We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I see color everywhere...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saguaro Palm Springs
Ranked #37 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Reviewed April 28, 2012

...that is certainly without a doubt. We knew what we were getting into when we booked The Saguaro but then again, if you Google "Saguaro PS" and still don't know what you're getting into - then you can't read and you're color blind. Good news is the colors work here - maybe not so much the flower brash like wallpaper behind check in...a wee bit painful there boys.

Kids - yes, there were kids there. Lots of lovely little kids who do provide good entertainment for those of us without them. We were surprised by the number of young children dominating the place the week before Coachella Music Festival weekend one this year. Come to find out...we without children don't think about these things...it was spring break week. The families were taking advantage of crazy good grand opening rates - the same rates that pulled us in for three nights.

Here's the rundown:

Impression from the street: Lordy that is a big sign and oh my god what shade of purple is that? Both in good ways - sets the scene, for sure. Definitely has that retro PS style from the outside which leads one to the thought, "I bet the pool area behind those walls is cool" and it is.

Check-in: Very good...arrived at 1pm and room was ready. No valet parking (a good thing many times). The front desk folks were all pleasant and seemed more local versus locals trained how not to be locals. You get that feeling at a lot of the larger PS properties it seems. Overall, an excellent check in process.

Impression inside the walls: Bright (lots 'o color representing the local desert color pallate...on peyote maybe). The pool is beautiful and probably even more so when not dominated by little people in their floaties. The hotel allows pets and we noticed on two occasions folks taking their dogs out on the main grass (you know what I mean by "taking out"). I'm sure the hotel will quickly instruct guests with pets where to take them out to do their biz because it should not be anywhere inside the walls of the hotel. Overall, we enjoyed the set-up and the immediate access our first floor room with patio had to the pool and garden area.

Food and such: the new Chef Garces restaurant Tinto was good, not great but good. The tequila bar was also very good with a good taco based menu. The prices were pretty standard for PS and again the service from the locals was very good with quirks and personalities to match the environs. The main restaurant has done a great job designing the space, it's eye catching. At night, the color palate of the hotel goes very well with the obligatory fire pit when viewed from the restaurant. Probably worth noting that neither the bar or restaurant use any of the desert color scheme - quite the opposite, they are all wood and dark colors. It works and separates them from the color explosion everywhere else.

The room: We had a first floor king. The room was large and open but there were the beginning signs of wear and tear after only being open for 2.5 months when we stayed - mostly on the walls and with what appears to have been a mediocre job with the wall covering? Almost like wallpaper coming off. Please note this was not all over but only in one two x one foot section of the wall. The room seemed sparse and could have easily done with a love seat. We actually rearranged the table and two chairs and made the room feel a whole lot better. Overall, the room was perfect for a couple wanting to get in and out of their room and into the pool in less than a minute. Our test is simple...do we enjoy just hanging out in the room and we did or maybe I should say just hanging out in bed because...

Special mention on the bed: OMG COMFORTABLE....didn't check to see the maker but the bedding and the mattress made for one very comfy set up. Better than at two Four Seasons we'd been to in the weeks prior to our stay at the Saugero.

Bits and Bobs and Suggestions: The poolside drink and food service was quick and efficient...tiny little grumble about Sangria being close to $50 a pitcher when you tack a good tip....for the quick and efficient service, of course (tip often and tip big if they serve you well). The pool is fantastic with an almost 10 foot deep section. The outdoor furniture by the pool is high quality and comfortable. The sun hits the pool all day with no big shade areas during prime sun hours. The patio furniture outside the room is made for little people because any full size person wouldn't sit on it without looking a bit silly. The purple carpet in the rooms reveals a lack of a good Hoovering over a three night stay. The linens were all of high quality. Access into the hallways of the hotel needs to be controlled a bit more...too many things being used to prop open doors all day long and night. Overall, as is typical with JDV properties...they have done a good job with a large property and will hopefully make this a flagship by getting better from here on out versus just sliding by.

Checking out: easy as pie and again everyone smiled and had great attitudes.

We really enjoyed our stay and will likely stay again in one of our annual treks to Coachella. We know had we stayed here the week prior to weekend two, it would have been very different. No spring break families meaning fewer kids running about and more DJ's spinning tunes. Toss in some 100+ weather and you've got a poolside party.

Bravo Saguaro. We hope our experience makes it easier for you to decide to stay at the Saguaro as well.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that look out anywhere other than on to the pool and garden area. Otherwise you'll b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFOtoJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, General Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us so thoroughly! It's always great to hear from our happy guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the pool area as well as Tinto and El Jefe and that you found the bed comfortable. We appreciate your feedback about the wall coverings, carpet, and room layout and will certainly take it into consideration moving forward. We look forward to seeing you next year for Coachella--or sooner, if you want!

David Curell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

My company was involved in the 2012 El Paseo Fashion Week. The Saguaro was where we chose to stay and we couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel couldn't have been more accommodating to our needs. The Assistant Manager, Michael Treptow, was constantly checking in with us making sure our stay was a pleasant one. We ate in both restaurants, which were excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fun, comfortable, casual place to stay. I also recommend working with Mr. Treptow as he was very professional and his concern for his customers was that of a 5-star resort.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, General Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

It's so great to hear from you. We really appreciate your comments and loved having your group stay with us. I'm glad Michael was attentive and that you got a chance to try both El Jefe and Tinto. What did you try? We would love to welcome you back again any time!

David Curell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The two things that made this hotel experience memorable were the front desk staff and room service staff (both were lovely).

The service staff at the poolside bar and at Tinto were frosty, at best. The whole place was reminiscent of a poor-planned cover-up of a sagging structure. The hallways were dark and stuffy (dark purple carpeting in a windowless hallway with no A/C... yipes!), the walls were paper-thin, our mountain view room faced one of two busy streets this hotel was nestled between, the toilet was wobbly, one of the lights in our room was motion sensitive (!!), and the street noise was loud enough that we couldn't use our patio. I typically hesitate to visit an establishment during the first 4-6 months it's open, recognizing that there will be many kinks to work out. In this instance, I bid on Priceline and got the Saguaro. I didn't select it initially (even with the $99 special they were offering) for exactly that reason. And based on the reviews, I guessed that they were experiencing growing pains. However, with such a well-established hotel chain, I certainly expected those kinks to be worked out in a much more timely fashion. Not so. I certainly hope the Saguaro gets it together.

The only thing that ranks this hotel as a 3.5 star experience is the price point in each restaurant. Otherwise, I would give it a solid 2.5 star rating.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imbibingeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, General Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for bringing you concerns to our attention. While I'm happy to hear you found the hotel staff helpful and friendly, I am disappointed to hear that you found the restaurant staff less helpful. We appreciate your feedback about the decor as well as the service and will certainly take it into consideration moving forward. Did you get a chance to use any of our resort amenities like the gym or complimentary yoga and bike rentals? We would be happy to welcome you back again any time; I know we can show you a great time.

David Curell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Recently visited the hotel for a girls get-away and all of us were immediately impressed by the The Saguaro's design, sophistication and exceptional staff. The hotel met all our needs and then some. One thing that really impressed me is the attention to detail at the hotel- a true Joie de Vivre Hotel gem. Thank you Saguaro- we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, General Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

It's great to hear from you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your girls getaway with us. I know the staff will be pleased to hear that you found them helpful and friendly. We would love to welcome you back again any time for another girls' trip!

David Curell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed at The Saguaro recently because I wanted to get out of LA for a couple of nights. What a fun and at the same time chill hotel to stay in. Really colorful, that sets a happy vibe when you want to just lounge by the pool and relax. The views of the San Jacinto Mountains are stunning.

The entire experience went great. Check in went well as anyone would expect. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and colorful just like the outside of the property.

We had drinks at El Jefe the first night before we went out to meet with friends, a very cool hangout. And we also had breakfast at Tinto. Fairly reasonably priced menu and good food, for sure.

Manager Michael Treptow was very attentive and wanted to make sure all our needs were met. I liked that. I felt like they cared about my stay there. I wanna go back, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joao H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, General Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Joao,

It's great to hear from you. I'm glad you enjoyed your getaway with us! It's great to hear that you found the colors vibrant and the staff friendly and helpful. We're fortunate to have both Tinto and El Jefe on the property--they're so much fun. We would love to welcome you back again any time.

David Curell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed at the hotel back in February right after it opened. It’s a decent hotel but we had a terrible experience. Our Vehicle was stolen along with most of our belongings. We had our stuff in the car already and the car keys were taken from the one suitcase that was still with us in the hotel.
Hotel was kind at first, since my credit cards were stolen as well they offered me to stay an additional night free of charge and felt sorry for us. When police arrived we found out that there are no security cameras other than in the main lobby. This place has multiple entrances and a couple of restaurants\bars off the main lobby. All visitors have access to the rooms but no security cameras to protect the guest staying at the hotel.
Now i am trying to get the hotel to approve the insurance calim with out result. they have been ignoring my emails since.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank joel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you like a pleasant colorful pool area and a comfy bed, you're looking at the right hotel. So many Palm Springs hotel are so beige or grey (Zoso anyone?). If you don't want to rearrange the lighting because your bedside table lamp doesn't reach a plug or the sink top is so tight you keep all your toiletries on the desk, you want to look elsewhere. Hope for quiet neighbors because the bright paint on the walls will not deafen the noise. We hope the gay threesome next door can all kiss and make up now. Never used the restaurants but the menus looked creative. The staff was pleasant enough and a request for more clothes hangers was handled promptly. We stayed here based on our fine experience at the Ventana Inn - a Joie hotel. Located an easy 5 minutes from downtown. This hotel is like a Kentucky Derby horse - bet on Saguaro only if it's at the right price.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank jelly5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaguaroPS, General Manager at The Saguaro Palm Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We appreciate your comments; as a new establishment we are still working hard every day to improve our service for each guest. I know the staff will be happy to hear that you found them helpful and we will work hard to keep up that level of service. I hope you'll afford us another opportunity to impress you and take advantage of our fun resort amenities like the two excellent restaurants, complimentary yoga & bike rentals and the modern fitness center. We'd love to welcome you back.

David Curell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#26 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,655 reviews
1 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#44 of 75 in Palm Springs
224 reviews
3 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 75 in Palm Springs
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#8 of 75 in Palm Springs
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
Ace Hotel and Swim Club
#20 of 75 in Palm Springs
918 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#46 of 75 in Palm Springs
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saguaro Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saguaro Palm Springs

Address: 1800 E Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-1617 (Formerly The Saguaro Palm Springs, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $154 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Saguaro Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To know Palm Springs is to love it or the style, there's an undeniable lure to this oasis of desert modernity in the heart of Palm Springs. The Saguaro offers a sense fun and uncomplicated design, food and service. Guests enjoy our resort style amenities including our pool, 24-hours fitness room, morning yoga, touring bikes, boutique spa and two restaurants. Guestrooms & Suite - All with a patio or balcony - Flat screen HDTVs• - Large desks - iPod docking station - On-demand movies and music - Bathrobes - Coffee maker - Mini-refrigerator Services & Amenities: There are certain standards by which a visit to Palm Springs is judged, such as pool time and the scenery that goes with it, the quality of architecture and design, and perhaps most importantly, the ability to enjoy the desert landscape and air, preferably with cocktail in hand. By all accounts, the Saguaro has you more than covered. -Pet-friendly with no fee -Self parking* -WiFi* -Daily yoga* -Use of Touring Bikes -Complimentary airport and town shuttle* *Included in daily resort fee of $25.00 USD per night. Meetings & Events: Palm Springs is a destination for meetings and events more than ever, seducing planners with 350 days of sunshine a year and abundant golf, shopping and desert curiosities. The Saguaro features several flexible event space options and is ready to host your event, whether it's hosted in our one of our two ballrooms, garden courtyard, in a private dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Saguaro Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Palm Springs
Palm Springs Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing