We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give us more money.....”
Review of Hyatt Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Palm Springs
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Give us more money.....”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel is a complete rip off. I payed for the room in advance, and was not informed that it also costs money just to park your car. When we left we were charged $30 to park to cars just to stay the night at this hotel, 1 night. Also when I showed up they asked for another $50 to hold as a damage deposit which I had to fight to get back. So if you stay make sure and track that they refund the deposit. I would NOT stay here again and if I would have know all the hidden fees ahead of time I would have not gone or spent the night at a resort for the costs they charged us.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wow31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our parking rates are very competitive with all the other hotels in the area and we are the only hotel that provides underground covered parking - which is a great value considering the extreme temperatures in the desert. Our parking rates are also posted on our website and in the confirmation letter that you receive when booking your room. I hope that when you return to Palm Springs you will choose to stay with us as we have a fabulous product and excellent service. Thanks again for your feedback as this helps us identify areas that may need more attention. Sincerely, Dan Putnam, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    523
    286
    164
    106
See reviews for
439
654
98
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel previously but not for awhile. They have remodeled hotel and the room we got was a suite. We were slightly miffed that upon check-in we learned of a "resort charge" which was $12 per nite plus $15 for parking(note valet is $3 less). We expected the parking fee but not the resort fee. The suite was excellent going for a modern look. Only drawback was in cleaning found pretzel near bedside from previous client.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Your feedback is important to us and I would like to take this opportunity to explain the resort fee. Our fees, both for parking and resort are listed on our website and also in the confirmation letter that you receive via e-mail after booking your reservation. Our parking fees are 15.00 for self-park and 20.00 for valet. We are the only hotel that provides an underground parking garage to protect your vehicle from the extreme heat that we get here in Palm Springs. Our resort fee includes complimentary internet, local telephone calls, bottled water, business center use, airline boarding passes and high end lounge seating around the pool. We are very competitive with the local hotels in the area as well. Thank you for sharing your experience with our property. We look forward to having you back at the hotel soon! Sincerely, Dan Putnam, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We had a nice stay at this Hyatt along with our friends we all had a great time
and would definetely schedule an event at this location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48smoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We planned a 40th birthday party to be held at this property because the distance is just far enough from the Orange County/Los Angeles area and the weather is just hot enough to give your mini vacation an exotic feel!
We scouted locations in the desert area and settled on this hotel after seeing the remodeled rooms and pool area! It looks very chic, clean and very modern!!!! What really sold us was the cabana suites surrounding the pool! We wanted to spend an entire weekend socializing with friends, eating, drinking, enjoying the pool and being able to relax close to our rooms! The set up was exactly what we were looking for!
We contacted the hotel and met with Jasmin from reservations and began working with her on how the room reservations would come together! We received a great group rate and began confirming attendance with our friends. We ended up with nearly 40 people, all arriving and departing on different days and having their own requests. Jasmin was fantastic in keeping up with these changes, keeping in touch with us (the party planners) and meeting ALL of our requests! She added rooms, changed rooms, cancelled rooms; responded to our e-mails and phone calls and met with us a few weeks before the event! We were all on the same page and felt great knowing that she had all of our reservations taken care of! We knew we would take up a majority of rooms and she even had us staying in the same general area to keep us together!
We were also connected with Daniel when we started talking about providing lunch for our group. We went through possible menus, went through prices, and other options... Daniel was able to get us exactly what we wanted within our budget and made money saving suggestions that were not really expected by us! Upon our arrival he went above and beyond by setting up our area with additional seating and sun chairs and simply making our party look stunning!!!!!!
The food was incredible!!! We catered lunch one day and it was beyond great!!! We ordered food by the pool one day and it was amazing! 30 people unexpectedly showed up to the morning breakfast buffet and it was great!!!!
The customer service was absolutely amazing and we would definitely recommend a stay here to others!!!! We will definitely return and are already considering another birthday at this location!!!!! And, with all of this at the hotel, you are still close to everything else on the Palm Springs strip; a 5 minute walk will take you to restaurants, bars and shopping!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camryontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
It is this kind of feedback from our guests that keeps us spinning our wheels to come up with more fantastic ideas to make the guest experience memorable. We are very pleased with your comments and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about our property. Jasmin and Daniel will be recognized for an excellent job well done and for taking such good care of all of your needs. We look forward to having you back at the hotel in the future. Sincerely, Dan Putnam, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for one night to go to the street faire and just to relex.
We found this hotel's renovations making the decor look and feel like an office building and about as warm and welcoming.
Our room was a mini-suite (less suite than mini) with a separate sitting area that is useless because the bedroom is right there with a TV and the window is useless because it overlooks a walkway inside the hotel.
I had to call three times to housekeeping (which just transfered to the front desk) to please remove the baby crib that had been left in the room. We finally had to put it outside the front door ourselves.
The parking fee was very expensive and there's also a "resort fee". For what? The girl at the front desk was completely uninterested in any complaints---even nice ones.
Two good things: the very nice and prompt car service to take us and pick us up at the movie theater. The "all-purpose" valets/drivers were really great. I wish I remembered their names.
And the hotel's location is very good---right in the middle of downtown and Thursday night's street faire.
Otherwise, we are going to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
I want to apologize to you for any inconveniences you experienced at our hotel during your stay. We strive to provide excellent accomodations and service to every guest and I am sorry we did not deliver that promise to you. I'm concerned about the mini suite you mentioned as all of our rooms are very spacious with over 600 square feet between the bedroom and living room. I'm sorry if that was not large enough for your needs. We would love to have you back to experience us again in the future. Please let me know and I will ensure you experience a fantastic stay with us. Sincerely, Dan Putnam, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley AZ
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My wife stayed here in July for two nights. Its clean-food is good . However I have to bring up employees all exceptional however Anna at the front desk was in all our travels the most professional ask and it was done . Only bad thing i s garage is underground well lighted but spooky.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Big, nice rooms.
Very noisy, not very fresh, in terms of cleanliness...
Excellent downtown location and breakfast buffet.
Why charge a "resort fee"?!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VFitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, August 18, 2010
Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to continue to improve our hotel and service and would appreciate any additional comments to me directly that I can use for that goal. Our Resort Fee includes a number of valuable amenities, including Wireless Internet and our expansive start of the art StayFit Fitness Center that our guests find to be of benefit to them. We hope you will try us again on a future visit and we can win you over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.5 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#17 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Palm Springs

Property: Hyatt Palm Springs
Address: 285 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Springs' only all suite, newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the historic village. Just footsteps from shopping, restaurants, galleries, museums, casino and theaters. Enjoy a mountain or village view from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Hyatt Regency Palm Springs
Palm Springs Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing