We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Great As I Remembered It”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cathedral City, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As Great As I Remembered It”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed at La Dolce Vita in 2007 as a solo traveler and returned this year with my partner. It is as great as I remembered it, if not better. The staff, amenities and friendliness of the other guests were outstanding. The weather was perfect for swimming and sunbathing. They now have a spa on the grounds and provide a social hour for guests to meet and mingle. There are amazing local restaurants and shops in the downtown area just a short drive away (I had a rental car this time).

We would definitely return again and recommend this resort to my friends/fellow travelers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    64
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
1
181
105
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My (now) husband and I booked a trip to Palm Springs to get married. The owner and staff were very helpful in helping us plan and celebrate this special occasion. The staff is amazing and the resort is clean, awesome and definitely worth a visit. Kudos to Ken and his team. Amazing place! We can’t wait to go back soon. Thanks guys! - Kev & Matt

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevANDMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

La Dolce Vita is a clothing optional gay resort for men only. NIce ambience. Very quaint. Plenty of plants in bloom. The resort is surrounded mountains and palm trees. Very laid back atmosphere. Walking distance to downtown Palm Springs. Close to shops, restaraunts and bars. No booze is served on the premises because the local laws do not allow the serving of booze in a clothing optional resort.

This was a very enjoyable stay. The cleanliness needs improvement. The staff and vacationers were quite friendly. The heated pool made it possible to swim during chilly mornings. The breakfast was not very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ten-Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtYourServiceSir, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
Just wanted to let you know that we have added some delightful goodies to our continental breakfast including fresh fruit salad and danish pastries. We still have our ever so popular "make-your-own" waffles. Rick has joined our team. He brings 20 years of housekeeping experience. If there was an issue, Rick will take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We had a great stay. This was the first time we'd stayed in Palm Springs or a gay hotel and both were wonderful. We found that people were chatty in a sociable way. The pool and the evening cocktail hours are the focus of the activity and both were great relationship builders. The facilities were well maintained and are in the process of being updated. Our only big mistake was that we only stayed two nights because we weren't sure we would like it. Next time, it will be many nights, for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schplinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I had a great time at La Dolce Vita and really appreciated the extra attention that was paid to us. The grounds there are so beautiful and serene and you won't believe the abundance of lemons and sweet grapefruits just hanging from the trees! There were two very clean and sparkling heated pools, two hot tubs, and a newly outfitted steam room. There was also a spa with various treatments provided. The Inn attracted a very nice crowd and the generous happy hour each day allowed for good interaction amongst all vacationers there. The renovations are looking good and the hardworking staff endeavors to ensure a pleasant stay for all their guests. We got a room with a kitchenette and were situated close to the outdoor Barbeque so we seldom had to eat out, which saved us a lot of money. I felt very secure there within the gates and enjoyed the freedom that was allowed and encouraged. :-)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I am a frequent traveler to Palm Springs, and have stayed in several gay and straight resorts. La Dolce Vita is without a doubt my top pick for service, ambiance, and a relaxed and welcome atmosphere. Guests are made to feel at home within minutes of arrival. The rooms are large and well appointed. Recent upgrades to fixtures and accessories is an added bonus to this perfectly located resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabwoodgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This gay resort is "nice" ... a bit worn but they are trying hard and making improvements. Neat and clean, nice breakfast, nice pools and spas, staff is friendly and go out of their way to accomodate. Little extras make the difference - robes, quality toiletries, office with all the info you need, internet, in-room phones and safe. Next year my partner will join me for "Modernism Week".

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaverIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtYourServiceSir, Owner at La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
You will be excited to know that we have made a major investment in updating the resort, from new paint to flat screen TVs and new furniture. We've also been remodeling our bathrooms with contemporary vanities, modern mirrors and larger toilets. Come back and see what we've done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
865 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#2 of 41 in Palm Springs
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa

Property: La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa
Address: 1491 S Via Soledad, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8460
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the San Jacinto Mountains, this upscale Gay men's resort integrates 20 elegant accommodations with desert landscapes, tropical gardens and majestic mountain views. Amenities include two swimming pools, two whirlpools, steam room, passes to fitness center/gym next to the property, misting system, Aveda bath products, Spa bathrobes, room safes, free Wi-Fi, computer workstation and Full Service Day Spa. The resort is centrally located to shopping, bars, restaurants, casinos, galleries, theaters, hiking trials, and the Tramway to Mount San Jacinto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Dolce Vita Hotel Palm Springs
La Dolce Vita Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing