We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and so Relaxing”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #47 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and so Relaxing”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Cute little garden areas with fountains and foliage. A very quaint European feel. Staff is so nice and laid back. Perfect place if you are with a close friend or your significant other. Very quiet-Hidden pools, very private. Villas are nice and cool from the desert heat. This is definitely Bali meets France tucked away in Palm Springs. Love love love.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and positive review. Your words are very important to us and help us tremendously in our pursuit of excellence. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San pedro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

So- we usually go to Desert Hot Springs but figured Palm Springs would be a fun change. After much thought we chose VR. We checked in and the room had dirty towels in the bathroom, full trash, three fortunately dead cockroaches and a queen, not king bed. We asked for pool towels and were told there was none. We also awoke st 1:00 am thirsty and looked for our complimentary bottle of water and found we had none. One of these infractions would be understandable but all of these? Complimentary breakfast was lame.... I ordered the fruit plate-2 microscopically thin pieces of pineapple and cantaloupe-toast extra-(looked like 99 cent store bread). Bad coffee. But the topper was the yard man bending over with his entire butt hanging out. Way too much info!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Saribliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Perfect little getaway for my girlfriend and I. The sink could have used some attention in our bathroom in 117 and for the price we paid a night I was hoping for a more comfortable bed. These are just minor complaints though compared to our overall experience. The service was excellent and my girlfriend and I were easily able to transcend into a relaxing weekend getaway with much ease. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whavrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

One of the most charming properties we have ever experienced. The perfect size property to spend time together or with a small group of friends, and an excellent location that can have you in downtown Palm Springs in 5 minutes. We can't say enough about the staff - Joe and Jack were so warm, welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.

If you are looking for modern luxury, this is not the place for you. This place is quirky, older, and not completely perfect - but the brick courtyards, trickling fountains, wandering bouganvillea, and unique rooms all added up to a long weekend that left us feeling as if we had been vacationing for a week.

Room Tip: I think it would be fun to try different rooms during each stay, we were in the rear courtyard and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glb1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I found this place 15 years ago when we came to the Europa Restaurant for dinner. Upon leaving that evening we looked at the beautiful pool and grounds lit up in fairy lights and flickering candles and promised ourselves we'd be back to stay in the hotel one day. It took 15 years, but for my 50th birthday last year, this is what I wanted as my gift…and what a gift! The rooms are luxurious and comfortable; the grounds are rich and gorgeously overgrown with old palms, bougainvillea, climbing roses and pots of flowers and succulents gracing every nook on the property. The front desk staff, (always a pleasure Jack and Joe!) is friendly and helpful, and make you feel like the most welcome guest and friend, not just a room number. The massages were amazing, (thanks Barbara and Ginger!), guaranteed to work out even the tightest knots. And if that's not enough, lounging by the pool you are graced with happy smiles and sweet "Hello's" by everyone that passes you by.
If you are looking for an old Palm Springs resort feel, you won't be disappointed by The Villa Royal Inn. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 300 series are at the back of the property and a bit more secluded, having their ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverado, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A small group met for the weekend at the Villa Royale. It was very quiet with a lovely swimming pool and tasty breakfast served in the morning in a nicely decorated dining room. The accomodations were clean and orderly. It did have a kitchen but it was poorly equipped.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a unique and beautiful property: an oasis after days spent in the surrounding desert. Our family of four stayed in one of the two bedroom units with a sitting room and kitchen. It was very comfortable, but would not suit everyone. The one bathroom was small and basic, which was fine for us, but nothing fancy. We asked for a kitchenette because we wanted to do some cooking, however, although it was interesting to look at from a historical point of view, it was not particularly user friendly or nice, so we did not end up using it. Actually, this is a difficult inn to review because it is on the verge of being really fantastic, in my opinion, but not quite there yet. That being said, we loved the atmosphere of the property so much, we'd stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katevan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
182 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palm Springs
204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
619 reviews
2.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#4 of 73 in Palm Springs
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing