We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing weekend”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Villa Royale last weekend. The grounds were very clean and quaint. I loved the brickwork around the pool and the walkways throughout. The fountains were lovely and the plants were blooming. We had a small, simple room, but everything was neat and clean. The bed was very comfortable and I didn't hear any talking or commotion from other rooms on either night, and I am a light sleeper! The staff was accomodating and friendly. The coffee in the morning was excellent and the cookies in the afternoon a nice treat. For the price, I think it's well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetoWineTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

The good...
Nice location
Comfortable beds
Quiet
Nice staff

Area's for improvement...
Poor interent service
Cramped quarters around pool area
More selections on complimentary breakfast menu
Showers would suddenly get hot or cold
No gym for workouts

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

I stayed at the Villa Royale together with my husband in November for one night. We are from Europe and stopped in Palm Springs on our roadtrip through California and were amazed how beautiful the weather is in Palm Springs in winter. The sun seems to be a safe bet there.
The hotel is in a side street in a quiet neighbourhood, but the location was great and very close to the core of downtown to where one can easily walk.
The room was charming and very clean and we were surprised about how great value it was. There are two beautiful pools in the resort and we spent most of the day relaxing in the sun. The atmosphere is very romantic and quiet. There are beautiful flowers, bushes, several fountains and hummingbirds everywhere and there is a beautiful view of the mountains and palm trees.
We also looked at some other rooms as we want to go back sometime and we heard they are all different. The ones we saw were all very nice.
The hotel also has a great and very cozy restaurant called Europa that has a 4 AAA Diamond rating. We had a lovely and romantic dinner there.
The Villa Royale is definitely a great place to stay for a romantic weekend or a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gnu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

It was much more than we expected. Nice gardens, beautiful, clean room (30 room-hotel), 2 large pools, 1 jacuzzi. We loved it. Very quiet clean hotel with restaurant on-site. We would stay there every time we’re in Palm Springs only if it was a little less expansive. Otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Wonderful, spectacular time we had at Villa Royale Inn. We were looking for a place not busy with a lot of people and were we can feel safe. I noticed when we stepped into the registration office we made the right choice. There were water fountains everywhere and it was beautifully landscaped. Even though we love traveling together, my mother likes her own space, so when I mentioned this to Clark when making the reservation, he put us in a room around the corner from each other with our own private patio and water fountain. There is an award winning restaurant on site which was perfect. They even have a Bar that opens at 5:00 p.m. where you can have a drink before the first seating at 6:00 p.m. The hostess greeted us with a smile and seated us near a window looking out at the patio. Our waiter David suggested specialty drinks, appetizers to the main course and every bit of it was just satisfying and delicious. This hotel exceeded our expectatiions. Looking forward to going back next year or possibly sooner.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornonahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I were very impressed with the level of customer service. We went for a quiet getaway, and when we had dinner(always great) the waiter mentioned that we may want to sit away from a "boisterous group." We mentioned that we had seen them and that our room was close to the group, he immediately said that we should check with the front desk and that they would take care of us. The front desk showed us another room, made sure that we were ok with it and basically it was an upgrade, a larger room and defintely away from the group and much more quiet. It's wonderfull to see that they took the extra step without us having to go and ask. It's one of the many things that sets this charming hotel apart from others.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I had a fantastic time at this little jewel of a hotel. Our stay was from Monday-Wednesday and it was very quiet. We stayed in the 3rd courtyard where the rooms surround a very lovely pool. We had one other couple sharing the courtyard, but we hardly saw them and we essentially had the pool all to our selves. Each room is unique and they are nicely appointed. The service staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#59 of 75 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#13 of 75 in Palm Springs
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#28 of 75 in Palm Springs
633 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#6 of 75 in Palm Springs
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ingleside Inn
Ingleside Inn
#36 of 75 in Palm Springs
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $80 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing