We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Palm Springs Gilligan- my stay at a deserted Inn Exile”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn Exile

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn Exile
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Palm Springs Gilligan- my stay at a deserted Inn Exile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We flew to Palm Springs last Wednesday, November 13, 2013.

We wanted to chill in the sun and check out the old Inn Exile (now La Joya Inn).

After we rang the front door bell, the new owner came out of the Palm Springs Villas hotel next door.

That is when we learned that the new owner now owns both properties.

The new owner is currently doing a lot of work on the place.

The inn is still set up to be exclusively gay and nude.

It also remains set up for sexual contact, albeit on a much more sedated scale.

It's time.

The new owner is very courteous and accommodating.

He is not intrusive. He checks in on you, but does not take up your time.

He is European (thus, unimpressed with nudity).

All staff are very quiet and unobtrusive. If a guest enters an area, all junior staff must leave immediately.

That is the kind of service he is offering.

Though still being refurbished (and full amenities are not in place), the new owner is taking La Joya Inn to a higher level than Inn Exile was, which will only make it a more unique experience.

I encourage financial support for this hotel.

Room Tip: For more privacy, request the southwest quadrant of the inn. For a view of all passing guests, day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    33
    6
    10
    14
See reviews for
1
36
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our first time back at this property in 4 years and we were very pleasantly surprised at the recent room renovations. I found the staff and owner very pleasant and accommodating.The inn is as clothing optional as ever and men only. We found this a great place for a gay vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I recently met a friend at the new Inn La Joya, formerly known as the Inn Exile. We were the only guests at the resort during the stay. On the plus side we had an opportunity to see the new owners investment being made to attempt to address the much needed improvements to the facility. Having stayed many times at the Inn Exile previously, it was clearly getting pretty battle worn from thousands of happy men folk. The rooms are finally getting a gentle facelift with the old carpets removed, concrete floors painted with soft colors and newer blue and gray tone paints on the walls. Nicer bedding has arrived, but sadly placed neatly on the same old wood log furniture that went out of style during the Clinton administration. Flat panel TV's have finally arrived, albeit a decade late. But don't expect any porn or porn channels, you will have to bring your own folks. The famous outdoor "bed" is gone in the center court, as are the lights that illuminated it. Please don't make the mistake of renting room 13, as the misting system pump will shake the roof of the room so that you cannot hear yourself think. Showers and tubs appear to be the old carryover from before, so don't expect much improvement there. The "Skivvies" restaurant is closed. The continental breakfast is minimal, mainly packaged foods and the obligatory morning liquids. Apparently the steam room, where so many historic memories have been made, has a wonky motor. So you can't be sure that it will be operational if you come to town. Please don't yell any type of "emergency" while in residence as this may cause some chaos. There is only one operational exit door by the main office now. Apparently this effort is to keep out the once infamously uninvited. Not that the unwelcome or fence jumpers would be an issue these days. It seems that the owners may have good intentions for this property at least from a facility improvement standpoint. However it seems they may not have realized what "hospitality" exactly means to the gay market beyond mere brick and mortar. Other venues offer more in Warm Sands, or perhaps just go to the new Hard Rock and order in online? This hotel seems to be clearly struggling to find itself. Just like the Peter, Paul and Mary song says.....when will they ever learn?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank revboxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
664 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Enjoyable time spent at this property.
Have heard it in need of a bit of work.
Friendly staff
Very friendly guests.
Excellent spacious room with a separate lounge.
Good value for adequate accommodation.

Room Tip: rooms away from the pool are good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have never checked out of a hotel until my stay here at the new inn la joya. Toilet didn't flush. Ice.machines say not for human consumption. This place is a dump! I left and went to all world across the street. This place is so run down it isn't even funny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank hairyninked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My favorite PS hotel (CCBC) was booked and a friend told me he would get a room as well snd we could hang out for yje holiday weekend. I thought something was not right as there were no cars at all on The Friday of memorial day wknd. Also the name had changed to Inn Joya. I missed that because I was so surprised by the 12 to 15 no trespassing signs that were 5 feet apart. When i eent to checkin there was a woman in middle eastern clothing behind the desk. She turned me over to a guy who was personable and showed me to my room. I asked if my friend had arrived and said that we would have shared a room except he was bringing his dog as he always has before. The guy freaked out. No dogs are allowed anymore! My friend had just arrived and checked in and went to get his dog. He was told he had to leave, they tried charging him a $500 pet fee even though the dog never made it to the room. They called the police to throw him out which tbey did not do - the reservation was made with the pet. I could go on - but i aas told no nudity, no visitors, no this no thatand no friend. I checked out. They tried charging me.a 1,000 can ellation fee. NEED I SAY MORE? Ohyeah, they bought warm sands villas also. WTF?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bearrunningwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you go to Exile you will be highly disapointed. You might as well stay at a straight hotel. Totally been DE-gayed....nothing gay about it. Owned by a straight couple who do not allow nudity or showing of affection outside of your room. All exit doors are locked and dead bolted except for front door near the office. Patrons can not get out other doors in case of emergency. I have been told by former employees and patrons that owner is a mean person. If you are looking for a gay atmosphere Exile is not the place any more....the same goes for Warm Sands Villas...he owns that one also...."women will be cleaning your room" !!!!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank bluebirdie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Las Brisas Hotel
0.1 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#4 of 43 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.0 mi away
Warm Sands Villas
Warm Sands Villas
#16 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
Desert Paradise Gay Men's Resort
#15 of 43 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Exile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Exile

Property: Inn Exile
Address: 545 S Warm Sands Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7632 (Formerly La Joya Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn Exile 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn Exile; Palm Spring’s premier gay resort is an ideal get-away located in Warm Sands neighborhood. This gay hotel is entirely walled, gated and located on 2 Acres in a modern setting in Palm Springs California. The atmosphere couldn’t be more inviting; with 4 pools, there is a place to splash around everywhere you look. After your workout in the fully equipped gymnasium, choose one of the Jacuzzis to relax, recharge. Days may be spent poolside in the sun, but the outdoor fireplace after sunset, seems to call to everyone. And remember….. Clothing is Always Optional.Situated just 3 miles away from Palm Springs international airportVisitors from all over the globe are lured to Palm Springs for its storied Hollywood legacy, its Native American heritage and its absolutely stellar collection of mid-century modern architecture.Palm Springs is nested at the base of the majestic mountains with a village atmosphere that has been preserved and embellished over the years. The streets, lined with palm trees, invite you to explore boutique shops, art galleries and museums while soaking up the sunshine or dining outdoors among stunning desert scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn Exile Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing