We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem”

Moorten Botanical Garden
Ranked #15 of 118 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors are fascinated by this huge collection of cacti and flowers amid scenic nature trails.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Some reviewers may have misunderstood the nature of this spot. It is a family owned and operated botanical garden and cacti collection. It has been maintained by generations of the respected Moorten family in the same location. A labor of love. It is simple and honest. Dont expect the Living Desert! The variety of plants is amazing. As locals, we enjoy taking guests to this little oasis. It can be a stop on the way to the Indian Canyons

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Bon1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    138
    52
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is a Palm Springs must-see!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place is just the kind of thing we like to do for fun. It's small and kind of rough around the edges. The guy who runs the place was great fun to talk to. The cacti were very interesting to look at and all nicely laid out. We did other things like go to the Living Desert, and it was very nice, but typically all decked out for the tourists. Here you feel like you're really getting some local color. This was the best thing we did on our 4-day trip to Palm Springs! And it was only $4.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute, but small”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I wouldn't rave about this little place but its worth a $4 stroll to see some interesting plants. At least there is someone in the area showing off the plants I know I don't get to see every day. You can also buy reasonably priced plants if you are interested.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeighK35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Over-rated, poorly maintained”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very small, which would have been OK, but poorly maintained.The emphasis appeared to be on groups gathering at the (otherwise private) home of the owner. The visitors' toilet was miserably bad and was dirty.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nepenthium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
319 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Geographically desirable & affordable”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been to Moorten's Botanical Garden over many years, probably about seven times. You may ask WHY would you go back so many times? You've seen it! There are several reasons. Part of it is to get away from the city for awhile and stroll through the catcus. Kind of like visiting a park. But better. You never know what might catch your eye. Maybe something you want to buy. Or maybe just take a picture of? It is very peaceful. A nice place to get away for an hour or so. They had some gorgeous cactus wreaths when we were there. Their prices were fair. But it is just a short drive from Palm Canyon drive and that is the best part. And the cost to get in is low. If you don't expect some state of the art showpiece garden, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LAtoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moorten Botanical Garden also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Moorten Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing