We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Saguaro Palm Springs
Nearby Hotels
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$192
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Parker Palm Springs(Palm Springs)
$441
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$108
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$130
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$188
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveler rating
424
407
216
128
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
407
216
128
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsel jefebright colorstequila barcolorful hotelpool areapool partyping pong tablefun hotelfree shuttleshuttle servicethird floorfitness centerlarge poolmid weekcoffee makergreat pooldj
Filter
Updating list...
921 - 926 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the Saguaro with our two teenaged boys. The hotel itself was as expected - a converted Holiday Inn. Rooms and furnishings were acceptable for the price. We recently stayed at the Shorebreak Huntington Beach, also a JDV hotel, and enjoyed it and the staff. The staff at the Saguaro, however, was the worst we've ever experienced, from the front desk on down.
It was Spring Break, though the hotel was not full. Yet the front desk was always understaffed. Each day we arrived at the pool to find there were no towels. Each day we waited in vain for them to be brought out. We went to the front desk where after a long wait, a clerk went to fetch us towels, but never returned. Despite our reservations, our rooms were not ready until well past check-in time. We were promised a $50 credit, which was promptly forgotten. The pool staff was completely unaware of the "dive-in movie" promotion that the front desk was advertising. When we all wanted to sit and enjoy an after dinner dessert and drinks on the Tinto restaurant outside patio (which about 20% occupied) one evening, we were told by the hostess she didn't want to overburden her wait staff so could we please sit in the bar (very harried and NOT kid friendly) with our kids to order our desserts, and once we had received them, we could then take them out to the patio area? No we could not. We managed to find a manager who rescued us and escorted us to the near-empty patio.
The items on the menu for the 'Taco Tuesday' promotion (fliers everywhere and in the room) were not the same as those in the restaurant. The breakfast service in El Jefe restaurant/bar was poor (understaffed) and the food seemed prepared by an entirely different staff than the fine meal we had at Tinto.
When we reported an item lost at the pool to the front desk, the gentleman made a note of it, said he'd contact housekeeping and let us know one way or the other within the hour whether it had been found. Never heard from him and never saw him again.
We tried to stay pleasant with the staff at all times, but our polite complaints never got us anywhere. Each day would bring a new issue or worse, the same issue again.
Unfortunately, we won't be staying at the Saguaro again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BradtheKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose G, Front Office Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear BradtheKing,

I would like to thank you for your candor, I truly am sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. That is truly not what we strive to provide in fact it is the total opposite. I can assure you that we have been working on getting better communication with our guests. I do hope that we have you visit us in the near future and please contact me so that we can ensure that you and your family have a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I spent two days at this Palm Springs hotel. The rooms were of good size and quite colorful. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the pool area large enough for multitudes taking advantage of the wonderful weather. The staff were polite, professional, and courteous. We were pleased with the priceline rate that we paid which was around $90 per night. I think most of you would be happy if you decided to stay at the Saguaro.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this hotel at Expedia's unpublished rate of a mere $68 a night. We got a king bed with a mountain view and this was a steal compared to the $216 our room would have been by booking direct for the nights we stayed. This hotel is in a great location to the city with scenic views, even if your room is facing the street. We had a very pleasant experience. Our room was inside the building (hotel style) but we noticed that some rooms entries were on the outside of the building (motel style). The room was nice and spacious (and colorful so be prepared). The bed was extremely comfortable and made for a great night's sleep. The only downfall for us was that there was no microwave in the room for us to heat our delicious leftovers. Instead of a microwave above the refrigerator, there was a small safe. I'm sure this is a ploy by management to get you to eat at the restaurants on site. But why do that when you are so close to all the restaurants the city has to offer? The pool and jacuzzi area were nice. We went at night so it was not crowded at all; we got both privacy and the opportunity to meet some pretty cool people. The staff was very friendly, no issues at all. There's no extra fee for parking on site and check out was a breeze. The only fees we were charged upon checkout were $20 per night resort fees. With the money we saved booking unpublished, this was no sweat!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms inside the building (hotel style) as opposed to the motel style rooms whose entrances are outside.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A fun and colorful place. Older hotel dressed up. Not a "fancy" place but good for kids. Ping pong, decent pool and fun atmosphere. Rooms are clean and good sized. Great restaurants, pool bar and really great staff. A family fun place but not the place if you want quiet and relaxing. My friend and I are hear with our 12yr old daughters for a fun girls getaway so it has been perfect. Wouldn't Eco,Monday for those expecting a fancy romantic resort type feel. If you are bringing your kids...great place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This former Holiday Inn has roared back to life thanks to lots of huge splashes of color. Our room was chartreuse with an orange-themed bathroom. Always a make-or-break, the water pressure: it was very good. The beds were comfortable. The worst part of the stay was the family directly above us let their kids race up and down the room for hours before their bedtime.

This is Palm Springs so expect partying galore. We were treated to a profanity-laced diatribe at 2:00 a.m. Sunday morning from some drunken party girl who couldn't find her #%$^ cellphone.

Overall, it did not ruin the experience. The front desk staff was very friendly. The tequila bar in the lobby was impressive. We would definitely return there.

Room Tip: Ask for an inward-facing room so you can enjoy the high jinx at the pool. Granted, that comes with increased susceptibility to noise and music.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueBoots92008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews