options to socialize with different groups in the 2nd pool. Pool water filtration was good too that you don't see sunblock film on the water surface like some other resorts. Lots of rooms are pool front with double french doors make it easy for your "out of bed hard" morning naked swim, totally refreshing and not awkward. Prices are very very low. Already planning on going back!

Room Tip: I would prefer those rooms arnd the small pool all with double french doors. Excellent for your refr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for the second time with my partner for another wonderfully relaxing weekend.

This was the first place we stayed in Palm Springs together a few years ago, and we made our way back after having tried a couple other small men's resorts.

You can pay a lot more and enjoy more luxury at a place like the Hacienda, but when all you're doing is lounging in and around the pools, the experience at La Dolce Vita honestly isn't all that different from a place like Hacienda, as long as you're not the type of person who needs people waiting on you all the time.

This place pretty much has everything you need. Two nice pools (one of which has beautiful views of the mountains), misters to cool things down, a steam room, 2 hot tubs, a spa with massage services, a very nice continental breakfast, and close proximity to the downtown restaurants/nightlife.

We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAguy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAK PARK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Ken, Tim, and Staff,

Glenn and I want to thank you for enabling our stay to be incredibly awesome.
We truly enjoy staying at La Dolce Vita and interacting with staff daily, even if it is a wave or smile.
To us, Palm Springs and staying at La Dolce Vita is OUR paradise.
Our fourth time staying there and CANNOT wait until the next.

Once we are there- we are comfortable, relaxed, enjoying the staff and guests, and
feel like we are in a special place.
The grounds are landscaped and maintained well, the rooms and clean, decorated nicely, and so comfortable.
The staff and owners are always friendly, wanting to make our stay pleasurable, and genuinely wonderful people. Enjoyed talking with Ken on the history of La Dolce Vita.
Chuck and his sarcastic humor is a great touch at Happy hour.
It all is a nice blend to an incredible ambiance that we ALWAYS look forward to and HATE to leave.
The only bad thing about La Dolce Vita is LEAVING THERE!

We speak highly of your facility to our friends and family back in Michigan, as well as
friends around the country.
We look forward to our next stay.

Thanks again so much,
Hugs,
Glenn and David

Room Tip: The Roma suites in the East Wing are fabulous. Plan on a Spa treatment while you are there, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLENN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I visited La Dolce Vita for the first time for three days in June. The word that best describes La Dolce Vita is "Classic" Palm Springs. I felt like I was indulging in Palm Springs history while I was at the resort. The lush tropical grounds are well maintained.The resort has an East and West wing each with a pool and whirlpool. The vibe at the resort is casual and relaxed. Each day there is a "Happy Hour" where you get to mix and mingle with the other guests. I stayed in a Milano Suite overlooking the pool in the West wing. My room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The resort has an on premise Day Spa. I visited the Spa twice during my stay for a massage the resort names "The Sweet Life Massage". It's an amazing experience!

I had a great time at the resort meeting fun people, relaxing poolside, and just enjoying the resort. I'm looking forward to going back!

Overall - I give La Dolce Vita FIVE stars!

Room Tip: The Milano Suite is the ideal room if you want extra space and some exclusivity. The rooms are locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZackAsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My partner & I spent one night at La Dolce Vita along with another couple in June. We usually stay at the same place when we travel to Palm Springs but on this particular trip we decided to try some place new. I read the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and deicded to give the place a try. We reserved a standard room for about $119.00 per night. At this price point my expectations were kind of high.

As we walked through the front door of the resort, my frist impressions were that it had a warm cozy feel to it. The staff were were friendly and accommodating. Our room was nicely decorated & for the most part clean. The breakfast was nice. The two pools & jacuzzi were kept clean. However, as the day went on, I began to take notice of things I hadn't seen before. First of all the resort is old and resembled an old cramped motel. There's nothing wrong with old resorts as long as they are well maintained. The landscaping and common areas were unkept, some of the shrubs and trees were near dead, some of the common areas looked like they hadn't been swept or watered down in days. Additionally, there were white sheets everywhere to cover up delapidated walls and ceilings which made the place look cheap. The outdoor furniture (particularly pool furtniture) were worn, dirty & old, and the pool railings were covered with some sort of elastic cover which was moldy. Our room was small but pleasant, my only complaints about it were that the floor rugs hadn't been washed in some time, I was hesitant to walk on them barefoot, the matress was very bouncy which made it hard to sleep and had it thin sheets, and the bathroom looked as if it had never been updated... it still had that circa 1950's look to it. The resort offers a cocktail hour. However, we decided to pass on it when we saw the low-grade booze and people dipping into the bean dip with their fingers.

By the next day I felt I had spent the night in a $75.00 per night motel room instead of a $119.00 per night room. At this price point I was expecting a bit more fluff & luxury. I think that with a little bit more TLC and attention to small details, this place can be greatly improved and be competitive with the other resorts at the same price point & justify the rates they are currently charging.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxx32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are sorry that there were items at the Resort that bothered you. The Resort was built in 1946. The property was upgraded in 2006 and then again last year. We have no idea which shrubs and trees you saw that were dying or unkept. Some plants can not withstand the 100 plus temperatures in the summer, however, they are removed and replaced with cacti or other succulents. We have a gardening service that cares for the entire property. The “white sheets” sheets you referred to are expensive cabanas that have been attached to the building to give shade and create a relaxing environment. Our guests love them. Our bathrooms were updated last year with a variety of natural stone and granite counter-tops, so we do not understand your statements in reference to this. The rugs in the guest rooms are shampooed once a week. Our social hour is free to our registered guests and is extremely popular and we have never served bean dip, so we are uncertain as to what you saw. We understand that La Dolce Vita is not the right place for you, but, hope you can find what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 41 in Palm Springs
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Property: La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Address: 1491 S Via Soledad, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8460
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, this upscale Gay men's resort integrates 20 elegant accommodations with desert landscapes, tropical gardens and majestic mountain views. Amenities include two swimming pools, two whirlpools, steam room, passes to fitness center/gym next to the property, misting system, Aveda bath products, Spa bathrobes, room safes, free Wi-Fi, computer workstation and Full Service Day Spa. The resort is centrally located to shopping, bars, restaurants, casinos, galleries, theaters, hiking trials, and the Tramway to Mount San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Palm Springs
La Dolce Vita Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing