We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Secluded”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming and Secluded”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights this past weekend and were absolutely charmed by this property. Just off the main "drag" in Palm Springs but very secluded with beautiful flowering bushes and palm trees surrounding the gated property, the property is reminiscent of an Italian villa. The staff are very friendly and Nancy even left the front desk to walk us to our room. Our room was truly lovely with a living room with fireplace, small kitchen, and a dramatic bedroom with the bed draped with gauzy white material - definitely romantic!! The swimming pool was very clean and well kept and chairs and pool towels were plentiful. The included breakfast was delicious and made to order and everything was promptly served. Sitting outside in a small area surrounded by flowers and a bubbling fountain, it was very easy to think you had been transported to Tuscany. Quiet and peaceful, it is a wonderful oasis to escape to in the desert! I am so glad we discovered this beautiful, boutique property and I can hardly wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with a "2" surround a beautiful fountain and are speacious and beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This historic hotel property is so beautiful and peaceful, we could not have asked for anything more. The grounds are meticulously tended, even to the point that the gardener (Jack) hand-waters all the areas to save water and to make sure each area receives the proper amount. The desk staff( Joe and Jack) were super-friendly and did everything to make sure our stay was flawless. We dined in the restaurant one evening.The restaurant staff was attentive, yet unobtrusive. My husband and I agreed that it was the best meal we've had in years. Breakfast is included and we truly enjoyed having a made-to-order breakfast. Each morning, I enjoyed a ham and cheese omelet with toast and potatoes, coffee and juice.
We had a chance to see some of the other guest rooms. Each is individually decorated and beautifully furnished. The rooms are very private, each with it's own patio or two. There are many room options at this resort, so no matter what group you are with, you will be able to find the right fit. We encountered many employees during our stay. Each seemed to take personal pride in the resort which is reflected in a property that is clean and well-maintained.
Truly, we felt like we had stepped back into a time when luxury was defined by quality, class and attention to detail. While we were on the resort grounds, we felt like we were miles away from everywhere. We were able to totally relax, unwind and enjoy the beauty of the desert in a very special place; we left refreshed and completely wowed by the resort's charm, beauty and tranquility.

Room Tip: Be sure to let the reservationist know what your needs and preferences are so they can suggest the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerkyChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a couple of nights in June and loved some of Villa Royale's features but really disliked others.

The pros: Amazingly lovely front office staff and excellent local area recommendations, a beautiful courtyard and restaurant with truly yummy food (for dinner), a dinner waitress who was probably the most accomplished we had during our whole three week trip round California, a beautiful bar overlooking the courtyard, lovely bar staff, incredibly romantic atmosphere.

The cons: a dirty private patio (furniture and floor covered in leaves, looked like it had not been swept for a few weeks), a shower room in dire need of upgrading (the shower basin needs to be ripped out and replaced it is so worn), breakfast that is VERY slim line (small portions throughout, you have to choose between fruit or a cooked breakfast, no additional free cereal, a fairly miserable breakfast waitress), air conditioning that is so loud even with ear plugs I could not get an uninterrupted night's sleep and which needs upgrading to a quieter model.

This property could easily rank amongst the top properties of the Select Registry range, it has so much potential. However, it seems there is only minimal Investment going into the property at present so it compares unfavourably with the many other Select Registry Inns we've stayed at.

Would we stay here again? We'd love to if future reviews confirm the owner has invested into and upgraded the property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hierslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is important to us that every quest has an exceptional experience. Please rest assured that your comments are taken seriously and utilized in staff training and property improvements. We are certain that during your next visit you will notice the improvements that have been made. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Cute little garden areas with fountains and foliage. A very quaint European feel. Staff is so nice and laid back. Perfect place if you are with a close friend or your significant other. Very quiet-Hidden pools, very private. Villas are nice and cool from the desert heat. This is definitely Bali meets France tucked away in Palm Springs. Love love love.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and positive review. Your words are very important to us and help us tremendously in our pursuit of excellence. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San pedro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

So- we usually go to Desert Hot Springs but figured Palm Springs would be a fun change. After much thought we chose VR. We checked in and the room had dirty towels in the bathroom, full trash, three fortunately dead cockroaches and a queen, not king bed. We asked for pool towels and were told there was none. We also awoke st 1:00 am thirsty and looked for our complimentary bottle of water and found we had none. One of these infractions would be understandable but all of these? Complimentary breakfast was lame.... I ordered the fruit plate-2 microscopically thin pieces of pineapple and cantaloupe-toast extra-(looked like 99 cent store bread). Bad coffee. But the topper was the yard man bending over with his entire butt hanging out. Way too much info!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saribliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Perfect little getaway for my girlfriend and I. The sink could have used some attention in our bathroom in 117 and for the price we paid a night I was hoping for a more comfortable bed. These are just minor complaints though compared to our overall experience. The service was excellent and my girlfriend and I were easily able to transcend into a relaxing weekend getaway with much ease. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whavrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

One of the most charming properties we have ever experienced. The perfect size property to spend time together or with a small group of friends, and an excellent location that can have you in downtown Palm Springs in 5 minutes. We can't say enough about the staff - Joe and Jack were so warm, welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

If you are looking for modern luxury, this is not the place for you. This place is quirky, older, and not completely perfect - but the brick courtyards, trickling fountains, wandering bouganvillea, and unique rooms all added up to a long weekend that left us feeling as if we had been vacationing for a week.

Room Tip: I think it would be fun to try different rooms during each stay, we were in the rear courtyard and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glb1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#36 of 73 in Palm Springs
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 73 in Palm Springs
703 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing