We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the greek food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nina's Greek Cuisine & Pizzeria

Nina's Greek Cuisine & Pizzeria
Ranked #112 of 316 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Looks like a pizza joint (and it is) but the really great food is the greek. The appetizer plate is especially good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Finally, "real" tzatziki!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I are fond of Greek cuisine, having spent a year in Cyprus, and we would eat a gyro any day over a hamburger. That said, good gyros are hard to come by on the west coast. However, Nina's makes a great one!

OK, the meat is that pressed and processed stuff rather than the juicy (fatty) strips of lamb we would prefer, but it still tastes authentic enough and everything else about the sandwich is superb. Nina makes a killer tzatziki with enough garlic to keep you remembering the stuff long after the meal. That's the way it's supposed to be, rather than the bland sauce usually served in stateside Greek-style restaraunts.

Other menu items include excellent, fresh salads and pizza (which we didn't try). Can't get passed the gyros.

Nina's is a tiny restaurant tucked in a strip mall, with only 4-5 tables, and you order at the counter. It's a cheery place, and many of the customers are clearly regulars, based on the number that are addressed by first name when they walk in the door. While it's not fine dining, and it is pricier than fast food, Nina's has become our favorite lunch spot in Palm Springs.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeschutesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Burned pizza crust”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Ordered the $20 Athenian pizza to-go, to serve to company. The crust was burned, i.e. black. The elderly gentlemen who I believe is the proprietor is a bit of a curmudgeon, after hearing him complain to the staff about a telephone order. I didn't want to try to call them, as I was certain to get attitutde. Another issue, the Athenian pizza is EXTREMELY aromatic. My car reeked of it for several days afterwards.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank sierrarancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hummus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I would avoid the pizza. Didn't have it, but it did not look appetizing. The greek food is great though, particularly the hummus. Its a hole in the wall, so lunch works best.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Kicked out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The food was ok, but this is not a restaurant, it is a take-out/delivery deli. There are very few tables, if you drive there expecting to sit and have a meal, you may be disappointed. We were lucky enough to get a table, but asked to leave once we were finished "to open up the table". I paid $20 for my meal and for that price I don't expect to be shoved out.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sierrarancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nina's Greek Cuisine & Pizzeria also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Nina's Greek Cuisine & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing