We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Optimism in Decor and Attitude/Great Guest Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Saguaro Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saguaro Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1800 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264 (Formerly The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay & Save
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Refreshing Optimism in Decor and Attitude/Great Guest Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Thank You, Seguaro, for a lovely visit and three good nights of sleep. Palm Springs is a spectacular place and the mountains and the past dominate all things Palm Springs. With names like Gene Autry and Bob Hope and Frank Sinatra and Sonny Bono always in your vision, you start to expect a four star show all day everyday. In a town laden with this much past, it is hard to stand out ! Saguaro manages to lead the landscape with pure enthusiasm. I just spent three nites there and would go back tomorrow.
In its price range, this hotel stands up to the test. Everything I wanted was there, including a King size bed, a fridge, a safe, Mountain View with balcony, books on local architecture, a good desk chair, adequate lighting, a handicapped shower. The room was spacious, and all requests for help were met. The staff were above helpful and always calm under pressure. I found the service to be excellent .The bedding was very nice, simple white cotton duvet, mattress firm. No full closet space, but hooks on the wall for your garment bag or dry cleaning. I declined linen service for the three nites, as per their Green Option, and there was a recycling bucket in the room, which I appreciated. I visited the gym and it was good. The lobby has nice places to wait or people watch.

The guests were a really mixed bag, international, inter-generational. The lobby is kid-friendly, with Barbie corner and ping pong table. There were lots of attractive people with beautiful cars and clothing. The arriving guests looked very Los Angeles. Imagine that: some of us escape TO the desert, even when it's 120 degrees...I live in Phoenix, so I know what this weather is like. Still nice to have a change of scenery and to stay in a friendly, upbeat hotel. I was visiting old friends who live in Desert Hot Springs, the outer banks of Palm Springs.

I stayed from Wed thru Saturday. The hotel was quiet on the weekdays. On Sat am, when I was checking out, the lobby was crazy packed and a gift shop appeared from behind a hip partition.decor. The architecture is modern, inspired by mid-century minimalism. I like the use of industrial materials and the offbeat art work. The shocking color palatte kept me amused throughout the hotel and outside. Purple carpets with lime green, shocking pink, Cadmium yellow, bright orange accents. There is a bar and restaurant, El Jefe, but Tinto, their premier restaurant, is unfortunately closed for renovations this summer. Try the mole tamales from the take - out menu. There is an excellent market, Randy's across the street. I made it to Sherman's on El Segundo for breakfast, not to be missed. Plan to visit Palm Springs Art Museum, which is open free from 4-8 PM on Thursday (see website for hours and seasonal closings) . Plenty to do in Palm Springs. Great antique shops and museums and restaurants. Try the local Mexican places. Ride the tram. Go to the Air Museum near the airport Check out the hotel bikes for a leisurely pace.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask to be facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvygal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sawygal;

Thank you for the thorough review of the Saguaro-Palm Springs. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to our vibrant and colorful desert oasis.

Sincerely,
Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    323
    159
    83
    49
See reviews for
150
375
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just finished a three-night stay and it was better than we expected. Like many visitors, we were picking between the Ace and a few others. We wanted something fun, but not such a strong party vibe as the Ace…space to enjoy the pool without getting a bikini top thrown in our drinks. Yes, there is a resort fee, but ours was waved, perhaps an off-season perk? Free wifi, ping pong in the lobby, taco bar with tequila tasting on the menu. The pool was large, and with the exception of the weekend, it was spacious and mostly empty. Friday we checked out, a DJ was setting up and the place was packed. I have to say, the music was actually pretty good and it could have been a good time. Poolside bar, cocktails run from $10 and up. The staff were absolutely lovely, from the moment we checked in, each morning and throughout. We even got a bottle of wine from the hotel as an anniversary gift! The room was big, I love the bold colors, and the mini fridge made the weekend more of a bargain as well. We had breakfast in our room each morning and kept snacks for the evening. The shuttle goes every hour to the main street of Palm Springs, although we used Uber. I really can't say enough. Stay on the bottom floor to have more privacy and enjoy a short walk for ice and to the pool. I would really recommend this place and we will be back!

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor, next to an entrance to the pool. Privacy from the bushes, a little patio a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinesusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear cristinesusanna;

I think we are going to have to steal your tag line-"100% Fabulous"; love it! Thank you so much for the kind and thoughtful review. We are so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic three day get-away at the Saguaro Palm Springs. Our pool is the largest pool in Palm Springs, allowing lots of room to relax and swim mid-week.

Glad to hear our team took care good care of you. We are very proud of them and the warm service they provide for our guest. Thank you for mentioning them!

Happy Anniversary!

Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
182 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Rooms: The rooms are very spacious. Our room came with a balcony (I’m pretty sure all do) with a view facing both the pool and the mountains clearly in the background. We had a mini fridge as well. If you forget anything at home or you want to purchase beverages to keep stocked in your mini fridge, there’s a Ralph’s across the street that we utilized to get things for the weekend. The shower gels and soaps smelled amazing and the bathroom looks very modern. My only complaint would be the TV’s connection, which wasn't clear all the time.

Pool: Honestly, the pool was too deep for the audience the resort was catering too. When we went to the pool, everyone had a drink they were trying to enjoy while cooling off in the pool. But the center of the pool is 9 ft deep, therefore 99% of the people in the pool, myself included, were trying to squeeze into any space they could on the edges so they can enjoy their drinks.
There was a DJ playing music in the afternoon and the bar had great drinks!

There were not enough lounge seats for us in the afternoon so we laid our blankets on the small “grassy” area. The “grass” was plastic and when we tried to walk on the “grass” barefoot to get to the pool, the plastic fake “grass” burned the bottom on my feet and I had to run and grab my flip flops. Just the 5-10 secs my feet was on the “grass” left blisters.

The pool in the evening however is much better, there’s chairs available and you can watch the sunset. The bar’s closed but you bring your own drinks and enjoy just the same.

The hotel also has a boche ball area for those inclined to play.

Restaurants: The hotel has two great restaurants, El Jefe and Tinto. Tinto has a better ambiance and class while El Jefe is more exciting and fun. I liked that they had two restaurants with completely different feels.

Shuttle: The resort provides a free shuttle service hourly to Downtown Palm Springs. I really enjoyed the convenience of not having to worry so much about transportation BUT, in 110 degree weather, the driver doesn't turn the car on until you board. When you get in, it’s HOT and there's no air ventilation. The driver puts on the AC but you can’t feel it where you are sitting and the windows don’t open, so both the drive there and back was difficult to breathe. I suggest just paying for an Uber car.

All in all, I really had a great time. I know it sounds like I had “a lot” to complain about but the resort was just what I was looking for. Time away from the big city, great food, amazing views of the mountains and stars, and quiet time to do not much of anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolaisabruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Lolaisabruin;

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We really appreciate it! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your time away from the "big city". Next time you stay with us I will have to challenge you to a game of Bocce Ball! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the sahuaro for a night on our way to LA. The rooms are great and the beds are comfortable but it's the staff that makes this place!!! Tyler was so helpful with everything we needed! Will definitely be back for a longer stay next time!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Cheryl R.

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We really appreciate it! You have discovered, like so many of our guest from Arizona, that The Saguaro Palm Springs is the perfect resting stop on the way to California's coastal communities.
Thank you also for acknowledging the friendliness of the Saguaro Team Members. We are so pleased that you gave a special shout-out to our Front Office Team Member, Tyler. He will be so thrilled and we could not agree more!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The colors in the room were a little too striking in general the hotel was fine. Free wifi is always good.
The only problems were all the hidden charnges; you never end up paying what you thought you were going to pay. Resort Fee, late check out be careful its $35 dollars but they charge you for another day worth of Resort Fee full charge. Which ends up costing more than $100 for a 3 hour extended check out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgustinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear AgustinaB,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at The Saguaro Palm Springs. As noted in your review, The Saguaro is a colorful oasis in the middle of the desert. Our rooms are painted in a array of striking colors; colors that reflect the beautiful colors found naturally in the wild flowers of the Coachella Valley. Many of our returning guest request their room preference by color!

Our policy is not to charge an additional day's resort fee for late check out. It seems this fee was posted in error. Please feel free to contact the Hotel directly and we will be sure to correct this error and to refund the fee.

Sincerely,

Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I spend a lot of time in Palm Springs and had visited this hotel many times for lunch, although not stayed there until now.

Spotted a ridiculous cheap deal online so took the plunge.

The hotel is on the South side of the city, a short drive or bus ride from the downtown area. There are restaurants and a grocery store close by.

I had a king room with pool view on the top floor. The hotel is a converted Holiday Inn/Ramada so does have outside corridors. This arrangement does make getting from your car much easier as there are elevators at each corner. The rooms are painted in various rainbow shades and are comfortable furnished.

There is a resort fee (which I hate) of $25 per day covering wifi, airport shuttle, yoga etc. Somehow, my rate included the resort fee, or my Joy of Life membership meant it was free - not certain which. So I was happy this time!

I had been warned that at weekends the hotel becomes a mecca for a younger crowd from LA. The warnings were not wrong! I was out for most of the Saturday but returned to find my patio doors vibrating with the noise from the DJ by the pool! It was the same on Sunday. If this is not your scene, ask for a room facing away from the pool or don't go at weekends!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Leesw8;

Thank you for your thoughtful review of The Saguaro-Palm Springs. We are pleased that you found The Saguaro to be a great value and that you appreciate its convenient South Palm Springs location.
As you noted, we do host pool parties on Saturdays and Sundays for our guest. Creating a fun and lively atmosphere in celebration of the weekend.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in October for a friends birthday party. The hotel is fun and very colorful and has a clientele that is quite young. The hotels bright colors are also present throughout all the rooms which are clean, very functional, nice big bathrooms, and a mid century modern style decor that is ever so present in Palm Springs.

Our rooms were suites (very big) on the 2nd or 3rd floor (can't remember exactly) and had balconies that faced the pool and the mountains...the best option for the best views. The pool is really big, clean, and nice and has a huge swan float that swimmers can ride a top. There is also a large hot tub. The grounds are gorgeous..very verdant and green with desert plants and the very tall, skinny palm trees that are so common in Palm Springs that scrape and frame the desert sky.

Saturday poolside is busy with a DJ continualy pumping out dance music until 8 pm or so. There is a poolside bar with waitors and waitresses rushing out drinks to people, food can also be ordered.
Sunday poolside is "desert chill" less busy, fewer swimmers, and the DJ plays chill out ambient music.

The hotel has to restaurants: El Jefe which is the "cuisine of Mexico City" serving small plates. and the other is the celebrated Tinto: restaurant of Chef Jose Garces serving foor of the Basque region of Spain. This is a beautiful restaurant inside and out. The outside patio with it's torche lamps and flickering candles looks like a great place to dine in good weather. Regretably I did not get to dine at either restaurant since we were a large group and had so many different opinions.

I look forward to staying at this hotel once again as it was an exciting, vibrant atmosphere with good service, good restaurants , and a nice pool scene. A great ambient desert getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the pool (in the interior) have the best views of the pool and desert mountians. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atlas1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPalmSprings, Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Atlas1175;

We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything the Saguaro Palm Springs has to offer. Next time you visit, your "ambient desert getaway", you will have to be sure to visit our Jose Garces' restaurants: Tinto and El Jeffe. They are terrific!
Thank you for taking the time to provide TripAdvisor with your feedback. We really appreciate it.

Sincerely yours,
Dan Burgess
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.3 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#19 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#30 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Riviera Palm Springs, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
1.6 mi away
Parker Palm Springs
Parker Palm Springs
#20 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saguaro Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro Palm Springs

Property: The Saguaro Palm Springs
Address: 1800 East Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92264 (Formerly The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#9 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To know Palm Springs is to love it or the style, there's an undeniable lure to this oasis of desert modernity in the heart of Palm Springs. The Saguaro offers a sense fun and uncomplicated design, food and service. Guests enjoy our resort style amenities including our pool, 24-hours fitness room, morning yoga, touring bikes, boutique spa and two restaurants. Guestrooms & Suite - All with a patio or balcony - Flat screen HDTVs• - Large desks - iPod docking station - On-demand movies and music - Bathrobes - Coffee maker - Mini-refrigerator Services & Amenities: There are certain standards by which a visit to Palm Springs is judged, such as pool time and the scenery that goes with it, the quality of architecture and design, and perhaps most importantly, the ability to enjoy the desert landscape and air, preferably with cocktail in hand. By all accounts, the Saguaro has you more than covered. -Pet-friendly with no fee -Self parking* -WiFi* -Daily yoga* -Use of Touring Bikes -Complimentary airport and town shuttle* *Included in daily resort fee of $25.00 USD per night. Meetings & Events: Palm Springs is a destination for meetings and events more than ever, seducing planners with 350 days of sunshine a year and abundant golf, shopping and desert curiosities. The Saguaro features several flexible event space options and is ready to host your event, whether it's hosted in our one of our two ballrooms, garden courtyard, in a private dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Saguaro Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing