We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom & Daughter Birthday Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #43 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
apple valley
1 review
“Mom & Daughter Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Wonderful, spectacular time we had at Villa Royale Inn. We were looking for a place not busy with a lot of people and were we can feel safe. I noticed when we stepped into the registration office we made the right choice. There were water fountains everywhere and it was beautifully landscaped. Even though we love traveling together, my mother likes her own space, so when I mentioned this to Clark when making the reservation, he put us in a room around the corner from each other with our own private patio and water fountain. There is an award winning restaurant on site which was perfect. They even have a Bar that opens at 5:00 p.m. where you can have a drink before the first seating at 6:00 p.m. The hostess greeted us with a smile and seated us near a window looking out at the patio. Our waiter David suggested specialty drinks, appetizers to the main course and every bit of it was just satisfying and delicious. This hotel exceeded our expectatiions. Looking forward to going back next year or possibly sooner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thornonahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    78
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
151
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

My husband and I were very impressed with the level of customer service. We went for a quiet getaway, and when we had dinner(always great) the waiter mentioned that we may want to sit away from a "boisterous group." We mentioned that we had seen them and that our room was close to the group, he immediately said that we should check with the front desk and that they would take care of us. The front desk showed us another room, made sure that we were ok with it and basically it was an upgrade, a larger room and defintely away from the group and much more quiet. It's wonderfull to see that they took the extra step without us having to go and ask. It's one of the many things that sets this charming hotel apart from others.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

My wife and I had a fantastic time at this little jewel of a hotel. Our stay was from Monday-Wednesday and it was very quiet. We stayed in the 3rd courtyard where the rooms surround a very lovely pool. We had one other couple sharing the courtyard, but we hardly saw them and we essentially had the pool all to our selves. Each room is unique and they are nicely appointed. The service staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

I stayed at the Villa Royale recently it was my first visit to this hotel but absolutely not my last. I was looking to relax living in LA is stressfull at times and as soon as I walked into the gates of the Villa Royale it felt like half my stress was gone. After a dip in the pool a drink at the bar and a soak in the hot tub LA felt like it was on the other side of the planet.

This hotel provides the feeling of privacy with nice size rooms and private enclosed patios. The bar pours a good drink and the Europa Restaurant makes a great meal. The hotel is located close to all of the Palm Springs action, it has great mountain views, the grounds are big and well taken care of, flowers were in full bloom, and the weather was perfect.

If you are looking for a good place to relax and you want to leave the city behind the Villa Royale is a great place to visit. I wish I was there right now....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, CA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2008

We found this hidden little gem through selecthotels.com. We were going to Palm Springs for Thanksgiving and needed a hotel for the night. All the name brands were booked or exorbitantly priced as it is their season.

For $125 we not only got a wonderful little retreat -- living room with fireplace with bed in an alcove, but, it also included a private brick garden. We stayed in room 105 (not all rooms feature a private garden.) Further, the room was tastefully done -- more like a private home than a hotel. If that were not enough, the Villa Royale also includes a full breakfast in the price. This would be a wonderful romantic getaway.

The hotel has a lovely restaurant, Europa, which is a bit pricey; however, the wait staff (Anne was our waitress) was delightful without being obtrusive. In fact, the staff at the hotel was definitely attentive and gracious.

We will definitely return!

  • Liked — It exceeded expectations.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Baltimore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

This hotel is on beautiful and restful grounds, with several fountains, two clean pools and a jacuzzi (all of which are set amongst bricks and flowers, with ample place to sit). There are 31 rooms but you never get the feeling there are that many. There was always plenty of parking for us. The location is excellent, as it is only a short drive from downtown and there is a Long's and a supermarket a short drive away. It's near the main drag but not on it. Consider going down the road to El Mirasol and getting the dish Shrimp Dona Diabla (if you like very spicy food). The lack of screaming children at this hotel was a huge plus for us.

The front office is attended by cheerful and helpful staff, and has free internet, which was a tad slow for my tastes (I'm used to 1.2Mbps, which is not fast), but that is a very minor gripe. The staff was very responsive and had great ideas on what to visit (such as Andreas Canyon which is only a couple miles South). This hotel is well worth the money, and the staff is obviously trying to make it so. It was very relaxing sitting in the pool, or in the jacuzzi in the morning, in both cases looking relaxedly at the palm trees visible rising from behind the flower and vine laden property walls.

Our room had one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in (at home we have a $2600 bed, so that's saying something). The bathroom was well appointed and clean. There were a few ants on the sink sometimes, but this was very minor and not unexpected. There was a little fridge.

The breakfast is very good, but was a touch constrained for my tastes (four set menus, no a la carte). One could not get toast at all (weird), but I was able to get a warm dinner roll instead by special request. The breakfast setting is restful, if I remember with tinkling water noise normally, but oddly, one morning a workman chose to use the leaf blower right outside the breakfast area (weird choice since the breakfast period on weekdays is just one hour).

Overall I would say this is a special property, very well run. I would totally stay here again, and in fact my gf and I contemplated blowing off work and staying a few more days. This hotel will turn a stay in palm springs into a romantic, restful, and special vacation.

  • Liked — peaceful
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ferretSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

My husband and I travel to Palm Springs a few times a year, looking for that perfect spot to relax and unwind. We try a different place each trip, hoping each time that we'd finally found it. Well, this time we hit the jackpot. We are ultra picky about quiet, private seclusion, and that's what The Villa Royale is all about. The customer service is outstanding, and the grounds are lovely and meandering. We stayed in their smallest room (301) and it was very small, but cozy and intimate. We had the little courtyard pool just outside our room all to ourselves for several hours. (The two pools and jacuzzi are open 24 hours for optimum romance) Best of all, it's a QUIET, adults preferred property, so no screaming kids will ruin your interlude. The breakfast was outstanding, too. Loved it!

  • Liked — Quiet, private, romantic, elegant.
  • Disliked — Spa was out of order during our stay
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank elisavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#26 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
2.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#19 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#30 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing